English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2020, 20:15   #401
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 20
Depends on what you mean by "active" scorpion users.. I'm still at the embryonic stage but it's v rewarding even in the very early stages.. (lol I'm a slow learner).. One of my projects I started by trying to adapt the alex kidd one, but it was giving me too many headaches when i swapped things out, so I'm comparing them side by side while i started from scratch, so hopefully I'll understand everything better as I add it.

One thing I dont quite get is the tilesets.. I'd like to be able to keep drawing tiles in PyxelEdit but I feel like adding this extra step is going to confuse the heck out of Tiled when I want to add to/revise the tileset? Maybe i just need to get better at using Tiled and I won't need Pyxel anymore? I don't really understand the tile editing workflow.

The other project (the VN) - similarly, I couldnt really just insert my assets into Ace Attorney, I'm planning on implenting a lot of things v differently. (main difference being in AA you've got the "levels" with the backdrops and character graphics burnt in.. I'm planning on using actors with a different expression etc mapped to direction facing, as it's going to have too many bg/character combos to bake them all in and im likely to keep changing my mind as to what the bg graphics look like, haha) But I'm on it, just.. very distracted/slow. But I'm not in any rush. I love all these example projects though I'd be totally lost without them.

I'll have some screenshots/video of both games to show soon, I hope.

edit: Hmm.. Im actually thinking.. I could carry on using Pyxel and make the maps literally as complex as I want and use the convert PNG to map feature? then on a level by level basis I could add a lot of one-off details. It's not like i have to worry about storage space..? I guess i'd just have to re-set the tile solid/platform tags each stage?

Edit: I was having issues with my player Bob being huge so I halved him and now he’s freaking adorable (need to finish the shading, but it’s ok!)
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Mixel; 24 November 2020 at 01:55.
Mixel is offline  
Old 24 November 2020, 06:41   #402
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,406
That's a pretty cool animation! Next update is going to have hardware sprite support for 16 color sprites, so you could have a character up to 64 pixels wide rendered only with sprites (using all available sprite channels), which will save a lot of rendering time since no bob will need to be blitted and no tiles will need to be redrawn.

Regarding editing tiles, I usually use Paint Shop Pro to edit the actual image, I don't think you can edit the image within Tiled. You'll want to make the tileset image large enough so that, if you need to add any more tiles in future, you don't need to resize the image (also - Scorpion only compiles tiles that are actually used, so even if you've got a massive tileset, it'll only save the ones actually used when you compile to disk).
earok is offline  
Old 24 November 2020, 11:11   #403
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 20
Sprite support sounds great!

Ahhh, that makes sense! I’ll continue using pyxel on a masssive canvas. and.. I see! The reason I love pyxel is it allows you to draw the tiles in situ and have them all update accordingly, so you can use it like a tile sketchbook testing things out. I’ll make the set in Pyxel and recreate them in tiled.. I’ll export the tile set from pyxel with empty squares still in place.. previously I’d always tell it to remove the empties when outputting the file so I see where I was going wrong now, that was causing them to shuffle about. ??

I’m glad it only includes the used tiles as I already have tons of likely dead-weight ones.

Also is it worth me putting ramps in maps in preparation of ramps one day working or should I steer clear of them entirely? It’s not like turrican could use ramps so it’s not a dealbreaker, haha

Is that sprites that use less than 16 colours? Though my games are in EHB the player is definitely only ~12 colours.

Last edited by Mixel; 27 November 2020 at 03:05.
Mixel is offline  
Old 03 December 2020, 05:20   #404
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 20
Ok, a palette question.

I made an EHB palette.. I drew all the graphics in that palette.. and yet, when I run the game in an emulated A500 I have slightly different colours to when I emulate it in an A1200.. is it because some of the image files are non-indexe? Or maybe it’s not running in EHB at all? How can I tell? Ty!
Mixel is offline  
Old 03 December 2020, 06:56   #405
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,406
Sorry about the delay writing back!

Scorpion Engine uses 24 bit colors (from a base palette of 16 mil~) when on AGA and 12 bit colors (from a base palette of 4096) when on OCS. So, for example:

#A0A0A0 and #AAAAAA should look exactly the same on OCS (since they're both compressed down to #AAA), but they're slightly different colors on AGA.

EHB is supported but may be a little tricky to get to go, if you've got 33-64 colors in your palette, it should compile to EHB mode automatically. The upcoming Unity version has a drop down to force it into any particular graphics mode.

Regarding ramps, that's tentatively planned for future but I haven't got a proper plan for it yet. It would be very nice to have smooth curved ramps with Sonic style acceleration, but it'll be something I'll need to come back to.
earok is offline  
Old 03 December 2020, 22:45   #406
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 20
Thanks Earok, no worries! I figured out what my EHB problem was.. One of the apps in my workflow (PPaint maybe?) didn't differentiate between EHB+ (if thats what its called?) and EHB in the OCS sense so it was using a bunch of shades OCS couldnt display.. So my idea of using the real A1200 actually set me back a bit there.. Emulating an OCS amiga in WinUAE has allowed me to tweak the palette so it's the same across both. Some things need redrawing.. I think I'll target OCS from the offset and then I guess I could make a seperate AGA version by just swapping out the tilesets..

I've got ramps in my tileset just in case they'll help in future. If not they make for good background detail.
Mixel is offline  
Old Yesterday, 02:17   #407
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixel View Post
I've got ramps in my tileset just in case they'll help in future. If not they make for good background detail.
Funny story there - Doodlebug was intended to have ramps but the developer ended up using steps with ramps underneath them as decorations.

ARC gave me some advice on how he later implemented ramps in Tin Toy Adventure and Wiz, I may use that advice for eventually adding them to Scorpion.
earok is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2D Platformer Engine carrion Coders. Blitz Basic 27 06 June 2019 15:35
New Chaos Engine!! arpz Retrogaming General Discussion 75 31 August 2013 23:20
F/S Warp engine 32 mb tabuhuso MarketPlace 0 24 February 2012 16:13
PC Engine CD TodaysForgotten Retrogaming General Discussion 47 14 May 2009 00:57
Scorpion (100% working) andreas request.Old Rare Games 13 01 August 2003 09:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09781 seconds with 16 queries