English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2014, 16:35   #1
mr_marx
 
Posts: n/a
Amiga 1000 kickstart 3.1.adf

Hello everybody,
I'm searching a kickstart 3.1 for my Amiga 1000.
I'v read much forum to create an 1.3 and 3.1 kickstart in one disk, but I thing that or for my english or for my preparation I don't understand how to do that. So is here someone that have this kickstart 3.1 for Amiga 1000 in .adf extension?

Please?!
 
Old 15 March 2014, 18:07   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,826
It's not as easy as that. The A1000 only has 256kB of memory for the kickstart. If you want to have an A1000 that boots a 512k kickstart off the disk, then you need to do extensive modifications to the machine.

The instructions are on aminet, but I don't remember the keywords offhand.. 512k wom? a1000 2.0? /docs/hard is the directory you need to be browsing, in any case.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 18:16   #3
mr_marx
 
Posts: n/a
I have an 2Mb expansion RAM, is this the extensive modification that you say?
 
Old 15 March 2014, 18:17   #4
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
if your A1000 has 2megs or more you can try twinkick from aminet.
you just need (use google and you will find them):
kick13.rom (V34.5 a500/a1000/a2000)
kick31.rom (V40.063 A500/A600/A2000)
on a single floppy disk.
then start the tkg.exe from twinkick archive. after a moment it ask for another empty floppy.
insert the new empty floppy, press R-mouse button for PAL or L-mouse for NTSC version.

if you do this with winuae you can easily create your own twinkick.adf this way.

edit: memory expansion ( 2meg fast ) must start at adress $200000 . what is the name/brand of your expansion?

Last edited by emufan; 15 March 2014 at 18:26.
emufan is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 19:26   #5
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 399
Be sure to use an original Kick3.1/Kick1.3 grabbed with "grabkick" or similar from a real machine. Twinkick won't accept patched or AmigaForever-Kicks.

Twinkick is really cool; you can change between 1.3/3.1 via mousebutton and more.
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 15 March 2014, 20:20   #6
mr_marx
 
Posts: n/a
I don't know how use grabkick and I don't know how put in on floppy kick13 and kick31 with winuae. I only know how transfert the adf file from pc to amiga with AEplorer.
Here is someone that have the image of the twinkick.adf?
Help!!!
 
Old 15 March 2014, 21:28   #7
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
those kickstart files are still copyrighted - it is not allowed here to share them.
try again with the copy to disk issue:
open a cli/shell and copy files, lets say from ram-disk to floppy:
copy ram:kick13.rom df0:
copy ram:kick31.rom df0:
now both files are on that floppy.
now in the same cli/shell window - start the tkg.exe and follow the instructions.
tgk.exe will read the two kick files from floppy and prompts you later for a new empty disk.
insert new disk and press left-mouse for PAL version.
wait until tkg.exe has finished and you have the new kickstart disk.

well, or wait a bit, maybe you get some help in private mode
emufan is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 16:36   #8
mr_marx
 
Posts: n/a
This is my expansion RAM

Last edited by prowler; 16 March 2014 at 22:13. Reason: Fixed embeded image.
 
Old 16 March 2014, 19:23   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_marx View Post
I have an 2Mb expansion RAM, is this the extensive modification that you say?
No, we're talking reprogramming two ROM chips and soldering in a bunch of RAM chips + wries.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 19:50   #10
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_marx View Post
This is my expansion RAM
hmm, this is 1meg of ram, or am I wrong? not enough for twinkick.

are there any another softkicker, so mr_marx can get rom 3.1 running in his A1000?

Last edited by prowler; 16 March 2014 at 22:14. Reason: Fixed embeded image.
emufan is offline  
Old 17 March 2014, 01:22   #11
mr_marx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
hmm, this is 1meg of ram, or am I wrong? not enough for twinkick.

are there any another softkicker, so mr_marx can get rom 3.1 running in his A1000?
Yes, I tested my expansion RAM with whichamiga and I detected that I thinked wrong because I've 1Mb of ram and no 2mb.
 
Old 17 March 2014, 01:25   #12
mr_marx
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you emufan for all your support, is here someone that know an other mode to put a kickstart 3.1 disk in the amiga 1000?
 
