English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 November 2014, 15:13   #1
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Running Linux on an A1200?

http://www.bigmessowires.com/2014/11...ss-breadboard/

In the article above, someone gets a 2Mhz 68008 to run a cut down version of Linux.

Given that I have an A1200 with 8mb of fast RAM and a 4Gb CF card. What are my chances of getting some version of Linux installed and running? Of course I'm not expecting X.org to run, just to get to the text console would be fine.
john1979 is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 15:15   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
https://www.debian.org/ports/m68k/

Ran it just fine on my A4000 with 060/RTG but it says that it supports 020+

(Needs MMU though and I think A1200 is EC020)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 15:19   #3
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Thanks. Yeah looks like it needs the MMU so Debian is out for me.

I just found it amazing that he got it running with specs only a little better than a C128.
john1979 is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 15:21   #4
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,099
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
(Needs MMU though and I think A1200 is EC020
It wouldn't matter if it was a non-EC model. The 68020 supported only an external MMU. Perhaps a port of ucLinux would be more appropriate for a RAM expanded A1200.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 15:49   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I wonder how Debian would run on an 030 Amiga? I never really done anything with it, I just followed the install guide and booted it on my A4000/ CSMKII with CV64/3D and X-Surf. Not being a Linux user I had no idea what to do with it lol.

A bit like when I tried MorphOS on my A1200 PPC....
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 15:53   #6
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
I'm going to buy an 030 accelarator, a cheap PCMCIA ethernet card and try it in January. Something cute about having running an A1200 with a light weight web server and SSH on the web.
john1979 is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 15:54   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
I'm going to buy an 030 accelarator, a cheap PCMCIA ethernet card and try it in January. Something cute about having running an A1200 with a light weight web server and SSH on the web.

Please share some pics, etc
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 16:49   #8
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 29
Posts: 350
I managed to get Debian to boot up on my A630, but I get to the login prompt and can't login. Anyone have this problem?
twiggy is offline  
Old 19 November 2014, 16:52   #9
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
I'm going to buy an 030 accelarator, a cheap PCMCIA ethernet card and try it in January. Something cute about having running an A1200 with a light weight web server and SSH on the web.
You could do that with NetBSD/amiga too ... And at least you'd have something decently new and still actively developed for m68k (unlike Linux).

But you'd need an NE2000-compatible PCMCIA network card (NetBSD/amiga doesn't work with 3Coms).
strim is offline  
Old 20 November 2014, 08:34   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
You could do that with NetBSD/amiga too ... And at least you'd have something decently new and still actively developed for m68k (unlike Linux).
How is the gentoo m68k? Is that still maintained?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 20 November 2014, 09:57   #11
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
How is the gentoo m68k? Is that still maintained?
Nope.
strim is offline  
Old 20 November 2014, 10:24   #12
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
You could do that with NetBSD/amiga too ... And at least you'd have something decently new and still actively developed for m68k (unlike Linux).

But you'd need an NE2000-compatible PCMCIA network card (NetBSD/amiga doesn't work with 3Coms).
The maintained driver list is impressive. Looks like BSD has a few Amiga enthusiasts in it's ranks.
john1979 is offline  
Old 21 November 2014, 03:32   #13
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
I'm going to buy an 030 accelarator, a cheap PCMCIA ethernet card and try it in January. Something cute about having running an A1200 with a light weight web server and SSH on the web.
I did this years ago (same spec) but the network wouldn't work with the 3com. But the linux shell was so slow anyway i kind of didn't mind stopping at that point. Tip: you have to disable kickstart remapping on the accelerator board for linux to start.
I had much more fun setting up telnet, samba, ftp etc in amiga os.
Did you already have ssh and http running on amiga os? I bet if you served everything out of ram disk it would perform ok. That would be cuter I think.
rare_j is online now  
Old 21 November 2014, 18:14   #14
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 931
Was there not a version of Linux (Red Hat ?) on a Cover CD
maybe only PPC ?

I looked for Linux on the Amiga Magazine Rack
but nothing shows...
Nobby_UK is online now  
Old 10 December 2014, 15:14   #15
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
I did this years ago (same spec) but the network wouldn't work with the 3com. But the linux shell was so slow anyway i kind of didn't mind stopping at that point. Tip: you have to disable kickstart remapping on the accelerator board for linux to start.
Thanks for the tip. That will probably trip me up eventually so it's good to know. I was hoping the plain shell would be nippy enough on an 030. Maybe I am hoping for too much.

Quote:
I had much more fun setting up telnet, samba, ftp etc in amiga os.
Did you already have ssh and http running on amiga os? I bet if you served everything out of ram disk it would perform ok. That would be cuter I think.
Never done much with an Amiga so far except game. I have a set up a Ubuntu gateway for my home cable broadband. It was fun, but not much challenge given how good Webmin is and the Ubuntu docs.
john1979 is offline  
Old 19 December 2014, 01:36   #16
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 847
I got a raspberry pi not long ago. Linux on that is about 100 times move effective and productive than on an Amiga. And you can just leave it on all the time. Plus it's slightly less expensive and more available than an 030 board...
You could always telnet to it from the Amiga as well.
rare_j is online now  
Old 19 December 2014, 09:48   #17
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 410
True, this is all true what you said. Alas, Raspberry Pi is not Amiga. Some people obviously want to run stuff on their Amigas, even if it is not very productive.

That's how for example NetBSD/amiga survived till today and is still being slowly developed (recently added drivers include X-Surf 100 and ACA500). Even recently when NetBSD project's main web server failed, for a few days www.NetBSD.org was hosted on an admin's private Amiga. It did the job quite well.
strim is offline  
Old 19 December 2014, 11:41   #18
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 643
I wonder if the APUS project is still alive and whether it's possible to get a working image with all updates integrated (bv/cv+scsi+pcmci support)
Michael is offline  
Old 19 December 2014, 12:14   #19
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 30
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
True, this is all true what you said. Alas, Raspberry Pi is not Amiga. Some people obviously want to run stuff on their Amigas, even if it is not very productive.

That's how for example NetBSD/amiga survived till today and is still being slowly developed (recently added drivers include X-Surf 100 and ACA500). Even recently when NetBSD project's main web server failed, for a few days www.NetBSD.org was hosted on an admin's private Amiga. It did the job quite well.
Good timing - being a daily OS X user I really wanted to give a full-fleshed BSD a spin.

Looks like I'll try your (and others) excellent efforts in keeping the NetBSD/Amiga alive during Xmas (along with Amix on UAE, just for funsies).

It even supports the Picasso II! I'll have a blast in installing it on my 4000/040
jbenam is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help running FS-UAE @ 50hz on Linux roboamiga support.FS-UAE 5 10 February 2013 17:30
Help running WHDLoad in A1200 WeiXing3D support.Apps 2 04 July 2012 23:08
How I installed ClassicWB with Linux, an A1200, an A600, and WB2.04 Muzer project.ClassicWB 2 20 September 2009 18:58
Workaround found for running WinUAE under Wine/Linux mark_k support.WinUAE 14 24 November 2008 03:56
Intel powered A1200 hits streets. Runs Linux. alexh Amiga scene 4 11 October 2006 14:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08860 seconds with 13 queries