English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

Old 22 April 2008, 06:25   #1
rlcarr

WHDLoad, One-on-One, WinUAE, and running too fast

I'm running WinUAE 1.4.6 using the ClassicWB FULL hardfile, upgraded to WB 3.1 and using a 3.1 ROM (from Amiga Forever). (Which reminds me -- THANK YOU, ClassicWB guys!!).

I wanted to try playing one of my favorite games, "Dr J. vs Larry Bird One-on-One" under emulation, so I grabbed the relevant KG pack and put the One-on-One game in place in the emulation environment.

When I clicked on the icon, I got the WHDLoad nag screen (this is my first time ever using WHDLoad, so I haven't registered it yet -- but I will soon) and then the game started. However, it played way, way too fast. I thought that WHDLoad and the slaves are supposed to correct for too-fast CPUs and play the game at the appropriate speed. Am I mistaken about that?

Is the too-fast play I'm seeing because I'm running in WinUAE as opposed to a real Amiga? Because I haven't registered WHDLoad? Because the emulation configuration I'm using is too "powerful" (i'm using ClassicWB.uae)? Or is it something about this specific game and it would run too fast under WHDLoad even on a real Amiga?

I searched here for One-on-One and read the WHDLoad docs over at the WHDLoad site and didn't come across anything bearing on the problem.
Old 22 April 2008, 06:33   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Try to disable the "JIT" (in CPU and FPU) after you started One-on-One. Or try "Match A500 Speed".
Old 22 April 2008, 23:28   #3
rlcarr

I tried all of those and it still ran too fast. But thanks for the suggestion! If it's something about the game, so be it. But I still am curious as to whether or not WHDLoad/slaves try to "slow a game down" appropriately. Or if this is only an issue under an emulator and not on a real Amiga.
Old 22 April 2008, 23:36   #4
Graham Humphrey

Have you tried setting the "nocache" tooltype? Might be worth a go.