English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2016, 04:57   #1
ifrit05
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 21
A500 Upgrade Options

Hey all. Decided to look at my options with my v5 NTSC Amiga 500.

The Floppy drive has long since died and I am using a Gotek Emulator.

I also bought a 3.1KS ROM a while ago but I haven't really used it since a lot of games don't run quite right with it.

I emailed kipper2k about his 8MB FastMem board.

If I get the FastMem board should I go with the 2.05KS or use the 3.1KS that I have? I 'm not that great at soldering and the mod I did to enable the 3.1KS to be used in the v5 NTSC A500 isn't the prettiest of mods... Lol.

Any help would be appreciated.

EDIT: Would love to get my hands on a 600 or 1200... Just can't find any at the usual places. I would love to set up a dedicated Amiga Classic OS machine and use the 500 as a backwards-compatible gaming machine.

Last edited by ifrit05; 11 February 2016 at 06:52.
ifrit05 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 February 2016, 12:32   #2
happymondays
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Szeged
Posts: 158
Hi, Regarding upgrades, IMHO you should wait a couple of months and buy a Vampire 500 board when it's out and get all your current problems solved at once. It will most probably be the cheapest and definitely the best solution.
happymondays is offline  
Old 11 February 2016, 13:05   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
If you do get the fastmem board then I would use the 3.1 rom + get yourself a rom switcher & 1.3 rom?

If it's the fastmem board I'm thinking of, then it comes with a CF slot for a HardDrive. You can definitely run the 68k CWB with that and the 3.1 rom.

Is your A500 (1.3) or the Plus (2.04) version?
Arnie is offline  
Old 11 February 2016, 19:42   #4
ifrit05
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 21
I just found out about the Vampire for the A500, it's got me all excited lol.

My A500 is the normal v5, not a plus.
ifrit05 is offline  
Old 11 February 2016, 19:53   #5
SkulleateR
Registered User

SkulleateR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 243
Guess you then have to wait a little bit before you can upgrade
SkulleateR is offline  
Old 11 February 2016, 23:03   #6
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,175
A500 Upgrade Options

Kick 3.1 is better compatible than 2.x for games. I have an ACA500 on mine and it's awesome but a Vampire 2 will be amazing!
TjLaZer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 upgrade options? Doctor Clu Hardware mods 10 15 October 2014 19:45
A590 with 6.1 ROM SCSI Upgrade Options kire_online support.Hardware 4 05 December 2011 01:24
Upgrade options on my 4000D Megamix support.Hardware 3 17 February 2010 12:44
A4000D upgrade options squidbass Amiga scene 13 29 November 2009 22:31
A1200 & Upgrade options DeltaWolf7 support.Hardware 1 03 September 2002 14:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14784 seconds with 12 queries