English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 February 2014, 21:05   #1
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
Replacement CD32 Power supplies

Hi All,

Had to replace a power supply for a CD32. I bought this ...

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/301018722000?...84.m1439.l2649

and a 4 pin Din adapter from Digikey...

http://www.digikey.ca/product-search...rds=cp-1040-nd

I chopped off the connector from the psu and attached the 4 pin din plug and it works great. I left the CD32 in demo mode for about 12 hours and the psu remained cool to the touch

Last edited by kipper2k; 09 February 2014 at 21:24.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 05:44   #2
delshay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 245
Don't the CD32 need -12v for sound like A1200?
delshay is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 07:58   #3
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,694
No, it only needs +5V and +12V. Its PSU can also be used for 1541-II, 1571-II and 1581 floppy drives.

Edit: I use the same PSU for my 1541-II, but thought the 5V line would be too weak for a CD32. But apparently I can see that Vesalia sells similar 2A specced PSUs for use with CD32.

Last edited by demolition; 10 February 2014 at 08:05.
demolition is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 11:26   #4
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,052
I just made a molex to CD32 adapter for use with normal AT(X) power supply =) Not as pretty but works fine.
Turran is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 11:34   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turran View Post
I just made a molex to CD32 adapter for use with normal AT(X) power supply =) Not as pretty but works fine.
Same as I did. The PSU Kipper2k links to had a molex connector for HDDs, so I just soldered a female Molex to the 1541-II PSU cable. Then I can connect it to other PSUs as well.
demolition is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 14:10   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Oh I have one of these, nice idea! I didn't know it had enough amperage.

How is it that the -12V is not needed? Is it created inside teh machine or scrapped altogether?
Akira is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 14:20   #7
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,694
It is not needed for audio, and there is also no serial port which would need it.
demolition is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 14:53   #8
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
heres a new link for the psu, other ones all gone.

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/12V-5V-AC-Pow...6456eb9&_uhb=1

and another

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/12V-5V-AC-Ada...056812e&_uhb=1
kipper2k is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 15:08   #9
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,694
Wondering if they are too cheap to be trusted powering our beloved equipment.
demolition is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 15:12   #10
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
I cant answer that one, i know i use this type with the kryoflux and my external HDDs and even some external usb cradles and i've not had a problem, i think there may be a few out there that are bad, but that goes for the expensive ones too. How much did vesalia pay for theirs
kipper2k is offline  
Old 10 February 2014, 15:19   #11
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,694
Mine also works fine for now, but who's to say if it decides to pump out 30V on the 5V line in a couple of years.. Think the more expensive ones are better designed and protected. The one Vesalia sells looks like higher quality, but hard to know for sure. Probably can't be cheaper/lower quality.
demolition is offline  
Old 11 March 2014, 16:45   #12
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 950
Now, I decided to follow kipper's recipe.
Got one 12V2A+5V2A PSU.
For the plugs I have three choices:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Pack-of-2-...item1c3c4efff7
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Connector-...item5661b6d313
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-off-Qual...item1c3d3d8d9b

The last one seems to be the best choice, but I would like an expert opinion

Also.... what about the ground wire ? This 4 pin DIN should use 3 pins: 12V, 5V and GND, right ?
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 11 March 2014, 17:10   #13
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 42
Posts: 1,374
As for these +5V/+12V PSUs... we've actually sold a few hundred of those by now. You might want to look out for those that really have some heavier caps in them. The one that kipper2k has linked there has such fancy dots on the enclosure. We've seen those with very cheap electronics - almost all of these died because the load on the parts is very high (and they are driven right at the edge of the specs). Most of them died with a pop and a flash of light (the one we had opened up did a nice spark - don't try this at home as it's mains power).

Not saying there's anything wrong with kipper's receipe - I actually have the same combination on my 1541-II. But I got a quality PSU for it, which is working well.

So, when you buy those PSUs, get one that's reliable. Usually heavier is better. If you find it's too light, be warned. It might kill the device it's powering when it dies.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 11 March 2014, 17:24   #14
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
http://www.vesalia.de/e_psu1541iicd32a590.htm
Riempie is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 21:34   #15
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
As for these +5V/+12V PSUs... we've actually sold a few hundred of those by now. You might want to look out for those that really have some heavier caps in them. The one that kipper2k has linked there has such fancy dots on the enclosure. We've seen those with very cheap electronics - almost all of these died because the load on the parts is very high (and they are driven right at the edge of the specs). Most of them died with a pop and a flash of light (the one we had opened up did a nice spark - don't try this at home as it's mains power).

Not saying there's anything wrong with kipper's receipe - I actually have the same combination on my 1541-II. But I got a quality PSU for it, which is working well.

So, when you buy those PSUs, get one that's reliable. Usually heavier is better. If you find it's too light, be warned. It might kill the device it's powering when it dies.

Mine must be unusually good as i have had my CD32 running for 48 hours to give it a good load test with a compilation CD constantly accessing the CDROM in demo mode, after the 48 hours the power supply was not hot and the voltage output was still stable. Just because it comes from China the parts can't all be painted with the same brush, after all, Zeus is getting parts from there too. You get good and you get bad, luck of the draw
kipper2k is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 21:45   #16
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 42
Posts: 1,374
Did not mean China re parts is the issue. Some designs just lack caps that filter mains and also drive parts right at the edge.

If these are fine - great.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 11 January 2015, 14:26   #17
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 734
Warning !!
I bought two Power Supplies from Vesalia in Germany.
http://www.vesalia.de/d_psu1541iicd32a590.htm

Both produce Interference in the Video output.
I have two working Amiga Cd32 and i tested both.
Even on two different Televisions. ( CRT and LCD )

Same problem.
I used an old Amiga 500 power supplie, rewired it, and all is good.

So be carefull if you buy from Vesalia.
( it also took ages and the have no Amiga Cd32 to test there stuff )
Nibbler is offline  
Old 11 January 2015, 14:51   #18
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
Warning !!
I bought two Power Supplies from Vesalia in Germany.
http://www.vesalia.de/d_psu1541iicd32a590.htm

Both produce Interference in the Video output.
I have two working Amiga Cd32 and i tested both.
Even on two different Televisions. ( CRT and LCD )

Same problem.
I used an old Amiga 500 power supplie, rewired it, and all is good.

So be carefull if you buy from Vesalia.
( it also took ages and the have no Amiga Cd32 to test there stuff )
That's a strange issue, how thick is the cabling, is it shielded ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 11 January 2015, 16:40   #19
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,052
Both my PSUs died within 2 weeks. Beware of china crap.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-5V-AC-Ad...056812e&_uhb=1

Last edited by Turran; 11 January 2015 at 19:15. Reason: Spelling
Turran is offline  
Old 11 January 2015, 17:55   #20
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
I can confirm the power supply from vesalia is crap! The cd32 isn't stable with this power supply.
Riempie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing capacitors in Amiga power supplies 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 12 01 February 2016 18:20
UK/Australian power supplies A1200 twenty90seven support.Hardware 2 10 June 2013 04:06
Killer power supplies Quagliarulo support.Hardware 27 11 April 2011 00:50
Replacement power supply..... THX1138 support.Hardware 14 10 June 2005 06:03
Power Supplies Mick_AKA support.Hardware 14 17 May 2003 13:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08833 seconds with 14 queries