English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2018, 17:09   #21
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 532
And here is my old Workbench!
Thanks everyone for the help!

(system does not "freeze" now, nor asks for more password, but I need to check what the HOME: volume was supposed to be and why it is not there...)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MyWorkbench.PNG
Views:	43
Size:	172.0 KB
ID:	60289  
NLS is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 00:15   #22
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 532
A side note: I found Geert Uytterhoeven! He is now a Linux wiz. Very helpful, he proposed the same thing, to set the filesystem to FFS again. But I already made the fix with eliminating all passwd file passwords.

Love my old desktop. As I said last boot was November 98! So, 20 years back! I bet very few Win98 machines looked as professional as my Workbench/DOpus setup.

My startup-sequence (and multiple side scripts) is a huge thing (booting it easily looks like booting Linux, I may record it some time) and I remember painstakingly arranging what needs to be called before what, to make everything work properly.

BONUS QUESTION(s): Should I replace my 3GB very old Seagate with some non-magnetic component? Maybe a USB stick? An SD card? What are the adaptors I can use to make this happen? (transparently to the system) Will it be slower or faster? How will I be able to move all partitions as they are now to new device?
NLS is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 22:57   #23
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 671
Congratulations! Yes, Geert has always been a Linux wiz. He still actively maintains 680x0 support in Linux.

You should definitely replace your drive

This adapter works in my A4000 (€13 + plus a cheap CF card):
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Later I upgraded to one of these:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...7&postcount=18

It will be quieter. Faster? Maybe. It's easy to transfer the OS from one drive to another on an Amiga.

Something else: Check the clock battery! After 20 years it probably will be bad.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 00:30   #24
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 532
I removed it. But a bit too late. Check the other thread about that.
NLS is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 14:33   #25
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 44
Posts: 532
Follow up on the retro-story.
Well I even debugged things that waited 20 years to be debugged.

For some reason HOME: was not getting mapped and needed in the startup scripts (because a requester popped to ask for it) and I had to find what was wrong.
Note that those scripts are roughly 700 lines total, no kid play, calling each other based on some things I needed back then. My scripting was fantastic though because it is FULLY commented, like I was planning to talk to my 20 years-later self!

So I pinpointed this to a muFS command "massign" (multi-user aware assign). Per muFS documentation, this doesn't release the process so it needs to run with "run" - which indeed is how I used it.
Funny thing I contacted Geert and he asked me "but why you run it with run?"... and I reminded him HIS OWN documentation.
Anyway... the initial problem was that I hadn't the proper muFS attributes set (readable and executable by group and others, plus "u" bit set, plus set root as owner).
So I fixed that, HOME was finally assigned as set in "passwd" file... And then ANOTHER bug popped!
For some reason the final command "endcli >NIL:" didn't exit! It just stood there, no error. I know it is that command, because I added debug echos and reached up to the end. I even tried not ending the script and tried to endcli from that command prompt. Indeed it was stopping there without closing CLI.
...Geert didn't know why.
So I thought... What changed? MAssign. But I need it. Maybe try another "run" command? I already have "bgrun" in my commands... maybe try that? AND INDEED BGRun solved my problem!

Thing is, I don't know why (OS own) "run" wasn't doing its job properly... any idea?
NLS is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessing sd partitions yurif74 support.WinUAE 16 05 January 2016 13:16
Accessing my CF HDD? commodoresales New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 24 March 2012 12:47
Floppy accessing kixs support.Hardware 9 12 October 2011 01:35
Crash on accessing hard disk? CMDR support.Hardware 8 21 August 2010 19:29
Problem accessing HD ruffian support.Hardware 6 10 November 2009 15:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08551 seconds with 16 queries