English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 February 2018, 15:49   #61
Drag0nFly
Registered User

Drag0nFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bergen / Norway
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
This error can also indicate code going haywire. Can be FPU access, but can be something else as well.
Yes, that is what I'm thinking as well - as I am pretty sure there aren't any resident programs/libs which are using the FPU.
Drag0nFly is offline  
Old 03 February 2018, 22:33   #62
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
I hard hardfreezes like that swapped my blizzard 030 for my blizzard 060 and it never occurred again (also swapped the memory chips, but no luck: the 030 board is faulty I guess).
I'm lucky to have 2 A1200 motherboards & 2 accelerator boards & 3 memory SIMMS so I can really be sure if something is faulty.

I thought your fastmem was faulty, not your chipmem. nomemreverse cannot work with only chipmem even if you're running a low-memory game, because games use at least $0-$80000 locations, which would conflict with a non-reversed AllocMem
jotd is offline  
Old 04 February 2018, 18:40   #63
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I'll check that (still have to figure out how to read the middle mouse button, and I don't have a 3 mouse button to test, well on WinUAE it should be ok).
Check DATLX bit in POTGOR, i.e. btst #8-8,$dff016 does the trick.
StingRay is online now  
Old 04 February 2018, 19:25   #64
Drag0nFly
Registered User

Drag0nFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bergen / Norway
Posts: 28
@jotd: I did not run the game with only chipmen - just the memory check.

btw–I do have warranty left on the ACA card, but I am a little sceptical that this fault would be identified, as I suspect a quick "works-or-not" test is done. Especially since a wide variety of reasons for the fault was offered by Jens, ranging from "bad PSU" (tried two 4.5A PSUs), insufficient timing fixes (have all relevant caps removed), insufficient cooling on the mainboard (due to socketed chips), etc. But these issues also occurred before timing fixes or work on the motherboard were done.

Looking forward to a new version of JST. And yes, an exit on middle-mouse-button would be very useful, esp. since there aren't any keyboard USB-adapters that I know of which attaches to U13/the keyb. MPU in order to go wireless. (I would be a real happy camper if so was the case, as I would then have a complete wireless joystick+mouse+keyboard set-up)

Last edited by Drag0nFly; 04 February 2018 at 19:33.
Drag0nFly is offline  
Old 04 February 2018, 22:17   #65
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
note that the new JST also has CD32 joypad to keyboard features, and you can quit with pressing all front buttons + pause (like CD32load)

@Stingray: thanks. I'll be able to test that with middle/wheel mouse button on winuae.
jotd is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 18:46   #66
Overkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Barnstaple/UK
Posts: 49
I know this is a bit old, but did you fix your "Line 111 Emulator Error" ? I have the same 1230XA card and just NoVBRMove NoAutoVec fixed that same error on ProjectX and Second Samurai for me. Might help others if not you
Overkill is offline  
Old 22 August 2018, 21:12   #67
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,688
I sold my 1230XA in 1995 to buy a Blizzard 68060

It wasn't only with whdload that it failed. Some floppy games I tried to run also crashed.

NOVBRMOVE/NOAUTOVEC trick is nice. The downside is:

- if the slave hasn't "68000 quitkey" implemented then you cannot quit
- if the game crashes for some reason, the amiga locks up (no interception of the exception from whdload)

In a nutshell, it's like you're using a very fast 68000, in 32 bit, and less compatible
jotd is offline  
Old 29 August 2018, 14:54   #68
Drag0nFly
Registered User

Drag0nFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bergen / Norway
Posts: 28
(A belated update I know, but better late than never)

In case anyone is still interested, after testing numerous obscure settings and eliminating (equally obscure) suggestions from the manufacturer for possible failure sources ("cell phone signal disturbance", unstable voltages from (both) 4.5a PSUs, bad recap, socketed chips on mb, presence of fpu-libs, Moon not properly aligned with Jupiter, et al.) the ACA 1233n was finally returned and diagnosed with a cpu fault by the people at AmigaStore.

FWIW - The system showed stability issues when testing with Keir Fraser's SysTest - https://github.com/keirf/Amiga-Stuff...master/systest (caused an illegal instruction, dumped a stacktrance and subsequently a complete hang while it was sitting idle after a memory check - neither of which occurred with the accelerator removed and testing the 2Mb chip-RAM range by itself.)

However – it was 'a little tricky' to isolate - especially when doing the tests from within Workbench and whdload as the errors would be spurious to say the least and required several passes to properly diagnose with various memtest/diag tools. I frankly did not expect the supplier to uncover it, so kudos to them.

I did several tests with the new card, as well as another Typhoon 030 w/ SCSI card on two different mainboards without any of the issues experienced before (on both motherboards) showing up.

Since I spent *way too much* time trying a plethora of various whdload options (and other things) - all to no avail - I hope this might prove useful to someone.
Drag0nFly is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 12:03   #69
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,624
Did Individual Computers really suggest "cell phone disturbance"? If that's not a good reason to boycott their (overpriced) products, I don't know what is.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 30 August 2018, 12:14   #70
Drag0nFly
Registered User

Drag0nFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bergen / Norway
Posts: 28
I'm not denying that cellphones certainly can have an impact if sitting directly on top of or next to an open-chassis computer (provoked crashes with a SFF Shuttle system for this myself), but yes, it was one of the suggestions from Jens. As was lack of heat-dissipation when it was learned I had socketed chips on the a1200 mainboard (a premium service offered by a knowledgeable veteran on AmiBay). Which is why another a1200 board was acquired to rule out such issues.
Drag0nFly is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with WHDLOAD piemmeweb project.WHDLoad 0 20 May 2010 21:06
Problems with WHDload (yes, me too) Sarford New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 31 August 2007 02:07
WHDLoad problems Rod_cl support.Games 15 30 July 2007 20:35
WHDload Problems Eny- support.Games 2 27 July 2004 02:04
Problems with WHDLOAD yadster support.Apps 9 30 July 2003 15:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12070 seconds with 14 queries