English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 June 2020, 17:42   #181
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 637
Depends HOW the core is done.. FPGA doesn't magically make it great
Chucky is offline  
Old 07 June 2020, 17:54   #182
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
@rabidgerry economics of scale do not apply in Amigaland so none of these things will reach any sort of volume production, yet there are some hard costs associated with these products.
I asked StephenL (TerribleFire) once if he was planning a 040 version, but answer was a pretty clear NO.
The nice thing about TF1260 is that you don't pay for Stephens hardware development time, just the components and maybe something for the build of the cards. But components alone are pretty expensive. So a 060 card will never be super cheap, it just can't be done. But yes, you will probably be able to buy one with a CPU installed from some of the guys building it, but it may be a case of "first come, firs served". I'm speculating here.

ACA 1240/60 will probably not be cheap either.. We all know Jens needs to cover development cost. The big advantage there is that ppl can save €100 by choosing a 040 over a rev6 060 but other than that it will likely be an expensive card which also uses a custom cooling solution and build quality is usually high on these and you get a warranty.

The Warp1260 is a really neat piece of hardware. But here you sort of pay for hardware development (which you can guess was a significant effort as its not just a 060 it also has RTG, audio, USB and all these things will be stuff people will want to work more or less out of the box.) There's special software written to make all this work, and that of course was another huge effort. Then we have the components and the custom designed and built cooler. Put it all together and you see it can not be cheap.
Yeah well I wasn't expecting something at €200 Well lets put it this way, I probably would not pay more than what the warp is going for without the CPU. More than that is getting pretty insane. If I can't justify one of these up and coming accelerators cost depending of course then I'm afraid I'm going with the Vampire.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 07 June 2020, 18:57   #183
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 637
well I think it is interesting how people thinks components is free.. also the knowledge of how to solder the damn thing.....
Chucky is offline  
Old 07 June 2020, 19:26   #184
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 1,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
I haven't seen much talk of the capabilities or specs of the ARM CPU on the board. In the long run that might make this in a much different performance class than a nice modern 060 board or any consumer grade FPGA.
A bit here actually.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=102243
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 08 June 2020, 23:36   #185
rabidgerry
Registered User

rabidgerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: N.Ireland/Belfast
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
well I think it is interesting how people thinks components is free.. also the knowledge of how to solder the damn thing.....
Well surely it's a given that small scene builder doing this largely in their own time and using limited resources equals $$££€€

I realise these things cost. I just wish I was as smart as you guys to be able to invent these fantastic additions.

Either way money for either one of these new options is burning a hole in my pocket (i set it aside for the day they come out) and I need to get rid of it before I buy more music equipment!


That's a good video testing the testing the TF1260 btw! I like it!

Last edited by rabidgerry; 09 June 2020 at 10:16.
rabidgerry is offline  
Old 26 June 2020, 04:49   #186
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,776
[ Show youtube player ]



Still waiting for someone to try AmiQuake RTG on this baby...
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 04:27   #187
Akiko
Registered User
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 159
A beautiful and fully featured product, if the real Phase 5 was still around this is the card they would have released today, even the packaging seems to pay homage to the old Blizzard range.

I hope this card will be professionally manufactured and sold by Amiga dealers, one thing that has always annoyed me about the Vampire cards that even tho they have been around for years and enjoyed good demand the Apollo team seem to have deliberately limited production.

My hope is there will be some collaboration in the community so we can reimplement the 68060 into FPGA, if so these cards could be produced for years, and also the more affordable upcoming TF360 would benefit as well.
Akiko is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 04:52   #188
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,776
Yep that's a beautiful dream
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 13:43   #189
Matt020
Registered User

Matt020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiko View Post
the Apollo team seem to have deliberately limited production.
It ensures the product "holds its value".

(it keeps the prices and profits up).

Clever huh.
Matt020 is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 15:42   #190
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,956
There's actually only exactly one thing I don't think I like about the Warp-1260 and that is the way the Amiga audio passthrough works (assuming I understood it correctly). BTW, you can't always get what you want and I understand that, so don't read this comment as me saying it's a bad product or something like that

Everything else is very nice indeed. I'm severely tempted.
roondar is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 16:41   #191
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 637
well. if you do not like that method. how would it be done? you can do it internally aswell.. but there is technically no other way.
Chucky is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 16:49   #192
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
well. if you do not like that method. how would it be done? you can do it internally aswell.. but there is technically no other way.
Just to be clear, it already seems I misunderstood. I watched your video and what I understood from it was that you needed to solder wires from the outputs (albeit inside the A1200) to the inputs on the card. It seems from your reply I misunderstood that.

So before I make more mistakes: can you get the audio throughput without soldering wires? Because in that case my point is basically void.

Anyway, my preferred solution would be to use the Paula audio output pins the A1200 has available on it's expansion slot according to the pinout. But... I'll grant you that no card uses them, so perhaps there's some issue with those pins I'm simply unaware of.
roondar is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 16:51   #193
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 637
no. you can either use the included cable that takes audio from the external RCA.. and you connect your speakers/whatever to the RCA included in the cable..

OR you do a internal hack so you do not need the cables at all.
Chucky is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 16:56   #194
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 210
Chucky have you tested the internal method on your ReAmiga board?

Are the audio levels ok when both Paula and Warp audio are mixed together, one not higher than the other too much?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 16:59   #195
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 637
no haven't tested it yet. need to find time to do it
Chucky is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 17:04   #196
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 210
Ok, maybe sometime you can do a video and show us how it all works.
wiz12 is offline  
Old 30 June 2020, 17:22   #197
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
no. you can either use the included cable that takes audio from the external RCA.. and you connect your speakers/whatever to the RCA included in the cable..

OR you do a internal hack so you do not need the cables at all.
Right, well - I'm man enough to admit when I'm wrong.

I misunderstood this. And it hadn't occurred to me you could simply use an external cable to work around this issue, even though that is super logical.
roondar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blizzard 1260 / Apollo 1260 size liviux76 support.Hardware 2 24 May 2017 17:02
Apollo 1260 or Blizzard 1260? BarryB support.Hardware 74 10 January 2015 17:13
WTB: Blizzard 1260 or Apollo 1260 OldB0y MarketPlace 1 13 April 2010 23:42
Possible trade, Apollo 1260 @ 80mhz for Blizz 1260 Molcos Swapshop 3 13 November 2009 16:13
Apollo 1260 32MB FAST or Blizzard 1260 64MB FAST? prart support.Hardware 36 19 June 2008 00:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09950 seconds with 15 queries