English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2016, 12:58   #41
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,411
No caps in the 1200 sees a voltage above 12V (ok, maybe 12.5V depending on the PSU), so there is no problem replacing a 35V version with a 25V version. You could even use 16V, however 10V versions can only be used for the ones seeing 5V.

There could be a size issue though as a 16V cap might be too small for a footprint meant for a 35V version.
demolition is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 February 2016, 08:52   #42
olav
Registered User

olav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oslo / Norway and Tokyo / Japan.
Posts: 23
Since this is the audio circuit, could not the voltage be higher?
Have to make sure the capacitor withstands the largest output from the audio amplifier..
olav is offline  
Old 04 February 2016, 08:57   #43
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 966
But it's not that kind of amplifier. You don't directly drive speakers from the Amiga audio output, it's line-level. I don't think it should ever go beyond a few volts.
ajk is offline  
Old 04 February 2016, 09:18   #44
olav
Registered User

olav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oslo / Norway and Tokyo / Japan.
Posts: 23
Right. There is no amplification going on there.
olav is offline  
Old 04 February 2016, 11:56   #45
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 229
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132 Send a message via Skype™ to seb132
Thanks to Stefan (in south Germany), all my A600s and A1200s have their capacitors changed for ceramic ones and all working like charm...

Definitely thumbs up!!
seb132 is offline  
Old 04 February 2016, 15:02   #46
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by olav View Post
Since this is the audio circuit, could not the voltage be higher?
Have to make sure the capacitor withstands the largest output from the audio amplifier..
Looking at the A1200 R2 schematic, C334 and C324 are the AC decoupling caps. The voltage across them should be close to 0V most of the time, however due to DC offsets in the various components, there could be a few 100 mV, which is why they have been put there as this voltage would otherwise be seen as a DC offset on the audio output.

The supply decoupling caps C303 and C304 sees about 12V constantly.
demolition is offline  
Old 05 February 2016, 02:08   #47
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 40
Posts: 578
Hi,

Something to be aware of with Ceramic capacitors, as the voltage goes up, the capacitance drops. Look here:
https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/a...ex.mvp/id/5527
This is most common in the X7R/X5R dielectrics.

Ceramic capacitors in AC coupling of Audio circuits are not recommended, the Piezo effect distorts the sound. I think the reason the audio capacitors fail more often is they have so little bias. The potential difference across electrolytics is a few 10's of mv. To keep Electrolytics in good condition, you need a reforming charge at least once a year. Switching on the computer will do this for most capacitors, except the audio. I should try this bus connecting the Audio output to ground via 10R resistor, and using a test tone might give enough potential difference to help reform the parts.

The Audio caps are the only ones I've had to replace in my Amiga 600, the others tested fine.
Stedy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 dark brown SMD *ceramic* caps Photon support.Hardware 1 05 November 2011 08:57
Need help to solder A1200 MotherBoard Capacitor Foul support.Hardware 9 04 June 2010 08:22
3-Pin Ceramic Resonator Question. Charlie support.Hardware 2 30 April 2010 16:26
Capacitor C460 (A1200) Cosmos request.Other 3 27 November 2009 12:44
BOP For A1200 Capacitor Replacement? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 4 27 January 2009 07:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20741 seconds with 15 queries