Old 17 March 2014, 12:18   #13
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_marx View Post
Thank you emufan for all your support, is here someone that know an other mode to put a kickstart 3.1 disk in the amiga 1000?
np.
there is a ram-expansion with included ide-compactfash interface made by eab user kipper2k.
4mb and 8mb version is available - enough ram plus harddisk (cf-card).
you have once to remove the 68000 chip, plug-in the expansion and reseat the 68000.
i think kipper2k can say, if this expansion works with twinkick, if the ram starts at $200000, as expected by twinkick.
maybe this is something you want get for your A1000 ?
emufan is offline  
Old 06 February 2016, 08:52   #14
MBry0
Ten Pints
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Coldest part of Italy
Age: 42
Posts: 38
I tried it ten years ago with the help of this beautiful community, and it works on my expanded a1000 (only 1.5 ram).
It was just a proof of concept, beacuse it leaves only 512kb ram free. Usable, nonthing more.


EDIT: 2 year old thread... sorry
MBry0 is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 09:33   #15
kneehighspy
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: cerulean / usa
Posts: 74
i would love to see some larger, amiga wise anyway,companies pick up and help out selling and shipping products.

i ordered a nice product, from what i could tell from the website, amost 2 months ago, even paying for tracked shipping and their preferred payment option of paypal gift.

after countless number of the emails going unanswered just for an enquiry if my purchase has slipped or shipped, still nothing.

this is the first time of my many many orders from various people and places over the net i have ever had this issue.

i think in the future i will not use paypal gift again and just pay the extra 4 or 5 percent markup, atleast i would have a non gift type payment leg to stand on. with paypal.

i am not gonna share the company, or person for that matter cause i hate to lose money, but i am also sure they would hate to lose business and potential monies, but theres no telling in the future if i stick by that option or not, for much longer anyway, cause i am sure the amiga business is not their main job or income. i wouldnt want to cause this seller any potential income

but its been almost two months. apparently this user has some noteriety in the amiga community. its not that i havent been patient, its been almost 2 months since i ordered, i am really wanting and looking forward to this hardware. even an email on the status would be greatly appreciated!

thanks,

kneehighspy.
kneehighspy is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 09:59   #16
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
I say 'name & Shame'. If they're as bad as you say, then people need to be aware. People may already be aware and might be able to help you.

Don't worry about the seller losing business, think about your loss.

Things arrive in the UK from China in less than 2 months.
Arnie is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 18:26   #17
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,319
I created a nice KickWork1.3 disk. Kickstart and Workbench 1.3 on one disk!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 19:36   #18
kneehighspy
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: cerulean / usa
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
I say 'name & Shame'. If they're as bad as you say, then people need to be aware. People may already be aware and might be able to help you.

Don't worry about the seller losing business, think about your loss.

Things arrive in the UK from China in less than 2 months.

i am not gonna go negative on the guy just yet. the amiga community is a great community, i posted here last december i was looking for a hard drive solution on my amiga 1000 and i was looking for an emplant card for my a3000.

one awesome user responded he had an extra emplant board and asked for my mail. i gave him my mail and a few days later i had an emplant board in my hand, and this awesome guy wanted nothing for it, not even mail reimbursement and the card is working great in my a3000. he wouldnt give me his paypal so i could give him something, those are the people that keep this community awesome.

thats how great the amiga community is, and then you send off your $94 for an a1000 hard drive solution and almost two months later i still have -$94 in my bank and nothing to show for it.

i have read recently (here, amiga.org and amibay) on this sellers habits of no contact, way delayed shipping and so on, but users finally recieved their product. i would like the product i ordered, so i am gonna keep in line of the amiga community and give some more time.

but personally i dont see how someone could conduct business like this and still make sales. probably because this is the only product of its type i have found for my 1000. vesalia or another larger dealer should make and offer this product.

like i mentioned, i have bought and sold online for over 15 yrs and this is the first time i have had this issue.

so i will wait a bit longer, but after reading this many might already know who this is.

//kneehighspy
kneehighspy is offline  
Old 10 February 2016, 19:53   #19
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
OOOH, it's like Cluedo, I thinks it's Reverand Green, in the Conservatory with the Lead pipe.
Arnie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Amiga 1000 kickstart adaptor mjnurney MarketPlace 0 29 August 2011 01:33
Amiga 1000 Kickstart Adapter DJBase MarketPlace 33 01 November 2010 08:34
FS: Amiga 1000 Kickstart Adaptor DJBase MarketPlace 0 06 September 2008 18:03
Kickstart 2.x on amiga 1000 MBry0 support.Hardware 29 17 November 2007 02:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08349 seconds with 15 queries