English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 September 2019, 13:27   #21
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,401
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
This thread should be splitted to a new one. I think from post #113.
Predseda is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 13:32   #22
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,894
Yup, will do this but need to think what to call the new thread and where to move.

Edit: done, all post here moved from this thread: Metro Siege: new arcade quality a500 brawler!
DamienD is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 14:25   #23
invent
pixels

invent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 270
Nicely done DamienD, sorry to go off topic

Interesting reading all the tips, tools and techniques, hope to share more info with video tuts once I setup the capture card.
invent is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 16:17   #24
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
It's kind of weird to me no Amiga painting program (or cross platform one) supports colour changes per scanline. It's been part of the IFF spec for many years and should really not be that difficult to implement on real hardware (considering the Copper).

That said, I do like to see this use of Copper colour reloading. I've always thought it makes more sense to reload colours as seen here than by simply using a 'Copper rainbow'.
I always thought it was impossible to reload copperlists "during game", at least to change the Y position of the color-change.

I was really surprised when I begun learning Blitz Basic that *it is* possible. I even wrote a routine that "simulates" vertical scrolling by just changing the color of a single palette entry on different scanlines at each frame.

I don't think commercial games did this too much back at the day. It was either the famous "Rainbow" effect, or games just didn't have vertical scrolling when using it (Like Shadow of the Beast... the levels with vertical scroll didn't have so many colors on screen... or Jim Power).
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 17:26   #25
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 941
Lionheart did it dynamically in those dual playfield levels..
Steril707 is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 17:39   #26
chb
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: germany
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Lionheart did it dynamically in those dual playfield levels..
Yep, it's probably one of the most complex copper lists of all Amiga games... color gradients in foreground + background + perspective scroll, and everything scrolls horizontally and vertically, and even the swamp perspective changes (stretches) when moving up and down. Total masterpiece (even if the cloud scrolling is wrong when you run ).

Apart from that, also Kid Chaos changes at least background colors, and Apano Sin is a vertical scroller that changes palette quite a lot.
chb is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 18:29   #27
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,335
Nothing......

Last edited by Retro1234; 03 September 2019 at 18:35.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 18:46   #28
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 941
If I remember correctly from the Codetapper interview, SWIV also changes copper colours dynamically, transitioning betweens different palettes of areas on the fly.

Nice technique.
Steril707 is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 19:05   #29
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,328
Oh yeah, it's true. Swiv does it very smartly indeed.

I don't remember exactly what it was now, but in Lionheart the effect was really ... weird to me, as platforms actually changed color as they moved. It never felt right IMO.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 19:38   #30
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marle View Post
In Photoshop, under the Image menu change the Mode from RGB to Indexed Colour, that will stop alpha transparency in its tracks too. But you will loose layers functionality. [...]
I never tried animated GIF with Photoshop but with Gimp you can have an indexed colours image + layers. Each and every layers are then combined to animate the GIF.


Last edited by malko; 03 September 2019 at 20:19.
malko is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 20:24   #31
skan
emul-hat0r

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Carnorum Regio
Age: 43
Posts: 183
Dunno if this can be considered in-topic, anyway I found this stuff useful in Photoshop:

http://danfessler.com/blog/hd-index-...g-in-photoshop

ProMotionNG looks cool, gonna check it ASAP!
skan is offline  
Old 04 September 2019, 01:45   #32
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 2,108
XNView loads and saves IIFs, and from memory it can read (but not save) HAM images. It's got a pretty decent palette reducer built in (I also use PSP, but I'm not terribly fond of it's color reduction tools so I tend to use either XNView or something else if needed).
earok is offline  
Old 04 September 2019, 09:27   #33
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
I never tried animated GIF with Photoshop but with Gimp you can have an indexed colours image + layers. Each and every layers are then combined to animate the GIF.

My problem with this feature in Gimp is, that the preview area cannot be enlarged.
Watching a 32x32 animation on a 1280x900 display is challenging, to say at least...
Steril707 is offline  
Old 04 September 2019, 09:36   #34
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
My problem with this feature in Gimp is, that the preview area cannot be enlarged.
Watching a 32x32 animation on a 1280x900 display is challenging, to say at least...
Time to post an RFC then .
malko is offline  
Old 05 September 2019, 13:02   #35
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,894
All copperlist discussion moved here: Copperlist explanation
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tools for creating level maps mcgeezer Coders. General 10 31 May 2018 19:06
Tools and techniques for replacing graphics? earok project.Sprites 15 11 August 2014 23:58
Help Creating a Graphics Lib View bodhi Coders. System 11 15 January 2014 20:49
Chronology of Amiga Graphics Techniques DDNI Amiga scene 0 04 February 2008 20:50
DDFS tools, inserting graphics problems stainy support.Apps 3 16 December 2006 19:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09673 seconds with 15 queries