English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 January 2016, 22:16   #41
Khyron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SnowLand, Canada
Posts: 71
@Kipper2k

Have you started taking "store" orders yet for the Vampire 2?
Khyron is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 January 2016, 00:25   #42
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
@wawa what possible legal ramifications are you foreseeing here?
as long as sales figures are low probably none. and maybe im seeing ghosts. simply all these legal debates around, especially lately, like r.schmidt considering bundling of his p5 ppc rom images with amiga forever illegal while refrainig from any action against it, the leak of amiga os3 source code and the legal threats acompanying this, controverse about mui headers, as well as just lately some rumble about a passage from aros datatypes make me a bit over sensible in this respect. but it appears that this scene stands and falls with issues like these.

anyway in respect to the potential future stand alone system it is reasonable to solve kickstart licensing issues in advance. so maybe including the rom image from the start is a wise move.
wawa is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 00:51   #43
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Question, why can't the computer's ROM be loaded onto Flash by the Vampire itself on first boot or something? You have the ACA accelerators basically copying the computer's ROM to Fast RAM on it, can't you do likewise with the Vampire?

Another question about this: does this mean Vampire will not be possible to use with custom kickstarts we make with our own kickstart images??

This is what's awful about these copyright scavengers, they are actually one of the problems of the Amiga scene. To think idiots at Hyperion or Cloanto can possibly hurt, bother or affect development of a fine board like the Vampire pisses me off to no end.

Anyone buying shit from Cloanto should hang their heads in shame for perpetuating problems related to kickstarts and independent software and hardware developments for classic Amigas.
Akira is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 02:26   #44
voyager
The show must go on.
voyager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alkmaar Nederland
Posts: 237
Send a message via MSN to voyager
Quote:
Originally Posted by wawa View Post
as long as sales figures are low probably none. and maybe im seeing ghosts. simply all these legal debates around, especially lately, like r.schmidt considering bundling of his p5 ppc rom images with amiga forever illegal while refrainig from any action against it, the leak of amiga os3 source code and the legal threats acompanying this, controverse about mui headers, as well as just lately some rumble about a passage from aros datatypes make me a bit over sensible in this respect. but it appears that this scene stands and falls with issues like these.

anyway in respect to the potential future stand alone system it is reasonable to solve kickstart licensing issues in advance. so maybe including the rom image from the start is a wise move.
Shut up meg.
voyager is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 03:28   #45
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khyron View Post
@Kipper2k

Have you started taking "store" orders yet for the Vampire 2?
Hi,

At the moment i have 2 boards left, the initial batch was a small batch of 20 that was bought for testing. The board proved good and i have shipped 12 and will ship 2 more tomorrow. The rest of the boards are in use by the team.

My main board order has been submitted and is in the process of being partially assembled (to save time). This order should be in my hands hopefully within the next 10 days. There are enough boards to satisfy all requests at this time. Chinese New Year is right around the corner so fingers crossed they get out before their celebrations start. for specific info please see my webpage www.kipper2k.com

I think the roms issue has been discussed and explained fully, it is what it is and if we can make it easier... we will.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 04:18   #46
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Will the Vampire 2 have a monitor switcher to switch from on board ECS video modes to the High Color modes on the card via HDMI?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 04:42   #47
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Will the Vampire 2 have a monitor switcher to switch from on board ECS video modes to the High Color modes on the card via HDMI?

Hi,

ATM i am using a scart input (for ECS) and a hdmi input for P96 display on my TV. Once SAGA is done then all native modes will be able to be displayed through the digital output and paula audio
kipper2k is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 04:45   #48
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Excellent. Hope I can get one in the next batch. (Hope I'm on the list)
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 04:49   #49
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Excellent. Hope I can get one in the next batch. (Hope I'm on the list)
if you sent me an email you are, i answer emails as i get close to delivery and update where i am as regards email requests. I cant answer all my email, it is so time consuming that i goi g through bit by bit so please be patient.

