English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 September 2017, 10:49   #1
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Occasional no signal from a1200

I have noticed that once in a while, when I switch on my A1200 with Indivision MK1, I get a no signal error on my benq 702a monitor but I can hear my a1200 floppy drive clicking away. If I switch the monitor back off and on I still get no picture, but if I switch the a1200 back off and on, it works fine. Ideas?
Nostromo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 September 2017, 10:56   #2
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Update: if I do a soft reset after no signal, then it works fine

Update 2: I have tightened the VGA cable to the Indivision MK1 connector and *so far* the no signal issue did not happen again, makes no sense to be honest.

Last edited by Nostromo; 08 September 2017 at 11:41.
Nostromo is offline  
Old 09 September 2017, 03:36   #3
fordav1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 76
1. Set a VGA-compatible screen mode like Productivity then save it. Remove the MK1 and see if you get an output at first power on from the normal Amiga video connector (assuming you have a DB23-HD15 adapter). If you have a monitor capable of receiving a 15kHz signal use one of the common Amiga video modes. If it works without the MK1 then you may have a suspect connection to the A1200 board where it plugs in on top of Lisa chip. Check the socket and re-seat the MK1.

2. On the A1200 the reset signal is a software-based one and comes from Gayle. That is why a Ctrl-A-A takes a couple of seconds to actuate. Check around the surface-mount capacitors near the power connector and in the middle of the board to the left of the DRAM. If it looks grey-ish or green-ish or crusty then you have the beginnings of leaky capacitors and if left alone will continue to eat away at the motherboard and eventually you'll have a dead A1200.
fordav1 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Occasional bus error during PCI transfers Hedeon support.Hardware 4 16 July 2017 01:08
Occasional Red Screen Kiskstart 3.1 ScottC2010 support.Hardware 7 02 June 2017 03:51
Occasional green/pink tint on A1200 pedrorq support.Hardware 5 30 May 2014 12:22
A1200 no Composite or RF signal paul773car support.Hardware 8 21 December 2009 00:49
A1200 and RCA video out - no signal JackTheKnife support.Hardware 12 06 December 2009 22:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10797 seconds with 12 queries