English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2010, 06:22   #1
methodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Redding USA
Posts: 111
How do I enable RTG? (was: real time graphics)

The RTG mode is greyed out. how do I enable it. Can I use it with a 3.0 rom? Even with 3.1 it still is not coming on? What switch do I need to turn it on. Also Picasso96 will work on an Amiga 1200 won't it. Was it only for 3000 or 4000? It would not install the screen modes for a 1200 so I don't know if my set up was bad.
methodman is offline  
Old 10 June 2010, 06:57   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,538
RTG = ReTargetable Graphics, not realtime!!

Can certainly be used on 3.0 or 3.1.

Picasso cards are only for big box Amigas (2000/3000/4000). Selecting one of those should fix your problem, then its just a matter of installing the Picasso 96 software and configuring it for the UAE RTG driver.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 10 June 2010, 08:03   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by methodman View Post
The RTG mode is greyed out. how do I enable it. Can I use it with a 3.0 rom? Even with 3.1 it still is not coming on?
If you are using quickstarts, select the lowest compatibility.
TCD is offline  
Old 10 June 2010, 09:02   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
The RTG mode is greyed out. how do I enable it.
Select a 68030 or higher CPU.
thomas is online now  
Old 10 June 2010, 09:48   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Select a 68030 or higher CPU.
Nope, also works with a 68020.
TCD is offline  
Old 10 June 2010, 10:03   #6
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,538
I don't understand why the CPU is relevant. A2000 with 68000 can run Picasso can't it?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 10 June 2010, 10:06   #7
Steve
You are Fake News!
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by methodman View Post
The RTG mode is greyed out. how do I enable it.
1. Enable 68020 processor in CPU panel of WinUAE.
2. Turn OFF 24-bit addressing in CPU panel.
3. Add RTG memory in the 'Expansions' panel.
Steve is offline  
Old 10 June 2010, 10:13   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,578
Picasso96 requirements:

- Kickstart and Workbench 3.0 (V39) or later,
- Motorola MC68020 processor or better

and

UAE RTG board is Z3 32-bit board = requires 68020+.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 June 2010, 10:54   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Picasso96 requirements:

- Kickstart and Workbench 3.0 (V39) or later,
- Motorola MC68020 processor or better

and

UAE RTG board is Z3 32-bit board = requires 68020+.

Well, then there is a bug in WinUAE: RTG memory is only enabled if you choose 68030. It remains enabled if you switch from 030 to 020 but it also remains disabled if you switch from 000 to 020. Tried 2.1.0 and 2.2.0b8.
thomas is online now  
Old 10 June 2010, 10:56   #10
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Well, then there is a bug in WinUAE: RTG memory is only enabled if you choose 68030. It remains enabled if you switch from 030 to 020 but it also remains disabled if you switch from 000 to 020. Tried 2.1.0 and 2.2.0b8.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
2. Turn OFF 24-bit addressing in CPU panel.
There's the answer.
TCD is offline  
Old 10 June 2010, 12:38   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,578
68020 + 24bit checkbox = 68EC020 (24-bit address bus)

Note that 68EC030 means no MMU (or usually MMU that failed to pass all tests), all 68030's have 32-bit address bus.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 December 2016, 19:11   #12
Kernel
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Thanks!

Old thread but totally solved something I've been struggling with!
Kernel is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 21:18   #13
Crazy C
Registered User

Crazy C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 42
Question RTG on emulated Amiga

I have disabled 24 Bit adressing and choose RTG Z3 memory 8 or 16 (how much?).
Do I have to do something else?

I'm emulating on Android using UAE4ARM from the Play Store.

Any files/software I have to Install?
Crazy C is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 22:38   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazy C View Post
Any files/software I have to Install?
RTG Master and Picasso96
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 08:37   #15
Crazy C
Registered User

Crazy C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Hannover / Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 42
Question Displaying HAM8 images

Is it Then possible to Display HAM8 images?
I create them with GFXCon from jpgs, but when I use PPShow to show them, PPShow Said:

This machine can Not Display Images with so many bitplanes.

I emulate on Android with UAE4ARM and HAVE the AGA chipset, so I wonder why the Pictures are Not shown.
AS I Said I have RTG and Z3 memory with the emulator.

Is it necessary to have RTG etc. To display HAM8 Pictures or do I just need the AGA chipset?

Last edited by Crazy C; 15 February 2020 at 11:13.
Crazy C is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Real-Time 3D Graphics Jherek Carnelia Coders. Tutorials 12 27 October 2017 04:26
WTB: Amiga Real-Time 3d graphics Fridrik MarketPlace 0 27 September 2012 02:53
WarpEngine 040 & PicassoIV ZIII RTG Graphics card for sale! fitzsteve MarketPlace 4 22 February 2012 14:33
Wanted - Amiga Real-Time 3D Graphics book michel3105 MarketPlace 0 02 September 2011 09:29
RTG (picasso96) Graphics corruption Smiley support.Hardware 2 14 August 2006 06:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07802 seconds with 13 queries