English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 February 2020, 05:09   #1
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 49
Floppy disk IBrowse 2.5 Hangs with ZZ9000 RTG

My system: A2000 TF534 (4mb Z3 ram), 8mb Z2 ram, OS 3.1, ZZ9000RTG, MUI 3.9

Ibrowse launches fine when using a native screen mode, hires-laced for example.

When using an RTG screen mode (I've tried a few different screen modes & different color depth), it won't launch. The last thing Snoopdos shows is the following failure:

PROGDIR:info/ibrowse-logo.i Read Fail

(the name is obviously truncated. it should read xx.ilbm)



Any help resolving my issue is appreciated.

Last edited by ProfPlum; 15 February 2020 at 05:59.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 15:08   #2
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 759
Are you able to use RTG screenmodes for anything else? Is this issue iBrowse specific?
indigolemon is online now  
Old 15 February 2020, 17:22   #3
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
Are you able to use RTG screenmodes for anything else? Is this issue iBrowse specific?
Yes indeed. Many apps work well in RTG mode. This seems to be a IBrowse issue. I am using the demo version of the browser.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 17:49   #4
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 907
Have you tried increasing the stack? Shouldn't make a difference but worth a try.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 15 February 2020, 19:56   #5
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
Have you tried increasing the stack? Shouldn't make a difference but worth a try.
That didn't work, but thank you.


I deleted the ilbm tooltype and the app begins to load. It eventually crashes once again. I suspect there is some incompatibility somewhere.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 22:21   #6
Futaura
Registered User

Futaura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 60
How about IBrowse 2.4 (http://www.ibrowse-dev.net/2.4/download.php in case you don't have it or overwrote it)? Does that work?

Also, what about other MUI applications - do they work on RTG screenmodes?

Finally, I'm curious as to why PROGDIR:info/ibrowse-logo.ilbm does not appear to exist according to SnoopDos - presumably you used the installer to install IBrowse?
Futaura is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 12:45   #7
Robbie
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southbourne
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
My system: A2000 TF534 (4mb Z3 ram), 8mb Z2 ram, OS 3.1, ZZ9000RTG, MUI 3.9

Ibrowse launches fine when using a native screen mode, hires-laced for example.

When using an RTG screen mode (I've tried a few different screen modes & different color depth), it won't launch. The last thing Snoopdos shows is the following failure:

PROGDIR:info/ibrowse-logo.i Read Fail

(the name is obviously truncated. it should read xx.ilbm)



Any help resolving my issue is appreciated.
I'm interested in your system configuration.

You're using 8mb of Zorro II space for fast ram? Does the ZZ9000 not require 4mb of that space?
Robbie is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 14:56   #8
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie View Post
I'm interested in your system configuration.

You're using 8mb of Zorro II space for fast ram? Does the ZZ9000 not require 4mb of that space?
The TF534 has 4mb of Zorro3 memory on board. Couple it with my 8mb ram card minus what the ZZ requires, you got 8mb left (+1mb chip). Of course, RTG/P96 itself sucks a lot of ram too.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 15:35   #9
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaura View Post
How about IBrowse 2.4 (http://www.ibrowse-dev.net/2.4/download.php in case you don't have it or overwrote it)? Does that work?

Also, what about other MUI applications - do they work on RTG screenmodes?

Finally, I'm curious as to why PROGDIR:info/ibrowse-logo.ilbm does not appear to exist according to SnoopDos - presumably you used the installer to install IBrowse?

