English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 January 2020, 23:47   #1
nikoskob
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 24
A2000 Zorro slot issues

Hi everyone,

Just a quick question, is the Buster chip responsible for what goes on with the Zorro slot in the A2000? As in, when you insert a card into a slot, does Buster allow the communication lines to open to the rest of the board?

Also, is Buster in anyway responsible for the cpu slot?

Cheers
nikoskob is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 11:35   #2
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,045
yes, buster takes care of communication between the zorro slots and the rest of the machine.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 16 January 2020, 13:20   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,604
More precisely, the Buster in the A2000 handles bus arbitration for Zorro II cards. Basically it allows the cards to request and relinquish 68000 bus ownership for DMA transfers.

The communications lines are open all the time otherwise, most Zorro II cards do not wish to become bus masters.

Edit: and sure, the cpu slot bus mastering also goes via Buster in a B2000.

Last edited by Jope; 16 January 2020 at 13:49.
Jope is online now  
Old 17 January 2020, 01:35   #4
nikoskob
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
yes, buster takes care of communication between the zorro slots and the rest of the machine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
More precisely, the Buster in the A2000 handles bus arbitration for Zorro II cards. Basically it allows the cards to request and relinquish 68000 bus ownership for DMA transfers.

The communications lines are open all the time otherwise, most Zorro II cards do not wish to become bus masters.

Edit: and sure, the cpu slot bus mastering also goes via Buster in a B2000.
Thanks guys, I had a feeling that may be the case, because if I don't have any boards plugged in, board boots without issues, I can get to the pre-boot screen as well, but as soon as I plug a card in, either I will just get a light grey screen, or just the white screen. If I try the pre-boot, doesn't work, or if it does, I get a guru error instead.

I'll look at the Buster chip to see if there is anything out of sorts.

Another question, is it common for Buster chips to fail?

Edit: Just pulled the buster off the board, and noticed that the socket is extremely dirty, almost looks like there is some corrosion, but I think its mainly dirty. I'll replace that and see if there is any difference with zorro cards.

Last edited by nikoskob; 17 January 2020 at 01:39. Reason: additional testing
nikoskob is offline  
Old 17 January 2020, 10:22   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,604
It's not a common failure point in an A2000, but that doesn't mean it can't fail. :-)
Jope is online now  
Old 19 January 2020, 22:54   #6
nikoskob
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 24
Had a good look at the board over the weekend, went over all the traces again, zorro slots, cpu, kickrom, buster, all buzzed out fine, no broken traces or anything

Then I decided to use the logic probe and started checking the address and bus lines next to the cpu slot, and found that one of the 74ls245n chips (U605, PIN5), wasn't pulsing on a bus line like the rest of the pins.

I'm hoping that is the issue, but of course, I don't have any on hand, and no local shops have them in stock

I'll order some and once I replace it, fingers crossed, i'll have working zorro slots

Edit: Sorry, U604, not U605

Last edited by nikoskob; 20 January 2020 at 01:28. Reason: mistake with chip number
nikoskob is offline  
Old 26 January 2020, 05:34   #7
nikoskob
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 24
Finally sorted!!

It was U605, plugged in a new 245N and zorro slots are up at running, only that i butchered the resistor network , but working non the less.

Thanks for the help everyone
nikoskob is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 Zorro Slot Adaptor Daedalus Hardware mods 269 06 February 2020 22:08
Zorro slot on A600? lord of time Hardware mods 9 04 August 2019 21:48
single/seven slot zorro busboard or mediator which do you think lambrettadave support.Hardware 9 12 October 2010 22:59
What sound card (zorro slot) is the best ?? Kristian95 MarketPlace 13 15 September 2007 19:37
Zorro II Card - Zorro III Slot ? THX1138 support.Hardware 4 03 May 2003 12:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06710 seconds with 15 queries