English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 January 2020, 15:00   #161
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,055
Still hoping for this to get full USB stack support, not just mass storage. For now I still need to have a USB zorro card in my machine too.
spudje is online now  
Old 06 January 2020, 16:20   #162
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 979
So the USB Host does not yet have a driver for Poseidon?

I was thinking of getting this and selling off my Deneb/XSurf100/Cybervision64 and consolidate it all in one card.
Locutus is offline  
Old 06 January 2020, 22:30   #163
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,055
No, the USB mass storage driver is handled on the ARM side if I understand it correctly and then presented to the Amiga as a native drive. But I may be wrong here. I haven't installed mine yet, am planning to use it in an AA3000+ (although I know the flickerfixer part is overkill, since the AA3000+ has one too).
spudje is online now  
Old 07 January 2020, 03:38   #164
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
A new firmware for Zorro 2 has been released.

My mouse adapter has died. I'm expecting a new one to arrive within a day or two. I'll be testing this update sometime soon.

I received the new mouse adapter today and I am currently testing the new firmware. Preliminary info:

The ZZ is working fine on my A2000 with the TF534.

I'm currently running in 1024x768, 256 color mode. Free RAM is floating around 5Mb (from 12Mb that I have). Moving windows around: the speed is ok, not great. I'm pretty sure this is because of the limited bandwidth on Zorro 2 bus.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 08:09   #165
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
So the USB Host does not yet have a driver for Poseidon?
Based on what I understand from discussions about this, it might never get one.

However this is open source.. ;-)
Jope is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 14:37   #166
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
I received the new mouse adapter today and I am currently testing the new firmware. Preliminary info:

The ZZ is working fine on my A2000 with the TF534.

I'm currently running in 1024x768, 256 color mode. Free RAM is floating around 5Mb (from 12Mb that I have). Moving windows around: the speed is ok, not great. I'm pretty sure this is because of the limited bandwidth on Zorro 2 bus.
That's interesting to know.....kinda like my setup (A500+ Z-500/TF534)

Pity I would lose 4mb fast if I used the ZZ...currently have 8mb fast)
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 14:53   #167
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark sealey View Post
That's interesting to know.....kinda like my setup (A500+ Z-500/TF534)

Pity I would lose 4mb fast if I used the ZZ...currently have 8mb fast)
Some of the better apps which can make use of RTG are giving me not enough memory errors and won't launch. A pity. I guess more memory is well needed.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 19:58   #168
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
Some of the better apps which can make use of RTG are giving me not enough memory errors and won't launch. A pity. I guess more memory is well needed.
I have a memory fettish lol.....my Furia has 9.5 meg fast...it rocks.

My TF534 only has 4 meg....ive now got a Reference ram to add more....I've seen on here that a ram68k works with the tf534 but its 8mb and I need to leave 256k for my retina graphics card.
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 07 January 2020, 21:39   #169
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Based on what I understand from discussions about this, it might never get one.

However this is open source.. ;-)
Indeed I believe it's not on Lukas' priority list. But, yes, it's open source hardware so maybe somebody is ambitious enough to help us out

I guess it takes two parts:
- Full (low level?) USB stack on ARM side, which probably could be found as open source library for ARM?
- A Poseidon compatible USB device driver.

Unfortunately I don't have the skills
spudje is online now  
Old 09 January 2020, 03:05   #170
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark sealey View Post
I have a memory fettish lol.....my Furia has 9.5 meg fast...it rocks.

My TF534 only has 4 meg....ive now got a Reference ram to add more....I've seen on here that a ram68k works with the tf534 but its 8mb and I need to leave 256k for my retina graphics card.
Ram68k: yes it works. I'm using it. Don't forget the ZZ will chew 4mb of Zorro II ram. You will be left with 8mb of ram but the video card/P96 will require additional memory depending on video mode being used.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 09 January 2020, 10:23   #171
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Based on what I understand from discussions about this, it might never get one.

However this is open source.. ;-)

Ah yeah reading up it might be that not everything is exposed thats needed for a full USB stack support.