Physically, the file is there. And yes I used the installer.
Good point about other mui apps and rtg. I haven't tried anything. I'll try to research what apps are mui compatible and attempt to run them in rtg, when time permits, maybe tonight.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 17:22   #10
Robbie
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southbourne
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
The TF534 has 4mb of Zorro3 memory on board. Couple it with my 8mb ram card minus what the ZZ requires, you got 8mb left (+1mb chip). Of course, RTG/P96 itself sucks a lot of ram too.
I could be wrong.. but the ZZ card uses 4mb of address space in Zorro 2 systems. This is taken from the 1gb of memory on the graphics card itself. You are using an 8mb RAM card in this space, and this could be causing a conflict between the two. I would at least try changing the jumper settings on your RAM card to 4mb, or removing the card altogether, to see if this solves your problem.
Robbie is offline  
Old 18 February 2020, 18:46   #11
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie View Post
I could be wrong.. but the ZZ card uses 4mb of address space in Zorro 2 systems. This is taken from the 1gb of memory on the graphics card itself. You are using an 8mb RAM card in this space, and this could be causing a conflict between the two. I would at least try changing the jumper settings on your RAM card to 4mb, or removing the card altogether, to see if this solves your problem.
I am using a ram68k 'module'. It auto-configs st the end of the chain (last device) and is smart enough to only allocate 4mb of ram to itself.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 03:06   #12
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
Physically, the file is there. And yes I used the installer.
Good point about other mui apps and rtg. I haven't tried anything. I'll try to research what apps are mui compatible and attempt to run them in rtg, when time permits, maybe tonight.
I believe pagestream uses MUI. It works fine. LEt me see if I can find some other apps to try.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 17:31   #13
Spymate
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Hey,

I have exactly the same problem.
What I found out is that I don't have this problem when I use the latest old version of picasso96 drivers. Version 2.0
But this version is very unstable and gives a purple screen after a reset.

Which means that the problem is with the new P96 drivers.

My setup:
A2000 rev. 6.2 ECS
Kickstart 3.1 + WB 3.1
A2630 4mb + BigRam 112mb
Buddha IDE
ZZ9000
Spymate is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 17:40   #14
Futaura
Registered User

Futaura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spymate View Post
I have exactly the same problem.
What I found out is that I don't have this problem when I use the latest old version of picasso96 drivers. Version 2.0
But this version is very unstable and gives a purple screen after a reset.

Which means that the problem is with the new P96 drivers.
Maybe, but give IBrowse 2.4 a try too. There were some changes for 2.5 which might be the problem.
Futaura is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 17:42   #15
Spymate
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futaura View Post
Maybe, but give IBrowse 2.4 a try too. There were some changes for 2.5 which might be the problem.
I have the same problem with AWeb and Voyager so I don't think it's up to Ibrowse 2.5.
But I'm going to try.

edit: unfortunately ibrowse 2.4 has the same problem

Last edited by Spymate; 19 February 2020 at 18:50.
Spymate is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 19:15   #16
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 49
Does icomp currently own P96? If so, has anyone reported the issue to Jens?
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 19:31   #17
Spymate
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
Does icomp currently own P96? If so, has anyone reported the issue to Jens?
Yes, icomp has the rights to Picasso96.

I had already emailed icomp and I got the following response:

----
we don't support the zz9000 - Lukas from mntnm does. Please contact the
maker of that card; he already knows about networking issues, according
to a forum entry in our support forum.
----

Icomp does not want to help.
I still think it's the Picasso drivers.
Spymate is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 21:17   #18
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 480
iComp is providing P96.
mntmn is providing the drivers for the card.


It's like saying Microsoft should update DirectX since a driver for your Radeon doesnt work.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 19 February 2020, 22:21   #19
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 49
Thank you everyone. I'll ping Lukas this evening and get his feedback.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 20 February 2020, 05:01   #20
Spymate
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
iComp is providing P96.
mntmn is providing the drivers for the card.


It's like saying Microsoft should update DirectX since a driver for your Radeon doesnt work.
Then why is the old picasso96 2.0 working and the latest p96 2.4.4 is not ?
Then I still suspect the Picasso software.
Spymate is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
buzzbuzz68
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New product: MNT ZZ9000 mntmn support.Hardware 215 19 February 2020 03:55
ZZ9000 vs Mediator OSH support.Hardware 11 06 September 2018 05:48
Program hangs and not sure why quahappy Coders. AMOS 14 27 June 2015 23:49
X-Out strange hangs haynor666 project.WHDLoad 2 30 August 2008 12:44
IBrowse 2.4 - It's almost done! Paul News 12 23 December 2006 03:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08740 seconds with 15 queries