English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 February 2019, 18:48   #1
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 132
"Multi-tasking ready" games.

Hi,


What are your favorite games that run in an a workbench window, so you can casually flip between the game and (e.g.) a terminal emulator?


Cheers!
vext01 is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 19:27   #2
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,282
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos AGA can multitask if you've got more than 24 megs of Fast RAM. Just use the invisible screen flipper in the upper right corner of the screen.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 19:44   #3
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,412
Civilization, and Colonization
trixster is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 20:45   #4
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 132
I tried Colonization, and while it has the button to background the process, it doesn't do anything.
vext01 is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 22:04   #5
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,401
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Nuclear War and Gunship 2000.
Predseda is online now  
Old 04 February 2019, 03:16   #6
HardStep
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 149
Gloom Deluxe with window patch.
Dune 2, flip with keyboard.
HardStep is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 07:52   #7
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by vext01 View Post
I tried Colonization, and while it has the button to background the process, it doesn't do anything.

Because it close WB when You have not enough RAM. Colonization have also ability to run on Workbench screen when You use WORKBENCH parameter and have enough colors.



Also Westwood games (e.g. Dune II and both Eye of the Beholder games) have multitasking if You have enough RAM.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 08:43   #8
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,516
All my Atari ST game ports support screen flipping with Amiga-M
meynaf is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 11:11   #9
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,282
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Megaball3 lets you flip screens when you pause.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 13:27   #10
thellier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 209
Thexder multitask on WB
thellier is offline  
Old 04 February 2019, 13:52   #11
drHirudo
Amiga user
drHirudo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sofia / Bulgaria
Posts: 210
I did several multitasking games back in the early 2000-ies. Hardest part was doing smooth scroll and fixing the music replayer routines to be clean of any enforcer hits. I avoided the Workbench color limitations by opening own screen. Later that multitasking aware coding made it very easy to port the games to SDL and then make them possible on other platforms with almost no additional effort.
drHirudo is offline  
Old 22 February 2019, 16:43   #12
Ami
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 59
These are games I played most:

BattleDuel
WBArmy
SameGame
CatTrap
HBMonopoly
MahjonggTiles
CardGames Deluxe

Last edited by Ami; 15 May 2019 at 17:32.
Ami is offline  
Old 24 February 2019, 02:15   #13
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Civilization, and Colonization
Colonization can even run in a window on the Workbench screen if you add the tooltype WORKBENCH.
idrougge is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 15:36   #14
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Colonization can even run in a window on the Workbench screen if you add the tooltype WORKBENCH.
I've mentioned this before in this topic.

And it looks like this.

Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 18:10   #15
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,833
Yes, the real problem is that you still can't size your main window larger than 320x256.
idrougge is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 18:28   #16
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,030
Brian Clough's Football Fortunes supports Multi Tasking!
BarryB is offline  
Old 14 May 2019, 22:25   #17
paul1981
Registered User

paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: England
Posts: 156
I seem to remember UFO Enemy Unknown happily multitasking on its own screen. Screens are far better than windoze that get in the way
paul1981 is offline  
Old 15 May 2019, 09:25   #18
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,315
I multitasked these quite often:

Activision Shanghai
Mean 18 Golf
Poing

Shanghai and Mean 18 will not allow you to screen flip under 1.x, but they will under 2.x onwards. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 15 May 2019, 09:30   #19
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 826
Dune 2 and Sim City.
fryguy is offline  
Old 15 May 2019, 09:52   #20
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 3,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
Total Chaos AGA can multitask if you've got more than 24 megs of Fast RAM.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Laser Squad" games thread (eg. "Evil" ) nittamituaki support.Games 18 18 May 2018 19:38
Difference WHDLoad-Games "normal" & "fast" pellewolf project.WHDLoad 3 25 July 2017 15:38
Other games with "Darkmere"/"LotR" atmosphere? (may also be current-gen) dex Nostalgia & memories 20 27 January 2016 15:29
How "Brick Games" and "Game' n' Watches" works Leandro Jardim Retrogaming General Discussion 2 03 August 2013 17:48
Ready to run "Amiga Inside" Pack Fissuras Amiga websites reviews 5 10 August 2002 01:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09686 seconds with 13 queries