English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 29 April 2017, 01:34   #1
IrY100Fan

A1200/AGA Bus Bandwidth Curiosity Question

Hi Everyone,

Have a technical question about the A1200...

I noticed that when I bump with the number of colors on the workbench screen from the standard 4 to 256, the redraw rate is very slow. I always assumed that this was because a stock A1200's '020 just couldn't keep up. I recently bought an ACA1233n accelerator ('030 @ 40MHz) and noticed that it is still slow at redrawing the desktop. Yes, it is slightly faster than a Stock A1200 but not as quick as I thought it might be.

Is the effect I'm seeing related to the AGA bus being bandwidth limited or is the '030 still the bottleneck? (FYI, I'd love to hear any technical details about why. I am an electronics engineer by trade and love the juicy, intimate details about this stuff. I'm just not well versed on the AGA chipset.)

Thanks.
-Brian
Old 29 April 2017, 01:44   #2
alpine9000

Yes, the bitplane data is read from chip ram via dma, so CPU won't help much there.
Old 29 April 2017, 02:23   #3
Daedalus

Indeed, the custom chips read their data from chip RAM directly, so the CPU isn't normally involved. Also, this chip RAM is synchronous with the custom chip's own clock, which is ~14MHz on an A1200, and is critical for the generation of video and pretty much every other signal, so can't really be changed. The accelerator's clock can be more or less anything (in your case 40MHz), but that's local only to the accelerator board, and so only affects the CPU itself and anything else that's on the accelerator board (fast RAM, SCSI etc.); the motherboard clock is unaffected.