English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amix

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 August 2020, 14:56   #1
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 81
OpenLook under X11R5

Hello gents,

I've been having a very hard time trying to get OL to work under X11R5.
Let me explain :

I am emulating in WinUAE, got Amix installed perfectly fine and patched as per the various guides on amigaunix and the likes.
X windows starts up fine in black and white both using olinit and xinit.

But I want to use the emulated Picasso 2+ to get a better looking X.

So again I followed the guides nicely and was able to get X11R5 setup, and it starts up perfectly fine using xinit (and twm as the standard window manager).

Where I am having a hard time, however, is to get openlook to work. In all the guides I have seen, basically you wipe out the /usr/X directory, which effectively wipes out OpenLook.

I tried to reinstall OpenLook from the amixpkg, and run it via xinit (after having added the xset fp+ line and also the olwsm line) and it did partially start. But it complained about missing libraries (Xol.xo and Xt.so), which I tried to create symbolic links for in /usr/lib.

But then, it gave me an error about an undefined XqTBoolean object.

So how did you all get to reinstall OpenLook after having installed X11R5 ?

Thanks
KKR75 is offline  
Old 18 August 2020, 22:13   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,316
I don't know any answers to your problem but what if you try using A2410 graphics board? Amix supports it natively.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 August 2020, 21:43   #3
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I don't know any answers to your problem but what if you try using A2410 graphics board? Amix supports it natively.
As soon as I try to use the 2410 as RTG using the default WinUAE settings, the virtual machine comes to a crawl. One easy way to test this is say you insert a floppy (for example the amix boot) and try to boot, while having the floppy sound on so you can hear the floppy run. When there is no 2410 configured in the RTG section, the floppy makes normal sound and the system is fast. When I select the 2410, the system crawls and the floppy sounds gets staggered and jagged. If I select any other RTG card, it's fine.
KKR75 is offline  
Old 20 August 2020, 18:04   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,316
A2410 requires more CPU power because it has quite complex graphics chip that includes custom CPU.

But first check if it happens with more simple config (no MMU). And no vsync, it most likely won't work with that weird gfx board.

Also make sure CPU "more compatible" is not ticked (for some reason it is mentioned in guide), it will increase host CPU requirements noticeably and only makes Amix slower.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 16:21   #5
vintageBytes
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 26
Amix doesn't work without an MMU.

I can check on my A3000T machine if OL is still running, but I think (believe?), that olinit starts the OL while startx (or xinit, don't remember) will start the basic X-Server with a terminal window only
vintageBytes is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 21:45   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,316
OP said whole system crawls (even before Amix enables MMU) so first step is narrow down if it is MMU emulation related or A2410 related or host CPU simply not being fast enough (both MMU and A2410 emulation can be quite heavy).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 17:23   #7
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 81
Sorry for the very delayed response, I was on a late vacation.

I have MMU set to MMU (not EC), CPU of course is 68030, and FPU to 68882, FPU More compatible is not checked (doesn't make a difference either way), and Unimplemented FPU Emu is checked.

I have tried on both my SurfaceBook2 and SurfacePro machines, with similar results (Intel i7 2.1GHz 16GB RAM).

I use now the Picasso II+ RTG card and it's fine. But I really wanted to try and emulate the default setup with A2410 (and possibly with the emulaged A2024 monitor too, once A2410 works good). Basically trying to replicate as best I can the authentic original A300UX full graphics experience without having to upgrade to X11R5.
KKR75 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What graphics cards work with X11R5 in Amiga Unix? mackbw support.Amix 4 14 April 2019 02:24
X11R5 and Open Look - the missing font error Amiga_CDTV support.Amix 13 25 April 2016 17:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07660 seconds with 15 queries