English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2020, 11:26   #1
bladecgn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Essen / Germany
Posts: 172
Print Key distorts sound

I have a Thinkpad L440 Laptop. The "Print" key, which is two keys right of my spacebar is configured as the right Amiga key.


While playing Pinball Fantasies hitting this key distorts the sound, probably because of the making of screenshots in the background.


Is there anything I can do?

Last edited by bladecgn; 12 January 2020 at 15:25.
bladecgn is offline  
Old 11 January 2020, 14:05   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,578
Try removing default print screen key mapping using input panel.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 January 2020, 15:26   #3
bladecgn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Essen / Germany
Posts: 172
Well the print key is already configured as right Amiga key as stated above.


It works in Pinball Fantasies as the reight flipper. But still a screenshot ist made by Windows at the same time. This distorts the sound.



Or what do you mean?

Last edited by bladecgn; 12 January 2020 at 15:32.
bladecgn is offline  
Old 12 January 2020, 15:48   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,528
Why do you need to remap the "Print Screen" key for the right flipper?

In Pinball Fanasties the flipper controls are as follows by default:

Left Flipper:
<Left Shift> or <Left Alt> or <Left Amiga> (Windows key in emulation).

Right Flipper:
<Right Shift> or <Right Alt> or <Right Amiga> (Menu key in emulation).
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 January 2020, 15:54   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by bladecgn View Post
Well the print key is already configured as right Amiga key as stated above.
Yes but did you also remove/replace the original mapping using Input panel? If you press Input panel Test button and press print screen multiple times, do you only get your configured alt key listed or does print screen event also appear?

Windows should ignore print screen presses when WinUAE has mouse captured.
Unless there is some 3rd party utility that uses print screen. (Which means there is nothing WinUAE can do)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 January 2020, 12:01   #6
bladecgn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Essen / Germany
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
If you press Input panel Test button and press print screen multiple times, do you only get your configured alt key listed or does print screen event also appear?

If I use "Test" and press "Print" key multiple times, it shows for "WinAUE Keyboard" that SYSREQ is mapped to "Right Amiga".


I have no 3rd Party Software installed for Print key.

Whenever I pess it in WinUAE (fullscreen) there is a screenshot in the Windows clipboard. So Windows does not seen to ignore print screen presses

Last edited by bladecgn; 13 January 2020 at 13:34.
bladecgn is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 10:21   #7
bladecgn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Essen / Germany
Posts: 172
Tony, could you be so kind test this by configuring your keyboard that the "Print Screen/Sysreq" Button is Right Amiga abd see if pressing it triggers a screenshot?

Or you could Play Pinball Fantasies then and see if when pressing Right Amig sound gets distrorted,
bladecgn is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 11:08   #8
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by bladecgn View Post
I have a Thinkpad L440 Laptop. The "Print" key, which is two keys right of my spacebar is configured as the right Amiga key.
I have enclosed a picture of the keyboard for an L440 for clarification.

Did you configure the PrtSc key for Right Amiga yourself? Isn't there another key you could use?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	L440.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	23.9 KB
ID:	66114  
Foebane is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 19:12   #9
bladecgn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Essen / Germany
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
I have enclosed a picture of the keyboard for an L440 for clarification.

Did you configure the PrtSc key for Right Amiga yourself? Isn't there another key you could use?

Thanks for including the picture. Well the PrtSc screen is convenient on this keyboard as Right-Amiga as it is in the right place. The same holds true for a lot of other ThinkPad laptops (I have a X230 with the same problem).

Toni said Windows should ignore keypresses when WinUAE has focus. So it should be possible to use the key and hopefully there is a solution.

Last edited by bladecgn; 07 February 2020 at 19:19.
bladecgn is offline  
Old 07 February 2020, 20:36   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,578
It looks like Windows still wants to take desktop screenshot even when WinUAE has focus. I am quite sure it didn't happen previously (previously = could be many years ago, possibly when Windows 10 didn't yet exist)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 February 2020, 13:00   #11
bladecgn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Essen / Germany
Posts: 172
I wonder if there ist sth. that can be done about this, if it is possibleto disable the PrtScr button by programming.
bladecgn is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga key=Windows key and problems there of darkhog support.WinUAE 1 31 March 2017 23:08
FS-UAE 2.5.6dev Amiga Key (Windows key) pops up the start menu Marskilla support.FS-UAE 3 24 September 2014 00:18
Amiga 'HELP' key - tribute thread to the abandoned key... Paul_s Amiga scene 22 23 July 2009 13:15
NEWS: Print in WinUAE ; Print with WinUAE Borg_Number_One support.WinUAE 7 28 August 2004 00:15
How do I Print with winuae? @UAE support.WinUAE 3 14 May 2002 14:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07431 seconds with 16 queries