English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 April 2006, 17:37   #1
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Added CD support to Winuae but get no CDDA Sound

I’m trying to look at adding a guide on how to add cd support to workbench 3 in winuae. I’ve looked into this and tried with both AmiCDROM and AmiCDFS2 methods and all works ok.

But, when trying to play an Audio CD with MCDPlay (or one of the other players found on Aminet) the light flashes but I don’t get any sound. Has anyone else managed to get CD Audio to work with WinUAE? And if so, how?
Paul is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 17:47   #2
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Have you got an Audio cable running from your DVD/CD drive to the line in on your audio/motherboard?

There are two ways audio plays from a CD - digital feed that runs data through the main IDE cable and analog feed that runs from the line out on the back of the PCs optical drive to the line in mentioned above.

Perhaps the CD programs are only causing the CD drive to output on the analog line?

If you go the digital route (I think it's possible in WinUAE), you'll need to install AHI audio drivers and select the UAE option.

I haven't done all this in several years, so my memories a bit hazy. If someone can step in with more detailed info then I'm sure Paul would appreciate it!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 17:58   #3
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Have you got an Audio cable running from your DVD/CD drive to the line in on your audio/motherboard?
No cable. It's digital only

Quote:
Perhaps the CD programs are only causing the CD drive to output on the analog line?
That's what I was thinking

Quote:
If you go the digital route (I think it's possible in WinUAE), you'll need to install AHI audio drivers and select the UAE option.
But the cdplayer will need to be compatible with AHI drives, and I have not seen one on Aminet.

This has done my head in now
Paul is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 22:00   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,112
Digital audio can't work with SCSI-emulation. It can only work in CD32-mode.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 April 2006, 11:45   #5
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
Digital audio can't work with SCSI-emulation. It can only work in CD32-mode.
Thanks for the info
Paul is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
record cdda cd32 games with winuae turrican3 support.WinUAE 3 18 January 2015 14:42
winuae cdda access time too slow vs cd32 turrican3 support.WinUAE 9 17 November 2012 05:39
Portaudio support (was: WinUAE support for ASIO drivers) Akira support.WinUAE 57 28 March 2009 22:15
winuae 1.4.3 CD32-CDDA LOOP improvements !!! laser support.WinUAE 10 03 September 2007 19:19
YES YES CD32 cdda LOOP working very fine on WINUAE !! YES laser support.WinUAE 3 15 June 2007 04:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06423 seconds with 13 queries