English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 March 2002, 13:14   #1
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Returncode 20

Hey guys. Can anyone tell me what it means when a game is loading and then stops in the CLI screen with Returncode 20? If I knew what it meant I might be able to make a score of passed up games work.

Is there a book or txt file somewhere on error codes?

Thanks!
 
Old 24 March 2002, 15:38   #2
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I'm not quite sure, but if you're talking about some games which just return code 20 I believe I've had a couple which just required me to run them on a kick rom newer than 1.3 (I use 1.3 and 3.0 so I wouldn't know where it'd start)

Again I'm not sure of this but I remember some returncode which'd just go away with a newer rom.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 24 March 2002, 15:59   #3
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Hey, thanks for the reply Drake. I wasn't sure if this was a dumb question or not, as I'm prone to asking them.

I've searched for an answer to this for some time. It seems to me that years ago I got the codes out of an Amiga Dos Manual. I wonder if anyone has digitized it (the entire manual).

I have seen other returncodes while loading games and ignored them because I would find a working configuration, but I'd like to re-educate myself on the subject.

Guess I'll go out on ebay and find some manuals for sale.

Thanks again...
 
Old 24 March 2002, 17:16   #4
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
This is a standard AmigaDOS error.

The standard AmigaDOS error codes are:

OK (Code 0 ): Program has been executed successfully.
WARN (Code 5 ): just a WARNING, for example with invalid parameters.
ABORT (Code 8 ): CTRL-C - Aborted by user.
ERROR (Code 10): non-critical error.
FAIL (Code 20): CRITICAL error, for example not enough memory.
andreas is offline  
Old 25 March 2002, 00:15   #5
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 48
Posts: 833
Yes, Drake is right
This error often happens when a game needs kick 2.0 or higher ( I have to admit I can only think of Chaos Strikes Back at the moment, or some AGA games of course ) or if a game requires more memory or 1MB chip memory on an A-500. ( e.g. if you try to run a A-1200 game on the A-500 )
Overdoc is offline  
Old 25 March 2002, 02:00   #6
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Good deal. Memory and Kickstart versions seem to be the main nemesis for Returncode 20. Thanks, guys, for all the info.

Andreas, I appreciate the code values. Is there a good source for the entire Amiga Dos Manual about?
 
Old 25 March 2002, 03:16   #7
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Lazy?

Well, Google is your friend here (+amigados +manual).

http://www.mentasm.com/~mramiga/
andreas is offline  
Old 25 March 2002, 03:37   #8
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Wow! I should have known. The obvious solution is always the hardest to find.

That site is right on target. Thanks again Andreas.

Hey, I'm not lazy, just stupid...
 
Old 25 March 2002, 06:53   #9
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,832
As it so happens I have a digitized copy of the official AmigaDOS Manual by Commodore-Amiga. It's at http://www.users.bigpond.com/james.jacobs/amigan.html

That other site is not much good, it doesn't have the official manual anywhere!
Minuous is offline  
Old 25 March 2002, 08:55   #10
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Minuous. Another nice site. Now I just have to figure out how to use the lha files you download there...
 
Old 25 March 2002, 09:21   #11
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Usually you unarchive them. LHA is like ZIP.

On the PC Xace can extract LHA files, you could also use other compression programs, or get the old dos LHA program.

On the Amiga there is LHA archiver available on Aminet

us.aminet.net/~aminet (or one of the mirrors, I mainly use the US one since the DK one's search seems to be broken)
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 25 March 2002, 15:06   #12
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Drake. I use WinRar. It automatically detected them and and broke the Amiga Dos Manual down to four files, with the extensions of guide and info.

It's when I click on these that I have the trouble. Is there some program that reads them? They certainly aren't txt files.

That's what happens when your 50. You get left behind with all the new stuff...
 
Old 25 March 2002, 17:59   #13
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I think you might be able to read the .guide file with wordpad. Otherwise you'd need an Amiga with workbench or an emulated workbench to read the files. The .Info is like a shortcut for the file, but you could open the .guide file using multiview as well.

Haven't looked into the .guide format though, but it seems like plain text with a hyperlink or two in it so it shouldn't contain that much extra data.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 25 March 2002, 20:28   #14
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 27
Posts: 4,662
There is a program out there called WinGuide that displays AmigaGuide files. I don't have a URL for it, but Google may help. The version I have installed on my system in v2.0 for Windows 95 and it's a little flaky with paths or any file that is not a real .guide file. But it works. Otherwise, you can just view them from 2.x or higher Workbench.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 25 March 2002, 21:44   #15
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Exclamation

Quote:
you could also use other compression programs, or get the old dos LHA program.

Halt! Stop! Danger!
NEVER do this. LHA for DOS is a 16 bit program, and this will DESTROY all long file names!! Thus, every *.info file will be changed to *.inf afterwards and so on ...
andreas is offline  
Old 25 March 2002, 21:52   #16
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Good thing you remembered that. I forgot about that limitation.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 25 March 2002, 23:58   #17
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,832
I've got WinGuide, I'm not sure what version I have though off the top of my head. If you are having trouble finding it, I could post to the Zone. But I suspect it will not be hard to find.
Minuous is offline  
Old 26 March 2002, 02:13   #18
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Yes! Thanks! I found WinGuide with Google and it opened up the guide files nicely.

Another great new Amiga toy!

Thanks, guys!!
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD won't boot now..wait failed returncode? Amigan25 project.ClassicWB 2 08 June 2007 19:21
Failed returncode 20 HymnsomniaK New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 17 January 2007 14:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08154 seconds with 13 queries