English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 October 2017, 22:26   #221
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 615
You can't have $C00000 ram on the 500+?
alenppc is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 October 2017, 22:31   #222
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
You can't have $C00000 ram on the 500+?
Not using the trapdoor connector, unless you do some patching of the MB.
demolition is offline  
Old 05 October 2017, 22:41   #223
springycz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Budweis / Czech Republic
Posts: 64
OK, so it only makes things easier. I already have the fast RAM on GVP A530.
Only question left is whether some of the chips I listed in my previous post will work in this expansion? All should be 1M x 16 just like those used in the first post.
springycz is offline  
Old 06 October 2017, 05:26   #224
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by springycz View Post
I found several simms containing 42 pin chips that are supposedly 1Mx16, namely:
HY4181164B, KM416C1200AJ-7, TMS418160DZ, AS4C1M165S-60JC, and HM5118160-AJ7
Will anyone of these work with this expansion?
I found some datasheets: KM416C1200, TMS418160, AS4C1M165, HM5118160. Did not find any for HY4181164B.

They are all 5v 1Mx16bit DRAM with FPM and the same pinout, so they should all be compatible as far as I can see.

Some of them are 60ns, some are 70ns. Not sure whether the speed matters, but I guess that 70ns is good enough for this.

Last edited by demolition; 06 October 2017 at 05:31.
demolition is offline  
Old 06 October 2017, 07:46   #225
springycz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Budweis / Czech Republic
Posts: 64
Thank you!
springycz is offline  
Old 06 October 2017, 20:19   #226
Mq666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Poznan/Poland
Posts: 34
Hi there. I tested some chips 60ns and 70ns. You can use both of them, and it doesn't matter even if You mix 60ns and 70ns chips in one extension. If chips are good, then they works for me even if I use four diffrent chips and with diffrent access time.
Mq666 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modern Trapdoor RAM killed my A500 Silwuff New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 15 August 2016 09:29
Homemade A500 trapdoor expansion? cabal Hardware mods 5 01 December 2014 21:44
WTB: two(2) A500 trapdoor slot covers papa_november MarketPlace 0 25 December 2008 09:17
Trapdoor expansion options for A500 Impakt support.Hardware 7 20 March 2008 06:05
A500 Plus Trapdoor Expansion TheCorfiot support.Hardware 10 14 March 2008 16:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18444 seconds with 14 queries