English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2016, 20:57   #61
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,103
My guess is it wouldn't even boot up with the original KS 3.1 ROM to be able to copy and modify it for it's use. That is why they have to do that and flash it to the card.
TjLaZer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 February 2016, 23:57   #62
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanP View Post
First because the Vampire 2 uses a patched version of the 3.1 ROM to improve compatibility and performance.
I see, thanks a lot for explaining. It would be cool if eventually we could patch our own versions of that ROM with the additions we want like with regular ROMs.
Akira is offline  
Old 06 February 2016, 00:55   #63
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
my guess would be that it has something to do with the time the vampire needs to configure it self, It needs time to load the core and then it starts acting like a cpu.
voyager is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 12:32   #64
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via Skype™ to KONEY
I get no reply to email for ordering, is it normal or should I worry?

BTW latest website news (yesterday) say they have a batch in production and some kickstarts already licenced to be provided and included with the board. That is after all a nice solution IMO.
KONEY is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 12:35   #65
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,715
Would it be possible to do a all in one board minimig+vampire total replacement ATX board
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 13:26   #66
majsta
www.majsta.com
majsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Banjaluka/Republic of Srpska
Age: 36
Posts: 424
@Boo Boo
I ll just do quick copy paste what I have wrote today on some other forum:
Quote:
Normally we will build V500/V1200/V4000 and lot of the things are done. I m satisfied how designing is going because we are doing lot of things in parallel. But it is only matter of time when project will go beyond being "just" an accelerator and become standalone system. In fact right now Vampire card with few soldered wires can behave as a standalone system. Right now no one can compete with our design and only right way to go is standalone system and that makes perfect sense. For standalone system we want to aim for much higher values than on accelerators. Start thinking about Apollo core and ASIC and start thinking about gigahertz 68k and lots of ram. For that part of the story we will need to find good and trusted partners and we made some good contacts so far.
majsta is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 13:52   #67
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,715
Me wants now - seriously this is good news
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 14:44   #68
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONEY View Post
I get no reply to email for ordering, is it normal or should I worry?

BTW latest website news (yesterday) say they have a batch in production and some kickstarts already licenced to be provided and included with the board. That is after all a nice solution IMO.

Hi, The updates page does explain the process, mabbe i will just try to setup a message received option or something
kipper2k is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 17:53   #69
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Hi All,

I have been looking at some of the other threads and i would like to comment on them in this thread rather than hijack their threads.

It has been the intention of the Apollo team to produce something that is both affordable and competitive with the other accelerator options that are available. The price point of the Vampire i think is set at a level that is affordable to most users and the architecture is such that it is capable of being improved. I believe that whether you are pro CPU or pro FPGA it is hard to argue with the benefits of the Vampire, what it cannot do today it can probably be fixed tomorrow.

We are setting up a public SVN to encourage people to develop and to promote feedback in public forums. Future development plans include the A500/A2000 and the A1200. Discussions will follow as to the remaining models. As a natural progression of the Apollo core a standalone Natami 2 style version is also on the discussion board with massive specs.

Last edited by kipper2k; 08 February 2016 at 18:01.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 17:56   #70
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by majsta View Post
@Boo Boo
I ll just do quick copy paste what I have wrote today on some other forum:
Natami finally rises from the dead ;-)
It would be a cool board to put inside those new A1200 cases, btw. . 😉
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 18:46   #71
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 729
Aga?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Yes, it is a planned upgrade (SAGA) Super AGA along with other upgrades, for a while the A600 will sit at the top of the pile until the other models get their facelift

here iis another little video ...

https://vimeo.com/152867182
Is this running in AGA? Looks pretty amazing that's for sure.
trydowave is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 19:06   #72
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 891
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by trydowave View Post
Is this running in AGA? Looks pretty amazing that's for sure.
No. It's 65536-color chunky on a not-yet-released P96 driver at 720p.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 19:09   #73
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via Skype™ to KONEY
Ok, thanks. This would also prevent you the hassle of receiving duplicate request

Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Hi, The updates page does explain the process, mabbe i will just try to setup a message received option or something
KONEY is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 06:19   #74
ovale
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 137
For development purpose would be it useful to have a reconfigurable system where one can decide to run a plain 68k with a certain amount of plain fast RAM.
Is something that is planned for the vampire 2?
ovale is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 15:09   #75
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovale View Post
run a plain 68k with a certain amount of plain fast RAM.
Amish style
This option should have an icon with a bearded guy with a black hat.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 16:10   #76
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovale View Post
For development purpose would be it useful to have a reconfigurable system where one can decide to run a plain 68k with a certain amount of plain fast RAM.
Is something that is planned for the vampire 2?
It would be cool to have kind of a modular approach to enabling/disabling expansions on the Vampire, as you say, to test different setups. Plain 68k with nothing on it, 68k with some Fast RAM, "A1200 setup" with no fast RAM and AGA enabled (to play AGA games off floppy for example!), etc., all changeable on the Amiga by software.
Akira is offline  
Old 09 February 2016, 16:14   #77
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via Skype™ to KONEY
well that would be the exact purpose of an emulated core system
KONEY is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 00:27   #78
SkulleateR
Registered User

SkulleateR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 243
Yay, A600 ft. all other Amiga models in one (very small) case

I LOVE that idea
SkulleateR is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 11:17   #79
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
I've said this already in some other threads - gimme an A600 with AGA and I won't need any other Amiga model. EVER It's the most versatile of Amigas thanks to PCMCIA, easy to expand and doesn't take your entire desk, compared to an A500/A1200.

As soon as the Vampire II gets AGA, I'm gonna rush out, buy one and make it my main system
jbenam is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 23:02   #80
Akiko
Registered User
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 132
Is there any chance of a Vampire CD32 comming later down the line?
Akiko is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire 600 and floppy issues Firestone support.Hardware 15 22 March 2017 18:11
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator - Vampire 600 majsta Hardware mods 736 18 July 2016 18:31
Vampire 600 more cores.. Turran support.Hardware 48 14 January 2015 17:39
Vampire 600 wierd issues Retro support.Other 4 05 September 2014 22:36
Vampire 600 troubles Viserion support.Hardware 21 10 December 2013 20:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24538 seconds with 13 queries