English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2010, 22:38   #1
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Amiga 1000 parallel port

OK, I got my first A1000 a bit ago.
Still working on it, but one of the things I've found out is that it doesn't have a "standard" parallel port.
Now, neither did the other Amigas, but it was not standard with those.

From what I can tell, there are a few differences.
http://www.l8r.net/technical/t-amigaparallel.shtml

1: The gender is different different. Easy fix..
2: Pin1 on the A1000 is listed as DRDY* and on the others, it's listed as STROBE.. Is that different???
3: The A1000 has 5V on pin 23 when the other Amigas have GND and it has GND on pin 14 where the other Amiga's have 5V. Does anything use that? (Digiview/sound samplers maybe??)
4: Pin16 on the A1000 is GND and the others, it's RESET. Pin25 on the A1000 is RESET and GND on the others. Important?
5: Pin24 on the A1000 is not connected, GND on the others.

So, I am going to hook up my DCTV to my Amiga 1000. Probably won't do much digitizing, but it will be fun to have it available...

If I build a cable that: (This is close but not quite right. One in my post below is better.)
flips 14 and 23
flips 16 and 25
turns 24 into GND

Would that make the port a "standard" Amiga printer port?

Also, for serial, I just need a gender changer??

Thanx,

desiv

Last edited by desiv; 20 September 2018 at 23:23.
desiv is offline  
Old 24 November 2010, 06:04   #2
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 45
Posts: 762
I had an A1000 20 years ago, the first thing I did was plug standard printer cable to the parallel port and fry it, I think, CIA chip. So be careful.
After that, I purchased printer cable made just for A1000 from local Amiga dealer. I wonder if I still have that cable??? Probably not.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 24 November 2010, 06:17   #3
Fabie
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: France
Posts: 478
maybe on the amiga 1000 manual there is a pinout specification for serial and parallel
with the correct pinout data then you can make the modifications
but I wonder if parallel samplers or printers will works fine on that computer
Fabie is offline  
Old 20 September 2018, 20:14   #4
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Thread necro, but it is my own thread.
I am finally planning on making my adapter. ;-)
I found some other sites that listed DRDY as a type of strobe, so I believe those are the same.

All I should need to do is swap 3 pairs of pins.

14 & 23 - GND & +5v
15 & 24 - GND & NC (Not sure this is totally necessary, but for completion sake. ;-)
16 & 25 - GND & Reset
That adapter should make an A1K port the same as the other Amigas.

Just for giggles, I decided to compare it with a standard PC port.
I think the big problem comes in with the Amiga 1000 having +5v on pin 23.
The 500 and above have it on pint 14, which is AUTOFD (Autofeed) on a PC port. So most likely anything seeing that will see autofeed forced on all the time. Probably not a big deal.
And the 500 just has GND on 23, which is what the PC has. And that is the problem.

Most devices are expecting GND on pin 23, and the A1k has +5v there....
Not good. That would combine 5v to GND. ;-(

Just as an FYI, the rest of the differences between the Amiga and PC parallel ports.

PC
14 - AUTOFD
15 - Error
16 - INIT (Is this the same as RESET on the Amiga? Probably.)
17 - SELIN (Select In)

Other that those 4, the PC and the Amiga 500/2000 on are pinned the same...

I'll let you know when I finish and if I blow up my Amiga. ;-)
Probably won't hook up a printer. (Although I do still have some parallel printers.. I don't know why.. ;-)
I do have a DCTV hooked up to my A1000, so I could test the video capture just to see if it works.
I am also thinking of maybe setting up / building a PLIPbox. But haven't done that yet.

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 20 September 2018, 20:49   #5
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 548
I'm glad you bumped this! I bought a parnet cable and was thinking a gender change was all that was required! That could have been a nasty mistake!
indigolemon is offline  
Old 20 September 2018, 21:32   #6
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,399
I’d like to build an adaptor as well
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 24 September 2018, 05:58   #7
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Update..
OK, the A1000 isn't smoking. ;-)
The DCTV isn't smoking.

As I don't seem to be able to show embedded images from google photos, here is a link to the shot:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/_w...e=w414-h552-no

Basically, it is a shot of my Amiga 1000 running DCTV and I have captured a video image from my Jakks Pacific Pacman TV game (needed something with composite output).
Worked great.
The DCTV captures via the parallel port, and I have it connected to my A1000 with my modified gender bender.

Basically all I did was as above.
I took an existing DB25 gender bender. Luckily I had the type that comes in a little plastic case. Took off that case and there were 26 (25 + shield) wires.
I desoldered 14, 15, 16, 23, 24, and 25 and then moved them as above.

That was it.
Now I can use my parallel port on my A1K as I would with my A500 or A1200.

I don't expect to do much composite digitizing :-), but possibly I can see a PLIPBox in the future...
desiv is offline  
Old 24 September 2018, 17:33   #8
Dynamic_Computi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Posts: 98
You should play with that DCTV - I just did a video on using it, and I have fallen in love with it again. Do a search on "10 Minute Amiga Retro Cast" on Youtube and you will find it. I would like to see some of the images you capture with it!

I was always under the impression that it was just a Gender issue with the A1000 - interesting to find out that there are other differences. To this day I still kick myself for selling my A1000 two years ago - I hope the person who bought it on Ebay is happy with it, though!
Dynamic_Computi is offline  
Old 24 September 2018, 18:03   #9
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynamic_Computi View Post
You should play with that DCTV - I just did a video on using it, and I have fallen in love with it again. Do a search on "10 Minute Amiga Retro Cast" on Youtube and you will find it. I would like to see some of the images you capture with it!!
I'll check that out! Thanx!
Love my DCTV (although I haven't done much image capture with it).
The image quality is incredible on the pics I've seen.

I actually didn't have one back in the day, but I did have a HAM-E board from Black Belt Systems (which was similar in the display quality/ability; no capture tho).
There were financial reasons that were pretty valid for me selling all my Amiga stuff when I did, but part of me really wishes I could have found another way to keep them.
I've never even seen another HAM-E in the wild or on Ebay.
(Although I can see that the DCTV is a nicer, more polished solution now that I have that..)
desiv is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal parallel port spoUP Hardware mods 13 10 December 2013 06:45
Amiga parallel joy port schematic kipper2k Hardware mods 5 27 October 2012 16:42
In absence of parallel port ? Another World project.SPS (was CAPS) 7 19 September 2008 18:42
What's this? : parallel port thing Galaxy support.Hardware 19 07 September 2006 13:09
Amiga 1200 + HP parallel port Cd-rom zerohero support.Hardware 4 25 August 2005 09:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07866 seconds with 16 queries