English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2009, 22:49   #1
Zombie13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 13
Possible to run Amiga Unix on WinUAE?

I'm not new to emulation or the Amiga, but I wondered if it was easy enough to run Amiga Unix (as in the A3000UX) on WinUAE? I've searched Google, but only seem to find info on running UAE under *nix.

Cheers!
Zombie13 is offline  
Old 12 February 2009, 01:38   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombie13 View Post
I'm not new to emulation or the Amiga, but I wondered if it was easy enough to run Amiga Unix (as in the A3000UX) on WinUAE? I've searched Google, but only seem to find info on running UAE under *nix.

Cheers!
Hi Zombie13,

WinUAE is an Amiga emulator for Windows and as such it isn't restricted to running Amiga OS, so I don't see why it shouldn't be relatively easy to run Amiga Unix on WinUAE as long as the installation medium or suitable image can be mounted by the emulator.

If you have experience with running Amiga Unix on a real Amiga, then what further info is required?

prowler
prowler is offline  
Old 12 February 2009, 01:41   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,145
WinUAE has no MMU emulation and hence no capability to run Unix (or Amix)

Developer has no interest in adding MMU support
alexh is offline  
Old 12 February 2009, 02:03   #4
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Minimum spec for Amix (Amiga unix) 68020/68030 with MMU/FPU....As Alex said there is no support in Winuae for a MMU....so thats a non starter.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 12 February 2009, 11:14   #5
Zombie13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 13
Thanks for the replies guys. The geek in me just wanted to tinker with it if possible.
Zombie13 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run a CD in Winuae Champions_2002 support.WinUAE 11 05 February 2012 14:52
how to run winuae and run Tau Ceti Academy ??? funkycatspangky support.Games 7 22 July 2007 19:51
Can't run WinUAE shushu support.WinUAE 11 13 July 2006 14:54
could WinUAE run this? NPI support.WinUAE 13 24 June 2005 18:24
Amiga and Unix/Minix/Linux/*BSD harlequin Retrogaming General Discussion 5 27 April 2002 06:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10551 seconds with 13 queries