English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2002, 05:07   #1
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Roll eyes (sarcastic) WinFellow vs WinUAE

I just don't understand. Most of the users here and on other boards talk in WinUAE language. They seem to bend towards it's use exclusively. What's the draw? Everytime I use it my computer crashes or it rejects my settings to some degree, forcing me to back out of it or start all over again.
I'm not trying to bash WinUAE, but WinFellow has NEVER crashed my system, and when I back out of it my settings are retained. 85% of the games I have tried in WinFellow worked right away, with normal sound and picture. I compare it's complexity to that of the IBM vs the Amiga back in the '80s, with WinFellow being the Amiga. Am I alone here?
Enlighten me...:suspiciou
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 January 2002, 07:07   #2
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
Yes and no, that's my opinion. I think it really has to do with the individual computer configs. Really, if you don't have a 1GHz + box I'd say stick with WinFellow. Of course there are always going to be exceptions to this.

Currently I run WinUAE on my primary PC gaming rig, an Athlon T-Bird 1.33GHz, 512MB of PC133 RAM and 80GB of HD space connected to a RAID 0 controller. The video card is a GeForce 2 GTS with the latest WHQL device drivers.

It runs smoothly with Picasso96 running in a 1024 x 768 screen display.

Another thing I like to do is to create multiple folders for each WinUAE config, that is to say, I have a folder for Kick1.2, then another for 1.3, then another for 2.0, etc... Since I have the HD space why not use it, of course it's filling up nicely with TOSEC d/l's as well
jmmijo is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 07:55   #3
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Well, you answered my question. That is some rig you have there. I'm in the minor leagues with my Celeron running at 566 mhz and 32 meg of ram... but you just told me what I needed to know. We need more power Scottie.
Guess I'll go ahead and upgrade like I've procrastinated about so long. 80 gigs of hard drive space? I've got 7! Still, there is only so much I want and need. Every emulation system has it's cream of the crop games or the ones I once owned on the real thing, be it a console, a computer or an arcade quarter machine. Those are all I strive for. Everything else is just useless hoarding to me.
For now Winfellow will suffice...
Thanks jmmijo.
 
Old 23 January 2002, 09:01   #4
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
Hoarding is my middle name :laugh
jmmijo is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 12:42   #5
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I'd rather say quick config and play style.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 14:43   #6
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,241
Question

Dare I say that Winfellow seems a tad more Win9x orientated/friendly with far less bugs/crashes & better designed for less humble non-P3/P4/Athlon mega-power pc's??
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 15:35   #7
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
You might say that Zark, though WinUAE has been made for compatibility and configurability. Too bad it crashes the entire system at times.

And you really don't need a monster computer to run WinUAE. You just need to be lucky with combinations. Very lucky maybe. I've said this many times before but there's definately something wrong when you can go from fluid emulation on a 450mhz with a TNT 2 to almost unplayable by simply upgrading to a Geforce.

It's all about getting lucky it seems.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 23 January 2002, 19:38   #8
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
Sometimes luck plays into this, he says as he searches for wood , but speaking for myself, I enjoy the challenge of getting games/apps/utils to work. This includes both via WinUAE or my real Amigas. I'm a bigtime masachist when it comes to computers and technology in general, especially what is called the Bleeding Edge.

I guess I'm also anal about keeping all my boxes up to date with the latest device drivers and patches for the OS. Perhaps being a LAN/WAN/NT/*nix admin has helped me in this area
jmmijo is offline  
Old 24 January 2002, 02:58   #9
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
No matter what your collecting extremes are, it's no fun to sit and hassle with multiple load settings or system failures just to play a game. Mame is an easy load, so are the Snes and Sega emulators. When I shift over to Amiga emu's I prefer the smoothness of WinFellow.
I have about 350 of the best Amiga games ever made. So far I'm having trouble with 50 of them in WinFellow. That's about 86% to the good. Not bad. The other 14% could just be my not knowing the settings yet...
I'd like to start a thread somewhere on this board aimed at just the WinFellow users to trade settings with and discuss the games that won't work at all.
Anyone interested? :theparano
 
Old 24 January 2002, 03:46   #10
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,286
I get 90 to 95% of games running in Win UAE on a humble P2 350 mhz, with 128 RAM (and on a 4 gig hard drive, I might add ) Then again, I get 99% of games working on Winfellow, without any configuring to do.

So I'm sitting on the fence for this one- it's a tough call.

BTW, RocketMack, isn't there already a Winfellow section on this board? Maybe you can start some sort of sub-section there.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 24 January 2002, 03:58   #11
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Muzkat. I just found the WinFellow section myself. I should have known that a well organized board such as this one would have it already set up.
I'm going there now to start a conversation about running Dungeon Master using WinFellow.
Then I'll move on to the next problem game...
 
Old 24 January 2002, 22:41   #12
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I believe WinUAE will never be able to fix sound emulation. A mistake has been made long ago and they can't seem to be able to fix it. I'm not a programmer but WinFellow seems to have a better solution to sound emulation than WinUAE. I never had any skippy sound with WinFellow and old games run better on WinFellow than WinUAE. you need to set up less options to get something working but on the other hand, WinUAE was around long before WinFellow and that's why everyone is using it.

