English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 October 2008, 00:35   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
ClassicWB 68K for A600 with 3.1 ROMS

A few people seem to upgrade their A600's to 3.1 ROMS for better hard drive support and have requested a version of the ClassicWB that works on their machine.

The LITE is 020 only, but now there is a beta available of a LITE version that is for 68000 CPU's. Please pm me for the link if you're interested - it will require the usual Workbench disks for activation and WHDLoad ROMS for games as described by the instructions on the main site and in this official forum.

There will never be 68000 versions of the FULL and above as they use Scalos which requires an 020. This is the only Workbench 3 pack I intend to create for 3.x ROM users and this CPU.

For standard A500/A600's with 2.x ROMS, there is the ClassicWB GAAE:

http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/gaae.htm

Ok enough plugging. I'm "owta" here!

Last edited by Bloodwych; 13 October 2008 at 00:43.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 October 2008, 01:00   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@Bloodwycch

Awesome news my friend, I look forward to installing this on my A600+ project
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 25 October 2008, 21:31   #3
domleg
 
Posts: n/a
I'd be very interested, for last two weeks trying to tailor classicwb lite to my a600, still can't run aweb 68000 though. Something's requiring 68020 and I can't figure out what. Sign me in

Dominic
 
Old 02 November 2008, 18:49   #4
Frimann
Registered User
Frimann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 33
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to Frimann
Fantastic Bloodwych!

Count me in too =)
Frimann is offline  
Old 02 November 2008, 20:35   #5
prart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 57
amazing!
i just finished to configure my GAAE setup so i`ll wait for final version and then make swith. will it be ready before christmas Bloodwych?

once again thank Yoy for your job.
prart is offline  
Old 02 November 2008, 20:57   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Yes, it will be out very shortly.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 03 November 2008, 18:00   #7
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
can`t wait to try that too
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 19:13   #8
crazyegg
Registered User
crazyegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 122
Hi Bloodwych,

Greetings from Canada!

Thanks for sending me the 68000 BETA of ClassicWB. However, I can't seem to load it under 68000 mode in WinUAE? It only works with 020 and up. Am I overlooking something?
crazyegg is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 19:27   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Hi crazyegg, sounds like you're using the wrong 3.1 ROM set.

Make sure you are using the 16bit A600 3.1 ROMS and not the 32bit A1200 versions.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 15:15   #10
crazyegg
Registered User
crazyegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 122
Hi Bloodwych,

You are correct sir!!!! Thanks again for your kind reply and your continued support of the AMAZING ClassicWB. Regards.....ed PS: Can't wait till Christmas for the revised packs!!
crazyegg is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 16:51   #11
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Great!

There is a limit what I can do with the 68K pack to keep it performing at low mem and reasonable performance.

Still, I think it makes a great starting point for many people to go on and customize themselves.

There are scripts in the drawer icon left out on the desktop to auto-detect any WHDLoad titles in the games or demos drawers - it will cause them to be added to the list launcher.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 21 November 2008, 17:10   #12
AmiNost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: paris france
Posts: 15
Hi,
I'm also interesting in this ClassicWB for 68000 processor, I've an Amiga 2000(rom 3.1) with A2091 populated with 2MB, I'm looking for a preinstalled environment with filemaster, and multiboot option for gaming only, is this version suitable for me? If so can I have the link for download, thanks!

PS: Classic Workbench 68K Version 24 - Xmas release TBA on classicwb.abime.net is down, where can I download it?
AmiNost is offline  
Old 21 November 2008, 19:48   #13
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Hi AmiNost.

There is a thread in the ClassicWB forum about the files being down, saying that those who want a pre-release beta need only pm me.

I'll send you a pm now with a link.

Thanks for trying.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 21 November 2008, 21:10   #14
AmiNost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: paris france
Posts: 15
Thanks again! I'll have a try, and report the test

Regards
AmiNost is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 18:55   #15
rave
Amiga's made me who I am.

rave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nottingham UK
Age: 38
Posts: 167
Send a message via AIM to rave Send a message via MSN to rave Send a message via Yahoo to rave Send a message via Skype™ to rave
Awesome Bloodwych, Im going to try this next :P
rave is offline  
Old 27 November 2008, 23:17   #16
jabsy
Yeah Hup!

jabsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 340
Could you pm me the d/l link as well please??? I use your installs on my 3.1 machines, it'd be great to have one for my 600 as well.

Cheers!
jabsy is offline  
Old 30 November 2008, 14:54   #17
AmiNost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: paris france
Posts: 15
I've tried it for gaming, it's wonderful!

By decompressing games on Games folder, a simple click creates automatically the game runlist

Personally, I've a removable disk(IOmega Zip), and a 9GB harddisk, I've found some utilities which may be useful for others as well:

"GiggleDisk" for creating automatically mountlist.
"Check4GB" to verify whether you disk is already path to support >4GB.
"HDinstTools" for partitions.

The text editor is a bit slow on my 68000, I've tried with annotate? something, better performance thought.

That's it, thanks for you hard works!
AmiNost is offline  
Old 30 November 2008, 15:13   #18
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for the feedback AmiNost. I'll take a look at that text editor as the current one is probably way too powerful for most users, especially if it's slow.

I'll also look at those other apps and perhaps add them to the final release.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 06 December 2008, 06:40   #19
mingle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 89
@Bloodwych,

Could you add me to the list of people looking for the download link?

I'd love to give it a go on my A1200 030!

Cheers,

Mike.
mingle is offline  
Old 06 December 2008, 11:16   #20
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
???????????????
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: A500 rev6 and A600 KS 3.1 Roms gtrmn01 support.Hardware 4 08 January 2010 12:50
ClassicWB 68k with 1meg ram only SupahFlyRetard project.ClassicWB 22 05 December 2009 00:51
A600 NMI on 68k.. xc8 support.Hardware 11 08 November 2008 17:07
Which version of ClassicWB for my A600? Frimann project.ClassicWB 5 02 November 2008 21:14
put a1200 3.0 roms in a600 ? aix support.Hardware 3 01 July 2006 18:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23069 seconds with 12 queries