English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2012, 02:05   #1
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
FS-GUI 0.1 (A frontend for FS-UAE)

Hi all,

This is version 0.1 of my GUI for FrodeSolheim's excellent new emulator. It's a work in progress, but at this stage should be functional enough to take a lot of the headache out of launching the emulator. Any issues or obvious bugs, please give me a shout. It's not heavily tested (read : barely tested) so be advised

TODO :

- Better looking Windows GUI (clean up rough edges)
- Add in all current config features up to latest release
- Add netplay launcher (Include recents & favourites list)
- Add support for multiple configs, probably through a listbox on the left hand side
- Add pretty icons for each version and generally clean up packaging

DOWNLOAD :

FS-GUI 0.1 - Windows
FS-GUI 0.1 - OS X
FS-GUI 0.1 - Linux x86 (GTK+)
FS-GUI 0.1 - Linux x64 (GTK+)

INSTRUCTIONS :

Unzip the program to anywhere you like.

Launch the program, select config options and hit 'start'. If FS-GUI can't find the FS-UAE binary it'll prompt you to find it. FS-GUI config is saved on quit, so it'll keep the settings for next run.

SCREENSHOT :


Last edited by P-J; 05 March 2012 at 02:19.
P-J is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 10:46   #2
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,945
Nice work P-J.
seuden is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 13:23   #3
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 554
I was put off from using FS-UAE because of the scripting side of things.

I have just tried this GUI with FS-GUE, I ran Blood Money, it all run graphically absolutely superbly.

I have a couple of questions.

When Blood was loading there was a ticking type noise, what is that ?

Joystick keyboard controls, where are they ?
Washac is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 13:30   #4
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
I was put off from using FS-UAE because of the scripting side of things.

I have just tried this GUI with FS-GUE, I ran Blood Money, it all run graphically absolutely superbly.

I have a couple of questions.

When Blood was loading there was a ticking type noise, what is that ?
Simulated drive click noise. You can turn it down to 0% if you don't wanna hear it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
Joystick keyboard controls, where are they ?
Coming in next version

Last edited by prowler; 06 March 2012 at 02:04. Reason: Fixed quote.
P-J is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 13:38   #5
AmigaOnline
Online Amiga Gaming
AmigaOnline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 280
Nice work Waiting for a NetPlay menu (+ controllers)
AmigaOnline is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 13:41   #6
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Simulated drive click noise. You can turn it down to 0% if you don't wanna hear it


Coming in next version
OK, thanks.

Thing is Amiga drives only clicked in that way when they where empty and the machine would check each
drive periodically, but not as often as the clicking in the GUI.
I do not really see the need for the click, just me maybe.

Look forward to the joystick support

Last edited by prowler; 06 March 2012 at 02:05. Reason: Fixed quote.
Washac is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 13:59   #7
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 44
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
floppy_drive_speed would be easy to add

Thank you
Foul is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 14:06   #8
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
floppy_drive_speed would be easy to add

Thank you
Hehe- true

I froze the interface a couple of weeks ago, which was a mistake as FrodeSolheim added a lot of features since then!

I'll get everything working up to the current beta tonight (maybe running into tomorrow) and have a new version out.
P-J is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 14:31   #9
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
floppy_drive_speed would be easy to add

Thank you
That sounds like it would be a nice addition.

Last edited by Washac; 05 March 2012 at 23:17.
Washac is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 14:33   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Nice work, PJ!
Akira is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 16:29   #11
wilshy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SouthEast-ish UK
Posts: 367
Send a message via AIM to wilshy Send a message via MSN to wilshy
Excellent stuff. Awaiting Netplay features, that config is baffling the hell out of me.
wilshy is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 23:14   #12
Philantrop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: DE
Posts: 27
Do you intend to open-source FS-GUI?
Philantrop is offline  
Old 05 March 2012, 23:20   #13
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 554
Going back to my earliar post regarding the added drive noise.

I now realise that it is a good addition and you can turn it down as you say.

I was loading a game in earliar today and was not not sure it is was loading, turn on
drive noise, yes it is reading the file, I now like this feature
Washac is offline  
Old 06 March 2012, 01:40   #14
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,273
Great work!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 March 2012, 12:27   #15
P-J
Grumpy veteran
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Moorpark, California
Age: 38
Posts: 1,146
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philantrop View Post
Do you intend to open-source FS-GUI?
It's written in Purebasic, which is a closed source cross-platform language. Will happily stick the source for my project up though, but the compiler that converts the language to ASM is closed
P-J is offline  
Old 06 March 2012, 22:44   #16
Philantrop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: DE
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
It's written in Purebasic, which is a closed source cross-platform language. Will happily stick the source for my project up though, but the compiler that converts the language to ASM is closed :(
Ah, ok, thanks for the answer. That wouldn't be useful for me personally then. :)
Philantrop is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 15:34   #17
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 44
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
Is there a way to enable both Harddisk file and folder ?

I'm using my Amiga.hdf system, no problem, but i usualy use a folder to transfer programs/demo/games from my system.

It would be cool
Foul is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 16:42   #18
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,655
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
Is there a way to enable both Harddisk file and folder ?

I'm using my Amiga.hdf system, no problem, but i usualy use a folder to transfer programs/demo/games from my system.

It would be cool
Yes, you can manually add folder via config file.
FOL is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 17:07   #19
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 44
Posts: 1,315
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
excellent ! thx

edit: seems not working... it's one or other, not both :\

Last edited by Foul; 08 March 2012 at 17:38.
Foul is offline  
Old 08 March 2012, 19:54   #20
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,655
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
excellent ! thx

edit: seems not working... it's one or other, not both :\
Working here.
FOL is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G-FS-UAE (GUI/Frontend for Linux FS-UAE) Speedvicio support.FS-UAE 12 05 November 2012 21:14
Need a little help with my own crappy frontend ! kirk Amiga scene 2 01 September 2009 02:24
What emulator-frontend? ATWindsor Retrogaming General Discussion 8 09 December 2007 01:41
Kumiko GUI - Amiga Workbench 3.1 GUI for Windows milika Amiga scene 31 18 April 2007 20:16
New UAE frontend mtb support.OtherUAE 11 03 March 2007 00:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10326 seconds with 13 queries