WinFellow doesn't have AGA emulation yet but it's not a bad thing. They are doing a god job by not trying to add every detail at once in a haste because they may lose what they have earned just like WinUAE's loss after release 0.8.8r9. The development of WinFellow goes steady but not slowly. It's WinUAE which adds tons of useless settings and non working features at once and then release lots of different new versions just to fix problems that exist because they accidentally added it themselves after version 0.8.8r8 WinUAE tried faster floppy emulation and failed. Released some non working JIT versions but at last it's working now. They tried to add load/save state function and it sometimes works right and saves a memory state file that is as big as the emulated memory! . WinFellow feels like an A500 and WinUAE feels like some new amiga model with mixed features. JIT and AGA emulation is why I'm using WinUAE. I like WinFellow without these features and I think WinUAE authors need to set their targets more precisely. If they aim to make a Workbench/JIT/some AGA based emulator they will succeed faster but WinUAE will not be able to run A500 games unless a miracle happens that's why they should either give up OCS/ESC emulation or aim to fix it and work on it like mad. I hope we will have two good emulators one specialised on A500 OCS/ECS and the other for "professional" applications.
 
Old 24 January 2002, 23:15   #13
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 40
Posts: 1,924
Right my 2 cent's worth, WinUAE (The latest version) is the best version they have ever released IMO, while the sound may be jerky for you lot it works fine for me.

I only use three configs, one A500 kick 1.3, one A600 kick 2.0 and finally one A1200 kick 3.1. Sure the odd game will need a slightly different settings to what I always use, but not much tinkering is ever needed. So saying WinUAE is harder to set up than WinFellow just isn't true.

The reason (Win)UAE get's moaned about is because the programmer's (Berndt, Brain, Toni and the other contributors) take risk's, sure something that's added in version 0.8.whatever suck's, but by the time the next version comes out and it's working properly, you'll be wondering how you ever lived without it.

Sometimes you need to take a risk to get anywhere in life and IMO it's to the UAE guys credit that they are willing to do this.

WinFellow is a great emu and should never be compaired to WinUAE, ever and visa-versa. Would you compare Wine to Grape juice?

Both emu's have problem's and for me WinUAE has LESS than WinFellow, or at least there more bearable. Come on for pete's sake, should I really get jerky frame rates with a 1800 Athlon XP?
Ian is offline  
Old 24 January 2002, 23:21   #14
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Right my 2 cent's worth, WinUAE (The latest version) is the best version they have ever released IMO, while the sound may be jerky for you lot it works fine for me.
Comparing it to the earlier versions, I agree that it is. But it could have advanced to this stage maybe a year ago and could have been better by now. Both emus should live. They are good at different features and will be enough to entertain us until the ressurection of Amiga
 
Old 24 January 2002, 23:26   #15
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 40
Posts: 1,924
Surely you jest

The only hope for the Amiga is, some factory in China starting knocking out there own reverse engineered version of the A500

I just wish they'd hurry up about it, I want to buy one with white keys
Ian is offline  
Old 24 January 2002, 23:45   #16
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
Quote:
Originally posted by Ian
Surely you jest

The only hope for the Amiga is, some factory in China starting knocking out there own reverse engineered version of the A500

I just wish they'd hurry up about it, I want to buy one with white keys
Yeah, this would be great, I'd take one with a built-in HD floppy and a nice 10 - 20 GB, 2.5" HD
jmmijo is offline  
Old 25 January 2002, 03:07   #17
RocketMack
 
Posts: n/a
You guys know your machines and emulators well, down to the last setting. But the fact remains that a lot of us do not have or can't afford a PC that is close to achieving human consciousness.

I use WinFellow now because it requires less complication. If I wanted to do cutting edge research I would upgrade my machine and join in with you and the programmers.

I don't go into an arcade to fix the machines. I go there to relax and play some games...
 
Old 25 January 2002, 04:32   #18
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
Quote:
Originally posted by RocketMack
You guys know your machines and emulators well, down to the last setting. But the fact remains that a lot of us do not have or can't afford a PC that is close to achieving human consciousness.

I use WinFellow now because it requires less complication. If I wanted to do cutting edge research I would upgrade my machine and join in with you and the programmers.

I don't go into an arcade to fix the machines. I go there to relax and play some games...
I hear you, but unfortunately, I for one have have this insatiable appetite to fiddle with stuff. Normally I would say, if it aint broke, don't fix it. I can't seem to do this, I'm constantly upgrading and fiddling with all my boxes, PC's, Mac's and Amiga's
jmmijo is offline  
Old 25 January 2002, 11:52   #19
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally posted by RocketMack
Well, you answered my question. That is some rig you have there. I'm in the minor leagues with my Celeron running at 566 mhz and 32 meg of ram... but you just told me what I needed to know. We need more power Scottie.
ONLY 32MB RAM :eek

Thatís probably why you can't run winuae, you need to rip out that 32MB simm and replace it with 128 MB. I don't know how you put up with this low amount of ram.

This is likely the reason winuae crashes on you all the time.

Last edited by Paul; 25 January 2002 at 11:57.
Paul is offline  
Old 25 January 2002, 13:28   #20
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,241
I think I understand (hopefully!),what Burseg was saying though- WinUAE HAD a great core of an OCS/ECS emulator with the 088r8/9 series.
The sound was faultless-things run quickly etc. And no stupid buggy freeze-ups on Win9x machines-it proved it was possible.If they had just tieded it up a little more to enable more games compatibility it could've been regarded as a "finished" version for non-aga systems & then allow them a stable platform to base themselves with to then start on a bells & whistles AGA version.
7-Zark-7 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why use WinFellow instead of WinUAE? S0ulA55a551n support.WinFellow 9 30 November 2010 11:12
can you load WHD zip images (windows) on winuae/winfellow carmel_andrews support.WinUAE 1 03 December 2008 11:18
Which Joystick for WinUAE/WinFellow ? ulli.amitown New to Emulation or Amiga scene 19 22 January 2007 13:14
WinFellow vs. WinUAE amiga support.WinUAE 53 22 February 2006 16:32
WinUae vs WinFellow FallenSeraphin Retrogaming General Discussion 51 22 March 2005 11:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37837 seconds with 12 queries