English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

Old 21 July 2019, 22:18   #1
Mick

Amiga 600 schematics nearly put into Kicad

Hi all,

I started playing around with Kicad a few weeks ago after being impressed by Kai's memory converter PCB, it encouraged me to play around in Kicad trying to make my own and even though it was just a connecting dots exercise it allowed to me learn a bit of Kicad.

So a few days ago I was delusional or something and so I thought about building an A600 board using the R2 schematics available here. I've successfully (I think) managed to replace the video DAC with a newer version and I was maybe going to make an A600 in A1200 footprint with the A1200 keyboard controller but I don't really know how lmao.

The problem is at this point there's something like 200 errors showing in electrical test which has destroyed my morale I think they're because I haven't assigned inputs/outputs properly (I just left nearly everything as inputs) or maybe because I haven't finished doing connectors (PCMCIA/IDE/expansion) and although I don't think it would affect a PCB I think I'd struggle to do the layout part anyway, even though I've made some footprints for 23pin etc. I also don't have a board on hand to measure or anything.

As I'm reaching the point of giving up I've upoaded all of the files into the Zone with Footprints and Symbols, file name is Amiga600LMAO.zip which was how I rated my chances of success before starting. Hopefully others can finish the job. I probably did some things wrong but it's better than starting from a blank slate I guess?

Maybe Chucky or someone will find it helpful.

Like I said files are uploaded to the zone knock yourselves out and maybe fix it.

Cheers.
Michael
Old 22 July 2019, 09:56   #2
Mick