English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 September 2018, 19:07   #21
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,027
Is there a way to put a "Press any key to continue" command into AmigaDOS?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 20:40   #22
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,794
...not sure there is but am probably wrong.

You could use one of the little "LMB" utilities to wait for a left mouse click but prior to loading this; echo "< press Left Mouse Button to continue >"; or something similar.
Attached Files
File Type: lha LMB.lha (78 Bytes, 12 views)

Last edited by DamienD; 11 September 2018 at 20:52.
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 20:43   #23
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,027
That's but it has to be a key press not mouse.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 20:47   #24
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,794
Amazing what you find if you actually search EAB

... getting a user to press a key via AmigaDOS
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 21:12   #25
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,110
You can also use this: http://aminet.net/package/util/batch/KeyPressed
daxb is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 21:14   #26
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Amazing what you find if you actually search EAB

... getting a user to press a key via AmigaDOS
I did and somehow didn't find that. Thank you!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 21:19   #27
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,794
When you use "waitanykey" it displays the following text and obviously waits for a key to be pressed:
Please press any key.
If for some reason you wanted to make it look like MS-DOS's "pause" i.e:



...or even change the text to something else; you could do the following:

Code:
Echo "Press any key to continue . . ."
WaitAnyKey >NIL:
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 21:25   #28
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,027
Thanks a lot!
Starglider 2 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire V2+ or wait for V4 Glen M Amiga scene 55 08 May 2018 22:56
AmigaDOS wait for user input Sinphaltimus Coders. Scripting 11 25 February 2018 03:47
Where Time Stood Still - Video or wait? Galahad/FLT Amiga scene 83 31 July 2014 12:42
Wait() mritter0 Coders. C/C++ 2 17 May 2014 20:14
Wait a sec - what about Macs? Computolio Amiga scene 10 02 June 2004 08:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08829 seconds with 16 queries