English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 April 2017, 11:20   #1
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 646
Cool Show me your scanlines v2

How does your EMULATED scanlines look like on an LCD screen?
Here is mine in retroarch, running Picodrive and Sonic 1



and here an Amiga one


Last edited by nobody; 16 April 2017 at 11:27.
nobody is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 April 2017, 11:26   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 8,309
Can't contribute as I only use the laptop and don't have any monitor to connect to... well, I do connect it to my 48" TV via HDMI though (with lighter 25% scanlines enabled)...

You know I love scanlines nobody

Yours are looking very good indeed
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 April 2017, 11:43   #3
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post

Yours are looking very good indeed
It's "CRT-Royale". Amazing isn't it, it looks like a high-end CRT
nobody is offline  
Old 16 April 2017, 11:45   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 8,309
Yup, very good indeed

What game is that in the 2nd screenshot?
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 April 2017, 11:47   #5
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 646
Fuzzball

http://hol.abime.net/644
nobody is offline  
Old 16 April 2017, 11:50   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 8,309
Ah thanks, already have that in my collection... Too many games to remember every screenshot
DamienD is offline  
Old 16 April 2017, 11:56   #7
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 646
ZX Spectrum (Spectaculator) - mimic RF input

nobody is offline  
Old 16 April 2017, 13:43   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,418
MAME HLSL





FS-UAE Shader





Higan crt-caligari shader

Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 April 2017, 13:55   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 8,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
MAME HLSL



I've said this to you before Retro; the HLSL shader in MAME is awesome

Only issue is that in MameUI they changed how it works somewhere after v0.160 so it's not as good anymore... Spent a few hours trying to work out how to get it like v0.160 in later versions but still haven't been successful
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 April 2017, 00:43   #10
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 266
Do old original CRT based pictures look better on OLED than LCD? Or do you need to apply filters anyway?
NorthWay is offline  
Old 17 April 2017, 08:03   #11
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
Do old original CRT based pictures look better on OLED than LCD? Or do you need to apply filters anyway?
It will look better but still the CRT will win. With my calculations they will need a resolution like 3200*2048 to simulate a low end CRT shadow mask and scanlines properly. If they go for BVM look then 8000*6400.
nobody is offline  
Old 17 April 2017, 15:07   #12
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,344
Anything that would work on my SNES etc? As although my Sony Trinitron looks lush as, the flickering gives me a headache!
Neil79 is offline  
Old 17 April 2017, 16:04   #13
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 646
Retroarch will run SNES games too. But why would you have flickering on a CRT, you must be running a 480 interlaced mode then.
nobody is offline  
Old 17 April 2017, 16:30   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,418
Some static images in SNES games are interlaced, like status screens or options (Smash Tennis, Secret of Mana 2 i.e.).
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 April 2017, 16:40   #15
Neil79
Registered User
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 37
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
retroarch will run snes games too. But why would you have flickering on a crt, you must be running a 480 interlaced mode then.
tv
Neil79 is offline  
Old 17 April 2017, 17:49   #16
Tyball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 61
Looks great nobody. I'm having trouble understanding retroarch on retropie. So I can only display scanlines once I start a game, but cannot get it setup to remember the settings for all games. Too many settings. I wish it would be even more user friendly.
Tyball is offline  
Old 20 April 2017, 14:17   #17
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 646
I have to say that retroarch 1st screenshot with crt-royale on TFT screen looks better than my Sony Trinitron 14" CRT - running "retroarch Wii" with s-video scart. I have to try with RGB scart too.
nobody is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 13:21   #18
Lilura
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: lilura1
Posts: 21
Wow, those scanlines for Turrican look very authentic to me!
Lilura is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 13:27   #19
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,418
Thanks to Frode's non-linear scanlines shader.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 21 April 2017, 14:04   #20
Steve
I'm on Twit @stevebruce24
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,089
Hi Retro-Nerd. I love that HLSL option in MAME - Especially on Ghouls n Ghosts. I'm trying to match your screenshot images. What settings do you use? I've got the HLSL ticked but what about brightness, contrast, gamma etc and do you use any special effects setting?
Steve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show me all your scanlines turrican9 Retrogaming General Discussion 5 24 November 2016 21:40
CRT Scanlines John Pillow support.FS-UAE 36 23 June 2015 20:07
Scanlines or NO scanlines? Ironclaw Retrogaming General Discussion 457 07 October 2010 00:30
Scanlines Ciussippa support.WinUAE 1 21 September 2003 10:19
Scanlines dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 8 16 April 2002 12:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22817 seconds with 14 queries