English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 January 2019, 16:30   #101
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nottingham, United Kingdom
Posts: 103
awesome no longer have to keep updating whdload to 18.3 then 18.4

pmed bloodwych to see if new updates can go on classic workbench website

Last edited by digiflip; 18 January 2019 at 17:25.
digiflip is offline  
Old 18 January 2019, 20:41   #102
Fendrix
Registered User
Fendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKR75 View Post
New updated release for 68K version 3.1. Link below changelog.

CHANGELOG:

Code:
v3.1
	- Updated full WHDLoad package to latest beta prerelease v18.4, across ALL WB versions. The reason I opted for the latest beta is because v18.3 introduced a few bugs with certain games that was remedied in v18.4
	- Removed C:TagLiFE#?, C:PatchRAM#?, SYS:Update/ dir as no longer needed for v3.1.4
	- Removed LargeHD directory from MyFiles, also not needed with new ROM 3.1.4.
	- Removed references to TagLiFE, PatchRAM, BlazeWCP, and StackAttack in the ButtonMenu menus, only when under 3.1.4.
	- Cleaned up lots of stale .info files when using the WB1.3 theme under v3.1.4.
ClassicWB 68K 3.1.4 (Version 3.1)

Regards,

KKR75
Sweet, thanks a million
Fendrix is offline  
Old 18 January 2019, 21:47   #103
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,509
TagLiFE was never needed, but good to have. I've doubts that 3.1.4 has faster TagList routines than previous versions of utility.library.
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 January 2019, 21:53   #104
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 536
Great Thanks ;-)
Viceroy is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 19:18   #105
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
TagLiFE was never needed, but good to have. I've doubts that 3.1.4 has faster TagList routines than previous versions of utility.library.
Thanks PeterK. I'll soon update both versions released to re-include TagLiFE in them.
KKR75 is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 21:56   #106
BYTEMAN
Registered User

BYTEMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minsk / Belarus
Age: 26
Posts: 23
Hi guys,

It seems that whdload game icons are displayed as corrupted in ClassicWB. Who knows how to fix it? Is it a known issue?



Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	corrupted_icons.PNG
Views:	771
Size:	70.9 KB
ID:	61652  
BYTEMAN is offline  
Old 19 January 2019, 23:36   #107
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,126
Try replacing the icon.library, which version are you using?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 January 2019, 09:41   #108
samplist
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Greece
Posts: 37
Great work @KKR75, any plans for an os3x version?
samplist is offline  
Old 26 January 2019, 10:40   #109
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 246
I did try the Bloodwitch packs on my A600 Furia....with OS 3.1 rom...could never get a stable workbench.....tried it with a OS3.1.4 rom...no joy...i hear there IS a Update pack on the net that uses the OS.3.1.4 disks.....but is dose not boot on my A600...looked at the startup-sequence and there is still a loadmodule entry for the SCSI.device....OS3.1.4 dont need this....so i removed it......still no joy.....I think HDD ENV: patch is active and my setup dont like that...
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 27 January 2019, 13:15   #110
samplist
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Greece
Posts: 37
I have just updated a ClassicWB OS39 installation using Updateto314.
During the update script I noticed that some files where reported as readonly
(icon.library, workbench.library, and FastFileSystem) so I copied them again manually from 3.1.4 install disks just to be sure.
You can find final startup-sequence here
samplist is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 17:04   #111
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 57
How's performance? Any issues at all? Are you also using the 3.1.4 ROMs?
cloverskull is offline  
Old 29 January 2019, 19:12   #112
samplist
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Greece
Posts: 37
Performance is fine, maybe a little better than before in an A1200 with Blizzard 1230IV.
I'm using 3.1.4 physical ROMs.
samplist is offline  
Old 30 January 2019, 19:22   #113
TAFKAMP
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by samplist View Post
I have just updated a ClassicWB OS39 installation using Updateto314.
During the update script I noticed that some files where reported as readonly
(icon.library, workbench.library, and FastFileSystem) so I copied them again manually from 3.1.4 install disks just to be sure.
You can find final startup-sequence here
i did the same this morning upgrading my A500 w/ ACA500+ and ClassicWB 68k. my amiga ran into a green screen situation half way through the update (think it was during or after finishing copying stuff from the 3rd disk in the install process). reboot still gave the same green screen. figured the process might have been close to finished so i tried booting with the 3.1.4 roms and this time got back into workbench, which asked for the libraries from disk 1. was a bit unsure if there was alot left to be installed so i ran the updateto314 tool once more. working smoothly now. definitely noticing a boost in performance since the update!
TAFKAMP is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 07:08   #114
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Did you find the cause for memory leak? Does it help if you make C:Copy resident?
kolla is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 14:50   #115
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 536
I was wondering when you do a clean install of 3.1.4 on Winuae you have to use the 3.1.4 rom, yet on this Classic full install you can use 3.1.4 rom or a 3.1 rom?
Viceroy is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 15:13   #116
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viceroy View Post
I was wondering when you do a clean install of 3.1.4 on Winuae you have to use the 3.1.4 rom, yet on this Classic full install you can use 3.1.4 rom or a 3.1 rom?
No you can not use KickStart 3.1 with OS 3.14 otherwise the system will not start, unless you modify the 3.1.4 ROM by adding the missing one.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 18 February 2019 at 23:12.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 February 2019, 15:54   #117
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
No you can not use KickStart 3.1 with OS 3.14 otherwise the system will not start, unless you modify the 3.1.4 ROM by adding the missing one.
You can use it, I've just loaded it again using this rom?
.\Roms\Kickstart v3.1 rev 40.70 (1993)(Commodore)(A4000).rom. If I knew how to post a photo I would show you.
Viceroy is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 21:49   #118
scrappysphinx
Registered User

scrappysphinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nottingham
Age: 34
Posts: 466
Having issues with this new classicwb and whdload

I have been using classicwb from bloodwych on my cdtv with with 3.1.4 rom and copied the required libs over to the hdd from the modules disc. This has been working well for me. I thought it was time to upgrade to the workbench 3.1.4 version from KKR75.

Downloaded the 68k version and activated (and upgraded) with 3.1.4 discs. all went well, copied it to the SD card (formatted and partitioned with pfs3 and max transfer of 0x1fe00) i am using on my cdtv, filled the other partitions with whload games and plugged the sd card into the sd-ide adapter.

Boots into workbench fine, workbench and apps seem fine but games are having issues.

For example, Zak McKracken crashes before even loading with a software failure message, same with cannon fodder, Crazy Card III loads and i can play but i have graphical issues during races and the shop has items missing (see attached pic).

To rule out my games i have a second SD card which is formatted also formatted with pfs3 (max transfer is also set to 0x1fe00) and is using classicwb from bloodwych activated with workbench 3.1 and using a 3.1 rom and the games work perfectly.

I then tried to activate KKR75's classicwb with 3.1 instead of 3.1.4 but same issues again.

Anyone have any tips?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amiga (Custom).jpg
Views:	67
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	61878  
scrappysphinx is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 22:20   #119
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viceroy View Post
You can use it, I've just loaded it again using this rom?
.\Roms\Kickstart v3.1 rev 40.70 (1993)(Commodore)(A4000).rom. If I knew how to post a photo I would show you.
What did you start? with Kickstart v3.1 rev 40. you can not boot an OS 3.1.4 installed on HD, you can not start Floppy Workbench 3.1.4, you can boot only floppy named "Install3_1_4"
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 06:47   #120
KKR75
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Beirut / Lebanon
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrappysphinx View Post
Having issues with this new classicwb and whdload

[...]

Anyone have any tips?

Thanks
The problem *might* be related to the upgraded version of WHDLoad I installed on my 2 releases. I upgraded WHDLoad to latest 18.4 beta, from bloodwych's original 18.2 version.

You might want to try to downgrade to 18.3 or even 18.2 to see if this fixes your game issues.

But I do not see why my corrected classicwb scripts for 3.1.4 would be in any way related to the issues you are having.

Let us know your findings
KKR75 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB OS3.9 in emulator elowan project.ClassicWB 3 16 January 2013 14:54
ClassicWB OS3.9/BB 3+4? esc project.ClassicWB 4 19 September 2011 12:00
ClassicWB OS3.5/3.9 question MethodGit project.ClassicWB 3 01 October 2010 11:00
Multiboot ClassicWB/3.1 and ClassicWB/OS3.9 MrGimper support.Hardware 4 16 September 2010 19:42
ClassicWB OS3.9 2.5 merlinkv project.ClassicWB 9 05 May 2010 12:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09091 seconds with 14 queries