English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 August 2008, 06:59   #1
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 553
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
Winuae 1.5.1 - Crash Detected

Hi All,

So when I install and run the new 1.5.1 all I get is a crash with a minidump file. I can go back to 1.5.0 and all is well (well, as well as it was for me which means I still had problems loading and saving configs.)

Is this a good place to post or is there a more correct way to get the crash info to Toni?
illy5603 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 August 2008, 09:36   #2
smoorke
Registered User
smoorke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ghent/Belgium
Age: 36
Posts: 247
Send a message via MSN to smoorke
attach any files produced by winuae and you're in the clear.
(winuaebootlog.txt, winuaelog.txt, #?.dmp)
Also perhaps tell us more about your system. (kind of graphics card, type of processor, OS version, ...)

Last edited by smoorke; 14 August 2008 at 09:42.
smoorke is offline  
Old 14 August 2008, 09:39   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,176
Just attach the dump. 1.5.0+ crash dumps include winuaebootlog.txt automatically.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 August 2008, 02:06   #4
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 553
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
Here ya go. It is an iMac running Windows XP in bootcamp. This is not a virtual PC but a mac that is running Windows XP. The only thing "Custom" I did was to load the ATi Mobility Radeon control panel so I could force the correct aspect ratio for 800X600 as opposed to streeeeetttccchiiing it across a 16X9 widescreen monitor.

Running GBA with default config as well as my emulated A1200 with ClassicWB advanced are all working under 1.5.0 and I even managed to fix my loading and saving of configurations by unchecking the cached config option.
Attached Files
File Type: dmp winuae_1510_20080814_155740.dmp (49.3 KB, 125 views)
illy5603 is offline  
Old 15 August 2008, 16:31   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,176
This dump file does not make sense..

Did you try updating directx? It seems your DX installation is really old.

(http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...a-9b6652cd92a3)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 August 2008, 19:44   #6
Dic_Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 96
Dear Toni,

I have the same problem.

First I updated DirectX. I tried WinUAE 1.5.1 with AmiKit and Amiga Forever 2008 on my 24" iMac Mid2007 version.

Every time it crashes.
The last beta I tried worked.

What could be the reason. iMac doesn't have a real BIOS but an EFI. Could this cause any trouble with the new version?

Kind regards
Dic Ray
Dic_Ray is offline  
Old 15 August 2008, 19:53   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,176
Update DirectX, make sure Windows is fully updated, then install debugging tools for windows (http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/devtoo...nstallx86.mspx , it has improved crash dump library that hopefully creates better dumps..) and attach crash dump again.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 August 2008, 20:17   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,176
Bios type shouldn't matter, WinUAE only uses Windows API.

Another test: run winuae with -log parameter ("winuae.exe -log") and copy&paste last ~10 lines in log window when it crashes.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 August 2008, 20:52   #9
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,288
Toni,

every time I lock the workstation while WinUAE is working WinUAE will crash.

I don't remember this being the case before. (will test later older versions)
Anubis is offline  
Old 16 August 2008, 15:13   #10
devilhood
 
Posts: n/a
Toni, Version 1.5.1 Final is totally unusable for me. The last version that worked fine was 1.5.1 RC1.
WinUAE crashes without fail when launching the emulation and/or selecting Input within the GUI.
Windows complains that DEP has closed the application, so perhaps something in the recent version is doing something a bit naughty.

Latest DX9 August Redist and all Windows updates are installed.

Specs:

Vista Ultimate OEM
4 GB RAM
Dell XPS M1530 Laptop
GeForce 8600M GT
177.89 Forceware

Also, quick question: is there any way to enable 4-joypad support so that games like Sneech and Masterblaster can utilize 2 extra pads without the need to use Joy2Key.

Cheers,

P.
Attached Files
File Type: zip winuae_1510_20080816_130833.zip (13.0 KB, 130 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (19.3 KB, 144 views)
File Type: txt DxDiag.txt (51.3 KB, 114 views)

Last edited by devilhood; 16 August 2008 at 15:35.
 
Old 16 August 2008, 19:29   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilhood View Post
Toni, Version 1.5.1 Final is totally unusable for me. The last version that worked fine was 1.5.1 RC1.
WinUAE crashes without fail when launching the emulation and/or selecting Input within the GUI.
This is different than above crash. I guess it does not crash if you remove all USB devices?

Quote:
Also, quick question: is there any way to enable 4-joypad support so that games like Sneech and Masterblaster can utilize 2 extra pads without the need to use Joy2Key.
Use Input-panel to map your pads to any key/whatever you want
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 August 2008, 20:24   #12
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 553
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
Hi Toni,

I have updated directX and it is still crashing. Also, like devilhood, I have had it crash when making any sort of input to the program like trying to modify configurations etc.
illy5603 is offline  
Old 16 August 2008, 22:07   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 20,176
Does http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip fix the crash?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 August 2008, 22:34   #14
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 553
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Why yes, yes it does!

Thanks so much!
illy5603 is offline  
Old 17 August 2008, 00:24   #15
Rabbit80
Its hard being famous!
Rabbit80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Gateway to the dales, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 637
Also fixes my "Way too fast" issue... Thanks Toni
Rabbit80 is offline  
Old 17 August 2008, 00:51   #16
McDuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Also fixes Apidya whdload thanks .......
McDuck is offline  
Old 17 August 2008, 00:55   #17
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Wow! All these issues fixed in one! What did you do Toni?
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 17 August 2008, 03:25   #18
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
He apparently has magical powers. Must be the beams of Finland's midnight sun
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winuae 2.0.1 crash Heula support.WinUAE 7 03 January 2010 11:43
another WinUAE 1.5.1 crash jharrison support.WinUAE 4 04 September 2008 17:53
amiga-ext-310-cd32-fmv.rom won't be detected by WinUAE Dic_Ray support.WinUAE 4 01 June 2008 20:50
WinUAE 1.4 crash on start andyc1864 support.WinUAE 20 26 April 2007 13:25
WinUAE 08.17 r1 -r3 W98 crash Car support.WinUAE 2 07 December 2001 11:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21755 seconds with 13 queries