English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2018, 22:06   #241
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 362
Hmmm, I setup 3 partitions using PDS (50445303) identifier on my A2091 booting kickstart 3.1 using HDInsttools. If I change now to Kickstart 1.3, Amiga seems to do something from HD and then I see a box no DOS partition. Changing again to Kickstart 3.1, I see again my partition and everything is fine.

Any ideas?
apex is offline  
Old 10 April 2018, 22:53   #242
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/pfs3aio_v3.1_test1.zip

- Fixed softlink support, they have always been broken (Piru). I have never used softlinks so I have no idea what happened previously.
- TD64/NSD check also validates returned io_Actual value.
- ACTION_INFO InfoData returns fake block size to work around overflow in programs (including WB) that use 32-bit "in use * 100 / total blocks" formula to calculate size. Returned block size depends on partition size. (This is only visual change, "real" block size in DosEnvec is unchanged). UAE already did this with very large drives without side-effects.

TODO: If I manage to hook up filesystem loading to new UAE debugger, I'll try to find out if there is any obvious ways to reduce memory usage when running on low memory systems.

Is this eventually going to be the new "final"? I've been using it for new installations recently or should I use the final listed in post #1? I'm not having any issues to report with this v3.1_test1.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 02:16   #243
AmigaWolf
Registered User

AmigaWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bla
Posts: 22
Thanks i just updated it to PFS3AIO v3.0 Final.
AmigaWolf is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 09:42   #244
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinphaltimus View Post
Is this eventually going to be the new "final"? I've been using it for new installations recently or should I use the final listed in post #1? I'm not having any issues to report with this v3.1_test1.
"Small" memory support probably gets included but I am still not sure how to choose between modes automatically. Available memory size? Less than 1M? Less than 2M?

Quote:
Originally Posted by apex View Post
Hmmm, I setup 3 partitions using PDS (50445303) identifier on my A2091 booting kickstart 3.1 using HDInsttools. If I change now to Kickstart 1.3, Amiga seems to do something from HD and then I see a box no DOS partition. Changing again to Kickstart 3.1, I see again my partition and everything is fine.
I don't know, perhaps HDInsttools does something weird. Attach RDB backup (at least OS3.9 hdtoolbox has menu option) and check A2091 ROM version.


Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
Is that 30k per partition? That might start to add up for some people
Yes but using more than 2 partitions is not a good idea
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 10:40   #245
amiwolf
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Emerald City
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
"Small" memory support probably gets included but I am still not sure how to choose between modes automatically. Available memory size? Less than 1M? Less than 2M?
How about "Small" mode if no FAST-RAM detected?
amiwolf is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 11:52   #246
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiwolf View Post
How about "Small" mode if no FAST-RAM detected?
I don't think 2M Chip is low ram enough and 0.5M+0.5M isn't high ram enough in my opinion.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 12:00   #247
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,537
I would leave it to the user to decide what is "small", for example by specifying sub 30 number of buffers or something.
kolla is online now  
Old 11 April 2018, 12:08   #248
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
I would leave it to the user to decide what is "small", for example by specifying sub 30 number of buffers or something.
I am thinking of situation where "small" disk gets moved to large memory/fast system where it would be nice to have automatic small mode disable, for faster disk accesses (probably mainly affects writes).

What if small buffer value will enable it but only if available fast ram is less than 4M?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 12:33   #249
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,537
Sounds fine with me
kolla is online now  
Old 11 April 2018, 23:49   #250
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 113
I have done some tests with pfs3aio v2.3 some time ago on unexpanded A600 and A1200 chip mem only. From my tests of pfs3 without fast mem, pfs3 eats 200-300kb chip ram per partition depending on buffer tweaks etc.

For me this is acceptable as I dont expect much of an unexpanded Amiga. The important part is that pfs3 works and I can access the partitions for e.g. copying or editing files. As Toni mentions partitions should be kept to a max of 2. 3 partitions will eat almost all of an A600 chip men.

To make use of an unexpanded A600 or A1200 for running WHDLoad demos or games, I have had great success with FFS v45.16. This only uses 20-30kb per partition and works well for such a setup.

Putting pfs3aio in custom burned Kickstart rom could also reduce chip mem without having tried that.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 01:48   #251
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 770
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Just updated my RDB with Toni`s Ver 19 pfs3aio and its all good

Any noobs who want to do this for partitions less then 5gb in size , just extract pfs3aio from Toni`s download then put it into L: directory.
Then fire up HDtoolbox, then >, Partition Drive >select your first partition then> tick Advanced Options, >Update > input L: pfs3aio into dialog box > Click OK ( if successful it will change to Ver19 in the window) > Click OK > Save changes to drive.

