English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 14 November 2005, 02:42   #1
Peter Artin

G-force Combo030 boot trouble

Hi, I'm new to this, so please excuse me if I seem totally ignorant. I recently got an old Amiga 2000 with a Video Toaster and a G-force combo030 card with a bootable hard drive installed in it. It was kind of dusty and it took a few attempts to start up, but it finally booted up an started up the Toaster. Everything seemed to be working when I foolishly tried to reboot the system and now the thing will not start up while the card is installed. I can remove the card or remove the j2 jumper, disabling the card, and start up from a workbench disk, but nothing I have tried will allow the computer to boot with the card activated. Did I somehow fry the card by attempting to reboot? Is there a way to disable the autobooting function of the card or the hard drive. I'm pretty new to this, so I don't really know my way around too well. Thanks to anyone who might be able to help me out. -P

Old 14 November 2005, 12:55   #2
a_petri

Dear Peter,

having a G-Force Combo 030 myself, I have the following suggestions:

- If your card has GVP SIMM modules on it, try removing them, or at least removing and re-seating them. The SIMM RAM sockets on my G-Force Combo are of very low quality, and do not hold the SIMM modules firmly enough. (I have wedged a thin piece of plastic between the SIMM modules and the cable bundle of the PSU to push the SIMMs better to the sockets, but even this is not a perfect solution.)

- Try removing the plastic guide rail from the A2000 case that is supposed to hold the CPU card upright.
At least my instance of the G-Force Combo seems to be a few millimeters longer than the space provided for it, and while the guide rail was in place, I had to force the card to bend threateningly when I tried to insert or remove it.