English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 November 2016, 21:39   #1
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,069
dune II - disk 1 problem

i already tried different sets of adfs, from the zone and from emuparadise. always the same problem.
at some point after disk 2 was loaded, the game asks for disk 1 again. so i insert disk 1. but still:
the game asks me to insert disk 1 which is already inserted. there's something buggy, i guess.
does anyone know where i can get a working set of dune II adfs so i can actually play the game?
honx is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 21:43   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
Game may expect disk in DF0 or DF1.
s2325 is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 21:51   #3
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Dune II supports all 4 disk drives, it shouldn't matter which drive the disk is in. The paradox +1 crack works fine as far as I'm aware.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 21:57   #4
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,069
df0 or df? does no difference. game keeps asking for disk 1 which is already inserted.
honx is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:08   #5
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Well seeing as the set I've just seen on emuparadise appear to be the gamebase amiga set (and I mean that quite literally as the path is emuparadise.me/GameBase%20Amiga/Games/D/Dune%20II%20-%20The%20Battle%20for%20Arrakis_Disk1.zip

There shouldn't be a problem, that set works. Are you using all 4 drives from the start as your post seems to be suggesting you're only using one drive?
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:13   #6
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,069
first i tried one drive (df0, then i tried all four drives (df0 - df3) with disks 1,2,3,4 inserted.
no difference.
honx is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:14   #7
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Can I ask what emulator (and version) you're using?
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:15   #8
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
You need restart of virtual Amiga to use external drives.
s2325 is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:21   #9
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,069
im using winuae 3.3.0 and of coarse i have restarted emulation session.
it seems to work if i select english, so there seems to be a bug in german part.
so i'll need a set of floppy images, where german part of the game is working.
honx is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:24   #10
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
I noticed you were from Austria and already wondered if you'd tried selecting German language, so I tried it for myself and still had no problems.

At what point in the game is it asking for disk 1 and not working, and also can you attach your config file please.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:26   #11
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
Trained Paradox version is marked in TOSEC with "missing file".
s2325 is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:33   #12
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
So it is, although my crc of disk 1 is different from the ones in tosec. honx, try the set in the gamebase amiga directory on the eab ftp and see how you get on.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:46   #13
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,069
thx, the gamebase files work, even in german. found it by the eab search.
Quote:
/Commodore_Amiga/GameBase Amiga 2/Games/D/Dune II - The Battle for Arrakis_Disk1.zip
/Commodore_Amiga/GameBase Amiga 2/Games/D/Dune II - The Battle for Arrakis_Disk2.zip
/Commodore_Amiga/GameBase Amiga 2/Games/D/Dune II - The Battle for Arrakis_Disk3.zip
/Commodore_Amiga/GameBase Amiga 2/Games/D/Dune II - The Battle for Arrakis_Disk4.zip
/Commodore_Amiga/GameBase Amiga 2/Games/D/Dune II - The Battle for Arrakis_Disk5.zip
/Commodore_Amiga/GameBase Amiga 2/Games/D/Dune II - The Battle for Arrakis_Disk6.zip
btw., i'm searching for the german version of dune 1, could only find english ones.
does anyone know, where i can find the german version?
honx is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 22:56   #14
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
Glad it works I must have replaced disk 1 with a working copy at some point, although I can't remember when. As for a German Dune, you can find that on the eab ftp as well in the tosec folder
Belgarath is offline  
Old 03 November 2016, 23:22   #15
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,069
thx, got it!
honx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dune 1 - WhdLoad Problem Thalion project.WHDLoad 31 08 January 2018 21:57
dune 2 help! Mac 1000 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 31 March 2016 23:32
Dune hardsequencer Retrogaming General Discussion 9 29 November 2013 16:41
Dune Anding request.Old Rare Games 18 19 February 2009 18:56
Dune 2 Save Disk Exentia support.Games 4 23 June 2005 17:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08760 seconds with 15 queries