English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 February 2012, 16:26   #1
NubeCheCorre
Registered User
 
NubeCheCorre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sanremo/Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 70
HOW TO: Create a boot floppy disk to load a bootable partition

Hi

I need your help, i would like to create a boot floppy disk in order to use it to boot a partition instead of entering everytime into early startup menu. (i have two boot partitions in my hard-drive, one with amiga os 4.1 and one with amiga os 3.9)

i formatted a disk, installed the bootblock using diropus 4, everything was ok, then i created two directories inside my floppy disk, C and S. Inside S i created a txt file called startup-sequence, here the code of my startup-sequence:

cd dh1:

execute S/Startup-sequence


Inside C i copied the following files:

Assign
CheckRTG
Execute
GetVolumDev
GuessBootDev
MonitorType
Mount
SetPatch

I took these files from my amiga os 3.9 emergency-disk. What am i missing?
NubeCheCorre is offline  
Old 14 February 2012, 16:56   #2
thomas
Registered User
 
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,002
Given that the destination partition is automatically mounted, you only need Assign in C, nothing else.

Startup-Sequence should look like this:

Code:
Assign SYS:   DH1:
Assign C:     SYS:C
Assign Devs:  SYS:Devs
Assign Fonts: SYS:Fonts
Assign L:     SYS:L
Assign Libs:  SYS:Libs
Assign S:     SYS:S
CD SYS:
Execute S:Startup-Sequence

Edit: actually you don't need C at all if you code Startup-Sequence like this:

Code:
DH1:C/Assign SYS: DH1:
SYS:C/Assign C:   SYS:C
Assign Devs:  SYS:Devs
Assign Fonts: SYS:Fonts
Assign L:     SYS:L
Assign Libs:  SYS:Libs
Assign S:     SYS:S
CD SYS:
Execute S:Startup-Sequence

Last edited by thomas; 14 February 2012 at 17:02.
thomas is offline  
Old 14 February 2012, 18:58   #3
NubeCheCorre
Registered User
 
NubeCheCorre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sanremo/Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 70
thanks i'll try and tell you if it works! thanks again
NubeCheCorre is offline  
Old 18 February 2012, 14:05   #4
NubeCheCorre
Registered User
 
NubeCheCorre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sanremo/Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 70
Thanks it worked without problems!
NubeCheCorre is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to create a bootable floppy disk for Amiga? UK-Wobbie support.Apps 3 25 November 2011 19:03
Amiga Forever bootable partition in Windows 7 64 bits Retrofan support.Amiga Forever 7 20 September 2011 12:16
Simply bootable floppy disk JackTheKnife New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 21 December 2008 00:38
How to create a bootable crossdos adf? MazinKaesar support.WinUAE 5 24 February 2008 02:28
Create SEUCK game boot disk frikilokooo request.Apps 3 18 June 2007 22:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:58.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07549 seconds with 13 queries