English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 May 2016, 07:53   #141
Ratteler
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bronx
Posts: 135
We'll be able to use the SD CARD as storage right?

Also, I have a REV 5 Amiga 500 MB. Would it do any good to try and mod it to 2MB chips RAM? or will the Vampire 500 basically make that unnecessary?

Last edited by Ratteler; 27 May 2016 at 08:31.
Ratteler is offline  
Old 27 May 2016, 08:23   #142
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratteler View Post
We'll be able to use the SD CARD as storage right?
Although there might still be a few issues to iron out, you can do that already now (well, on the 600 version that is, but I guess it will work the same on the 500 version once the connector gets soldered on). It just requires a mountlist and sagasd.device to be loaded from somewhere else.
demolition is offline  
Old 27 May 2016, 14:53   #143
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,879
The rev 5 motherboard is a bad starting point for getting 2MB chip RAM. It is possible to do, but there will be a lot of traces to cut and wires to add. Modifying it to 1MB chip and adding a minimegi or similar expansion board would be a better idea.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 May 2016, 18:28   #144
Ratteler
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bronx
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The rev 5 motherboard is a bad starting point for getting 2MB chip RAM. It is possible to do, but there will be a lot of traces to cut and wires to add. Modifying it to 1MB chip and adding a minimegi or similar expansion board would be a better idea.
Will it be of any use with the Vampire 500?
I'll most likely be using HDMI out exclusively.
Ratteler is offline  
Old 28 May 2016, 18:41   #145
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,117
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratteler View Post
Will it be of any use with the Vampire 500?
I'll most likely be using HDMI out exclusively.
If you are not going to use the chipset video, you won't need much Chip RAM either. Once the HDMI audio support is added, you probably won't need Chip RAM at all!
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 28 May 2016, 18:53   #146
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
Once the HDMI audio support is added, you probably won't need Chip RAM at all!
Denise Audio. Disk drive access. AGA/ECS frame buffers. Countless other stuff. Same reason you need chip ram on any RTG + AHI system. Classic compatibility
alexh is offline  
Old 28 May 2016, 19:58   #147
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
If you are not going to use the chipset video, you won't need much Chip RAM either. Once the HDMI audio support is added, you probably won't need Chip RAM at all!
Umm.. but "emulating" ECS / AGA for non-RTG compliant software is still not happening for a while, is it? So either you only use RTG friendly apps and use HDMI output or you need a secondary output option and then ChipRAM will of course be used.
My Vampire equipped A600 is hooked up to a Dell Ultrasharp with both HDMI and with RGB to VGA through a GBS8200 so it's just a matter of choosing the appropriate source on the monitor depending on what is currently coming out of the A600 (have disk drive + CF).


Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 28 May 2016, 23:06   #148
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
I think it is worthwhile doing the 1MB chipmem mod on the rev3, 5 and 6a boards. 1MB i think should be enough to handle day to day uses once Vampire i up and running
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 03:07   #149
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
Amiga 500 Vampire is alive

Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I think it is worthwhile doing the 1MB chipmem mod on the rev3, 5 and 6a boards. 1MB i think should be enough to handle day to day uses once Vampire i up and running


OT but how is your vampire 600 que going. I will order one but when your close to catching up. Do you have tens or hundreds to go? ( or if you don't want to give numbers, weeks or moths to catch up)
Vot is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 03:36   #150
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vot View Post
OT but how is your vampire 600 que going. I will order one but when your close to catching up. Do you have tens or hundreds to go? ( or if you don't want to give numbers, weeks or moths to catch up)
Hi, the list keeps growing, i have over 600 requests and more coming in daily, for the a600 it really is a huge surprise. as to catchup, hmm, i am not sure. i think it best to send me an email request if you want one, if you change your mind you are not committed.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 04:22   #151
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Hi, the list keeps growing, i have over 600 requests and more coming in daily, for the a600 it really is a huge surprise. as to catchup, hmm, i am not sure. i think it best to send me an email request if you want one, if you change your mind you are not committed.


Wow, i will have to. Your going to be a busy boy for quite a while by the sounds...
Vot is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 19:13   #152
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
More news from the A500 performance front, here is new video i just done

AIBB Performance

I even included some background music lol..... who can guess it ?

and here is sysinfo...


Last edited by kipper2k; 29 May 2016 at 19:24.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 20:40   #153
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 846
` Cowabunga` !!
supaduper is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 20:45   #154
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
Ok....

one more surprise video.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 20:50   #155
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
More news from the A500 performance front, here is new video i just done

AIBB Performance

I even included some background music lol..... who can guess it ?

and here is sysinfo...



I think i heard the star trek enterprise end theme
Vot is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 20:54   #156
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,746
yah, today is a star trek day
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 20:54   #157
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 1,216
Nice to see V2000 on the heels of V500
dirkies is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 20:56   #158
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
yah, today is a star trek day


Do i win a vampire 500

Enjoy st enterprise the last two seasons got really good. Shame they didn't let it run 7 seasons.
Vot is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 21:03   #159
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 846
Is there no end to this sourcery ?

Click image for larger version

Name:	wizard smile.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	5.2 KB
ID:	48661
supaduper is offline  
Old 30 May 2016, 01:07   #160
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,086
Has anyone actually phoned the SysInfo guy? I keep seeing on these screenshots that he's desperate for conversation.
Dunny is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vampire II for the Amiga 600 FAQ's kipper2k support.Hardware 501 02 April 2018 21:34
Vampire 500 project started majsta Hardware mods 221 17 August 2016 19:42
Amiga Shops Still Alive? Dr.Mabuse MarketPlace 27 21 February 2013 18:18
Amiga is alive and well in PORTUGAL paulo_becas Member Introductions 5 04 February 2010 18:01
Is Amiga Alive Dead? AmigaEd Amiga scene 5 12 June 2005 20:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10092 seconds with 16 queries