English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2005, 16:43   #1
Stigodump
 
Posts: n/a
CrossDos

Hi, I'm using WB2.05 and have read about CrossDos, this seems to be a utility which enables the amiga to read dos 720KB disks. I dont seem to have CrossDos with my version of WB.

Can anyone help with getting this working?

Thanks.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 July 2005, 17:18   #2
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
CrossDOS was introduced with Workbench 2.1, 2.05 did not come with CrossDOS which is why you cannot find it. If you can give a bit more information then we can help you out a bit more.

Are you using a real Amiga (which model) or an emulator?
OddbOd is offline  
Old 21 July 2005, 18:06   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,904
If Floppy Disk xfer is your bag, you really should invest in a copy of CrossDos Gold (7.04?) with support for Win9x long filenames.
alexh is online now  
Old 21 July 2005, 20:09   #4
Stigodump
 
Posts: n/a
Hi, My system is an A500+ with Kickstart 2 or 3.1 and workbench 2.04 or 2.05, there is also a GVP Impact SeriesII hard drive with 8MB of fast ram. I also have an emulator with the same specs. the real Amiga is linked to the PC by means of a serial cable.

Thanks.
 
Old 22 July 2005, 09:04   #5
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 663
IMO it's probably not worth the effort obtaining CrossDOS as you can read/write 720k floppy disks on your PC including from inside UAE. You can do this by adding your A: drive to the emulated Amiga's filesystem via the "Add directory..." button under Hard Disks, it might seem a strange way to go but it does work. Another alternative is software like PC2Amiga (available from Aminet) allows you to access all of your PCs disks over the serial cable but can be a bit of a hassle to setup under Windows.

If you're more interested in running CrossDOS on the hardware Amiga simply as a point of interest then you have two alternatives, either upgrade your Workbench to 2.1 or purchase a copy crossdos 7.

If you want to know exactly what Kickstart/Workbench you are running simply open a new shell and run the version command, most likely you are running Kickstart 37.175 (aka 2.04) or Kickstart 40.63 (aka 3.1).
OddbOd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have CrossDOS? mancity support.Apps 28 02 January 2013 23:25
CrossDos omnigate support.Apps 2 08 August 2011 00:35
CrossDOS 7 Graham Humphrey request.Apps 5 20 May 2006 19:57
CrossDOS (again) witchmaster support.Apps 10 11 June 2005 16:11
CrossDOS mikni support.Apps 4 03 September 2001 12:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11947 seconds with 12 queries