If you pre-ordered on amibay with Majsta then he will be looking after it
kipper2k is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 05:36   #50
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
I sent you an email about it and hope you got it, as I got no reply! Hopefully it didn't get buried below my queries about the CD32 adapter
Akira is offline  
Old 28 January 2016, 10:04   #51
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
Eye rolling thumbs down to paid updates, thumbs up to a community-supported GitHub repository.
wXR is offline  
Old 01 February 2016, 03:37   #52
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
impressive !!! warcaft 2 on amiga 600 with a vampire 2 !!!
[ Show youtube player ]
Really impressive !!!
turrican3 is offline  
Old 01 February 2016, 03:45   #53
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by wXR View Post
Eye rolling thumbs down to paid updates, thumbs up to a community-supported GitHub repository.

Wow,

do you not think the authors of Picasso deserve to be paid for their work... Did you not pay for WHDload ?.

You have to pay for some things, and i think that this is one of those things. As regards paid updates, what do you think you need to pay for exactly ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 13:54   #54
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via Skype™ to KONEY
Does the Vampire 2 has a MANDATORY output or is it still possible to display from original RGB port?
KONEY is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 13:56   #55
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via Skype™ to KONEY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
This is what's awful about these copyright scavengers, they are actually one of the problems of the Amiga scene. To think idiots at Hyperion or Cloanto can possibly hurt, bother or affect development of a fine board like the Vampire pisses me off to no end.
Anyone buying shit from Cloanto should hang their heads in shame for perpetuating problems related to kickstarts and independent software and hardware developments for classic Amigas.
Wisest thing to say, couldn't agree more.
KONEY is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 14:00   #56
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 920
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONEY View Post
Does the Vampire 2 has a MANDATORY output or is it still possible to display from original RGB port?
The SuperAGA core and the P96 mode require the HiDef output. Since they're not yet released, you're stuck with ECS for now.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 14:02   #57
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 295
Send a message via Skype™ to KONEY
I'm not interested in other display modes, I just don't want to be forced to change monitor. Thanks
KONEY is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 17:11   #58
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
I still got some questions I hope can be answered.

First, what I asked before: why can't the ROM be copied from the computer at boot up? Does the current situation mean the Vampire will not work with custom Kickstart ROMs made with rebus or whatever? Will it work in the future?

A new question: would the internal SD card storage replace or ADD to the system a storage device? With this I mean, would it replace the internal IDE port or can we use both IDE storage AND the SD card interface (whenever it works)?
Akira is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 21:27   #59
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by KONEY View Post
Does the Vampire 2 has a MANDATORY output or is it still possible to display from original RGB port?
The question should be will the Vampire 2 have an option to allow output of native Amiga graphics via the legacy analogue video ports after SAGA is fully implemented.

I don't know the answer, I hope it will but it would add more complexity to the core.
IanP is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 21:41   #60
IanP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bristol/UK
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I still got some questions I hope can be answered.

First, what I asked before: why can't the ROM be copied from the computer at boot up? Does the current situation mean the Vampire will not work with custom Kickstart ROMs made with rebus or whatever? Will it work in the future?

A new question: would the internal SD card storage replace or ADD to the system a storage device? With this I mean, would it replace the internal IDE port or can we use both IDE storage AND the SD card interface (whenever it works)?
First because the Vampire 2 uses a patched version of the 3.1 ROM to improve compatibility and performance. It won't work with custom Kickstart ROMS unless they are similarly patched. In the future perhaps you will be able to sacrifice performance and run config software at start-up.

You will be able to use both the SD Card and any other storage devices you have connected to your Amiga. It's just another storage device. I don't no how the driver will be handled. It could be an auto-config device with it's own ROM, the 3.1 ROM could be patched with a driver or it could be a driver that's loaded from another storage device.
IanP is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire 600 and floppy issues Firestone support.Hardware 15 22 March 2017 19:11
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator - Vampire 600 majsta Hardware mods 736 18 July 2016 19:31
Vampire 600 more cores.. Turran support.Hardware 48 14 January 2015 18:39
Vampire 600 wierd issues Retro support.Other 4 05 September 2014 23:36
Vampire 600 troubles Viserion support.Hardware 21 10 December 2013 21:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27690 seconds with 13 queries