And I fear writing USB host drivers might be biting off more then i can chew :-D
Locutus is offline  
Old 09 January 2020, 11:40   #172
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,583
In the end, which USB devices would you need the most? For me it would probably be massstorage and rs232. Ethernet is already provided by the zz9000..
Jope is offline  
Old 09 January 2020, 12:32   #173
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
Ram68k: yes it works. I'm using it. Don't forget the ZZ will chew 4mb of Zorro II ram. You will be left with 8mb of ram but the video card/P96 will require additional memory depending on video mode being used.

The ram68k still in zII space as its sat on the tf534 ?
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 10 January 2020, 02:49   #174
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark sealey View Post
The ram68k still in zII space as its sat on the tf534 ?
Yes it is. But I have the TF534 on the A2000's cpu bus with a cpu relocator. The ram68k is smart enough to determine the amount of ram it allocates - it's placed as the last device in the autoconfig chain.


Although, I believe you can just add ram from the zz's memory pool. No need for a ram expansion. I was chatting with Lukas and he mentioned that he did this while testing on his A500. But the memory can only be added as Zorro II ram.

On an A3000/4000, the memory can be added as Zorro III ram - d*n lucky of them.

I haven't had time to fully experiment with my Amiga (work ). I want to know if the amount of chip ram affects the display. I do find that while using some of the graphics app which support rtg, I always get out of memory errors. Could be having an 8mb Amiga just doesn't cut it. That's why it's recommended on an A2000 to use an A2630 or something else (one of the better 040/060 boards) which has Zorro 3 memory.

The TF536 may be worth looking at especially if you don't currently have an accelerator.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 10 January 2020, 17:05   #175
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
In the end, which USB devices would you need the most? For me it would probably be massstorage and rs232. Ethernet is already provided by the zz9000..
USB hub, mouse & keyboard. I'd like to hook up my big box amigas, PC and RPi to the same USB switch, which has a logitech unify. So I can have 1 keyboard & 1 mouse to control them all (as long as in workbench).
spudje is online now  
Old 10 January 2020, 20:01   #176
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
USB hub, mouse & keyboard. I'd like to hook up my big box amigas, PC and RPi to the same USB switch, which has a logitech unify. So I can have 1 keyboard & 1 mouse to control them all (as long as in workbench).
I'd love something like this as a standalone device, which converts a multi function USB device (such as Logitech Unifying) to native Amiga keyboard and mouse connectors. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 10 January 2020, 20:29   #177
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
In the end, which USB devices would you need the most? For me it would probably be massstorage and rs232. Ethernet is already provided by the zz9000..

Yeah, this is entirely true.....far too reasonable thinking :-D
Locutus is offline  
Old 11 January 2020, 00:14   #178
pgovotsos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 264
Yay! I got a tracking number for my batch 2 card.
pgovotsos is offline  
Old 11 January 2020, 01:01   #179
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgovotsos View Post
Yay! I got a tracking number for my batch 2 card.
Same! Looking forward to seeing how it works in my A4000T as a replacement for the Cybervision64/3d, X-Surf 100 and RapidRoadUSB. Looking to free up a slot as I have more cards than available slots currently.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 11 January 2020, 21:10   #180
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
Same! Looking forward to seeing how it works in my A4000T as a replacement for the Cybervision64/3d, X-Surf 100 and RapidRoadUSB. Looking to free up a slot as I have more cards than available slots currently.
Heh, mine replaced the PIV, X-Surf100+RapidRoad. For the first time I didn't feel at all sad when removing the PIV from a machine. :-D
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MNT VA2000, an Amiga 2000 Graphics Card (Zorro II) mark_k support.Hardware 15 30 March 2017 10:10
AmigaKit.com Product News amigakit.com News 3 31 July 2016 16:50
Product Warning! Mounty MarketPlace 7 14 May 2015 22:02
Help identifying Commodore product ! Foul request.Other 9 25 April 2010 05:17
Need a manual for a Commodore product? Paul_s support.Hardware 13 07 December 2006 18:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10209 seconds with 16 queries