English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 August 2009, 22:56   #1
Lurbi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 14
WHDLoad demos/games do not work on SFS; FFS is OK

Hello all

I have just noted another veeeery strange phenomenon.

I have an a1200 with 8MB fastram, and a 8GB CF card.

I have partitioned it with a 1GB FFS partition and the rest is a big SFS partition.
I have patched scsi.device to support big HDDs.

In the other thread you can read that I need to reboot to get into classicWB. (after first boot I am at the insert disk screen, after amiga-amiga-ctrl classicWB boots up fine (also on all subsequent reboots)

Now I copied some demos to the FFS partition.
Everything works perfectly.

I copied over the demos to the SFS partition.
Shortly after starting them, I get errors. (Exception illegal instruction, error during resload_relocate, exception line 1111 emulator $2c ....)

When I copy the file over to FFS it works without problems.
(so the data on SFS was unaltered)

Any idea what I could do??
At the moment the whole 7GB SFS partition is unusable for WHDload (
Lurbi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 August 2009, 00:47   #2
Lurbi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 14
Update:

I use NSDPatch now, and the coldstart problem has disappeared.

I have now a 1GB FFS Partition and a 1GB SFS Partition at the beginning of my 8GB CF card. (to rule out 4GB issues)

I run the demo (eg. 9 fingers) from FFS ... all is fine.
Copy over to SFS ... when I run it, I see the first picture, after some seconds the picture gets garbled, after some additional seconds I get an error exception illegal instruction.

If I copy the demo from sfs back to FFS than it runs again fine (no data corruption)

I guess others do not see these problems with whdload on SFS?? correct??
Lurbi is offline  
Old 03 August 2009, 01:06   #3
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 639
what is Mask and MaxTransfer of both partitions in hdtoolbox?
Wepl is offline  
Old 03 August 2009, 01:39   #4
Lurbi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wepl View Post
what is Mask and MaxTransfer of both partitions in hdtoolbox?
> maxtransfer is 0x00ffffff
> mask and maxtransfer I did allways leave at the default.

and it seems that was the fault ...
it seems to work with maxtransfer 0x0001fffe

thanx

Last edited by Lurbi; 08 August 2009 at 13:47.
Lurbi is offline  
Old 03 August 2009, 01:50   #5
Lurbi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 14
OK

What I ended up using:
NSDPatch instead of patched scsi.device (never tried IDEFix97)
FFS from AmigaOS3.5

I created a biiiiig FFS partition, and it seems to work.

Regarding WHDLoad:
Blocksize of 2k makes my demos crash.
SFS makes my demos crash.

Using NSDPatch and FFS with 512 bytes blocksize seems to have fixed my problems!!

Thanx for your help.
Any further comments are welcome (I am pretty new to amiga ...)

Edit: Small addition:
It seems NSDpatch works only so well, because my CF card is 8GB.
Internal IDE-SCSI device seems to have a 8GB limit ... but I do not hit it, because my HDD is not bigger than 8GB.
For larger HDDs IDEFix can be used! (it replaces the scsi.device instead of patching it.

Last edited by Lurbi; 03 August 2009 at 02:48. Reason: addition
Lurbi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated WHDLoad Demos/Games pack. Turran project.EAB File Server 295 30 October 2017 20:09
FFS and SFS amigappc project.ClassicWB 8 07 January 2011 13:21
FFS/SFS/General Hard Drive Woes roberthazelby support.Hardware 1 28 September 2005 01:45
Amiga WHDLoad Games April/May 2005 Update (and some demos) killergorilla project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 22 05 June 2005 05:27
Games, demos, programs what dont work with WinUAE trodas support.WinUAE 56 26 February 2003 00:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11661 seconds with 12 queries