English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 January 2020, 13:20   #1
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 598
How do I setup a large hard drive using hdtoolbox from workbench 3.1

I've setup a fair few 4gb and 8gb cards before (and an 80gb drive using OS3.9) but when working with OS3.1 I've always just kept the partition size to a maximum of about 3.9gb. I generally use the PFS3 file system and am well versed in patching my scsi.device etc.

I have been told a few times that large partitions are possible using HDtoolbox included with OS3.1 and thats what I want to do today.

The main stumbling block I have is how do I tell HDtoolbox to create say a 30gb partition on a 40gb hdd? I have been advised before that its possible if I calculate and manually enter the cylinders but how do I do this? Is there a handy calculator anywhere? Obviously when you define a new drive HDtoolbox shows you the total amount of cylinders and from my googling I understand this is accurate despite the 4gb limits of the program so I think all I need to do is work out how many cylinders I need for my would be 30gb partition?

Is it as simple as for example if there was 40,000 cylinders 30,000 of them would be for the partition? and yes that's an extremely simple example!
Glen M is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 14:32   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
Yep, basically that's it as far as HDToolbox is concerned. Each partition is simply a fraction of the total cylinders size. Be aware of a couple of things though: First, you still need to patch/replace your scsi.device for the new partitions to be properly read and written. Next, don't do a full format (no point anyway). And third, beware of reading the configuration with different versions of HDToolbox as the cylinder count can change based on how it reads the geometry. Newer versions might list more heads, resulting in a lower cylinder count as each cylinder is larger. You can edit the partitions in a newer version but just don't update the geometry (drive definition) of the drive.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 10:06   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,596
Any calculator that has multiplication is handy enough here.

When you define the hard drive, note down the heads + sectors per track from that screen.

When you create partitions, it is cylinders * heads * sectors * 512 to get bytes. Divide by 1024 enough times to get kilo/mega/giga.

As for the scsi.device, you can find many kinds of pre-patched scsi.devices in the classicwb system.hdf .. Choose the one you wish (I suggest 43.45 by Chris/Toni/Christian) and load it from the beginning of your startup-sequence with loadmodule.
Jope is offline  
Old 13 January 2020, 11:44   #4
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 598
Well that was considerably easier than I thought.

One question though. When I open my large partition in workbench the capacity noted at the top of the drawer is wrong. Everything reads fine from within dopus but is there a way to fix it when looking from the drawer?
Glen M is offline  
Old 13 January 2020, 11:54   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,596
Upgrade to 3.1.4(.1) for correct sizes on partitions above 2GB.
Jope is offline  
Old 13 January 2020, 12:16   #6
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Upgrade to 3.1.4(.1) for correct sizes on partitions above 2GB.
Scratch that then as I don't have those roms.

Its working fine as is so I'll just put up with the wrong info displayed for now.
Glen M is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large Hard Drive Partition Question Tempest 2084 support.Hardware 15 27 June 2016 19:27
Using large hard drive on A1200 christopherpm support.Hardware 6 11 April 2013 14:03
Large Hard Drive issues... Info-Seeker support.Hardware 2 08 September 2009 13:07
Getting large hard drive support into Workbench 3.0/1 without idefix Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 13 08 July 2009 00:14
A600 and Large Hard Drive? pvt_beano support.Hardware 14 16 January 2006 13:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07565 seconds with 15 queries