Your done..enjoy
ok so just to be super clear this is a stand along version? i/e we don't need to install nay previous version
klx300r is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 03:53   #252
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
I would leave it to the user to decide what is "small", for example by specifying sub 30 number of buffers or something.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I am thinking of situation where "small" disk gets moved to large memory/fast system where it would be nice to have automatic small mode disable, for faster disk accesses (probably mainly affects writes).

What if small buffer value will enable it but only if available fast ram is less than 4M?
I think that experienced users will want to specify explicitily what mode they want.

I prefer the use of another dostype in the same way Toni has done before when him incorporated the PFS and PFSDS together. I think it's more logical, following the lines of thinking of AmigaDOS.

I don't know what most users think, but I have the feel that the act of changing modes when depending of the buffer count or of the available memory size is a sort of a hack.

But I trust Toni very much, and I don't want to insult him, so maybe I could be wrong.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 13 April 2018 at 10:56. Reason: make certain that it is not an insult, fix typo
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 10:33   #253
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I am thinking of situation where "small" disk gets moved to large memory/fast system where it would be nice to have automatic small mode disable, for faster disk accesses (probably mainly affects writes).

What if small buffer value will enable it but only if available fast ram is less than 4M?
-1 .
For me "automatic" change of a config is a no go !
As far as i know, you never implemented any "automatic" things like that, did you ?
malko is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 10:38   #254
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 178
My tests: format and copy 800MB of various files
The machine: A2000 2MBchip 4MBfast KS 40 (Workbench 3.1)
The disk: HP v165W 8GB (mini thumb key)(one partition created with HDInstTools from the last official PFS3 package)
PFS3 18.2 (pfs3aio may 2014) => issue, index -1 during the copy
PFS3 19.0 (pfs3aio http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/pfs3aio) charming copy !!

Also works on KS 34 (WB 1.3) format and copy only, not the HDInstTool update phase.

Thanks Toni, you have fixed a big bug that apparently occurs only on massive copy, or when copying a large amount of little files. It wasn't occur on update or individual copy

Last edited by Gilloo; 13 April 2018 at 16:39.
Gilloo is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 10:39   #255
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
ok so just to be super clear this is a stand along version? i/e we don't need to install nay previous version
No

But as always do any changes to a copy of your system first ( I use a VHD image in WinUae to try any updates before committing it to a hard drive) to save any heartache
supaduper is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 10:49   #256
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
-1 .
For me "automatic" change of a config is a no go !
As far as i know, you never implemented any "automatic" things like that, did you ?
Why would you want (special case) "slow/small memory" behavior when you more than enough RAM?

EDIT: I don't want to add separate version or dostypes because it is guaranteed to cause confusion ("why this version is slower than previous"). Thats why I want it to be mostly automatic, requiring at least small enough buffer value that no normal configuration uses.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 13 April 2018 at 11:29.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 11:57   #257
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 671
Negative buffer sizes to indicated small mode, perhaps?

-30 => small mode, 30 buffers.

side note; I am unable to write "buffers" without typing "buggers" the first few times. Is it just me?
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 14:06   #258
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,537
I don't think HDToolBox etc allow negative number of buffers, lol

And I think it makes sense to use buffers for this, as buffers are already "magic" with PFS, even before pfs3aio.
kolla is online now  
Old 13 April 2018, 17:02   #259
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 671
Of course it can. You can just count backwards from 65535 (=-1), assuming it's a 16-bit field. If you can't do 2's complement in your head then you have no business using computers, quite frankly...
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 13 April 2018, 17:18   #260
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 855
E-Penguin, I think you will be very dissapointed then to know, that the majority of people in the world using computers cannot...
spudje is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3aio vs SFS/02 White support.WinUAE 10 13 April 2018 22:44
PFS3AIO Probs ? Foul support.FS-UAE 0 21 February 2018 23:49
PFS3AIO Questions manic23 support.Hardware 26 22 April 2014 14:49
Pfs3aio ???? stingray76 support.Hardware 2 19 February 2014 10:15
FinalWriter 97; FinalCalc 1.04; Final Data 2.00 & Final Copy aebrown-u request.Apps 20 12 July 2009 12:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09346 seconds with 14 queries