English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2020, 23:31   #41
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coagulus View Post
To get the transparency effect you could add an extra biplane and then use Bitplanesbitmap for the 1 bitplane the invaders etc would reside on. The top half of the colours could then be brightened versions of the first half. The invaders would look a little transparent then but still only be in 1 bitplane...
Not quite sure what you mean but I don't think this would work as I am using dual bitplane mode to put the background behind the invaders.
Havie is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 23:41   #42
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...and here's one that's "320x200" pixels:
I can play around with:
  • The opacity of the sky.
  • The opacity of the moon.
  • The sky positioning i.e. higher or lower.
  • The moon positioning i.e. higher or lower.
...and when you're happy, create 8 and 16 colour .IFF files

Examples:
8 colour .IFF:



16 colour .IFF:

320x200 is the correct size as I wanted everyone to be able to play the game. I just use a poke to switch all Amiga's to NTSC mode which has the added benefit of stretching the screen and creating a better aspect ratio.

As I seem to be collecting features, I will need to implement a menu with some graphic options so you could have colour overlays or not, background moon or not, PAL or NTSC.

Code needs a bit of a rewrite as I blit directly to the screen (no double buffering) and erase using a non-transparent black box around all the bobs but obviously this doesn't work with a background so having to recapture all the sprites without a black border. Luckily, Blitz Basic can easily set Blit modes so I can erase a bob using erase mode and then re-blit in cookie mode. Simples!

The only bit causing me a bit of a headache is when the invaders reach the side of the screen, I had a loop that aligned all the invaders from the 1st one when this happened (as the arcade does) before they all moved down but I can't do it this way now as I would need to erase up to 55 invaders and re-blit them in one loop which would definitely give some serious slow down so I now have to aligned them individually before moving them down - maybe I will do a row at a time so it only takes 5 loops (1/12 second) to align them? Or maybe there is a better way and I haven't thought of it yet...
Havie is offline  
Old 28 December 2020, 02:06   #43
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
Not quite sure what you mean but I don't think this would work as I am using dual bitplane mode to put the background behind the invaders.
Ah yes the effect wouldn't work then. I was thinking 4 bitplanes for the background then a fifth for the game. The game would still be 1 bitplane then but be on a 5 bitplane screen.
Coagulus is offline  
Old 28 December 2020, 03:52   #44
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by S. Campbell View Post
oh god please not copper effects.
When well made you could not even tell is copper...
saimon69 is offline  
Old 28 December 2020, 21:07   #45
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 980
Thumbs up

thanks so much! so cool I remember playing the original at an arcade with my big brother back in 78 ! Lots of quarters spend on that arcade box
klx300r is offline  
Old 25 January 2021, 23:28   #46
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Took a break over Christmas but have got back into this over the last week or so and implemented Damien's background (thanks mate). Looks pretty nice but if you don't like it you can turn it off!

So game is basically complete and you have a few additional hot keys:

zx and space = left right and fire (or joystick).
P=pause
B=background on/off
Change overlay on screen: 1=original 2=colour

My only concern is the speed as it seems ok in WinUae but not sure how it'll run on A500/600. I think the last version was slow on a 500 (comment about UFO sound which is fine on WinUae). Anyway, if you get a chance, have a test and let me know how it goes for you - could possibly look to optimise if needed...

Download from here: https://eab.abime.net/zone/Space%20Invaders.adf

Last edited by Havie; 25 January 2021 at 23:57.
Havie is offline  
Old 25 January 2021, 23:48   #47
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Tried on my 1200 and speed was fine but noticed two bugs to fix.

1) You can shoot the ufo multiple times
2) Your bullet does strange things and disappears half way up the screen but as there are less invaders it's doesn't!

Still interested in how this runs on an A500.

1) Sorted
2) Possibly sorted with a subtle move of the vwait to near the beginning of the loop and the not the end?

Working download: https://eab.abime.net/zone/Space%20Invaders.adf

Last edited by Havie; 25 January 2021 at 23:58. Reason: Possibly fixed errors?
Havie is offline  
Old 25 January 2021, 23:59   #48
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Tested it on A500 in WinUAE and seems to run fine and UFO making correct sound (fingers crossed)...
Havie is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 00:33   #49
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Had a bit of a bug squashing moment:

1) UFO still not working properly - fixed.
2) Sounds cutting out so gave each sound effect it's own channel - fixed.
3) Saved correct source code to floppy image

I know it takes a while to load as each shape is loaded individually and I could save all the shapes in one file which would speed up loading but I like the fact that anyone with DPaint, PPaint or other package can redo the graphics like Spade Invaders!
Havie is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 11:26   #50
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
Took a break over Christmas but have got back into this over the last week or so and implemented Damien's background (thanks mate). Looks pretty nice but if you don't like it you can turn it off!

So game is basically complete and you have a few additional hot keys:

zx and space = left right and fire (or joystick).
P=pause
B=background on/off
Change overlay on screen: 1=original 2=colour
Heya Havie,

Firstly well done in getting all this working, I previously read your other thread: Spaces Invaders with a moon background

Regarding the background though; I'm surprised that this didn't come out like the sshots posted here, and the quality looks poor:
If you need me to try to optimise them then I can
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 15:05   #51
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Heya Havie,

Firstly well done in getting all this working, I previously read your other thread: Spaces Invaders with a moon background

Regarding the background though; I'm surprised that this didn't come out like the sshots posted here, and the quality looks poor:
If you need me to try to optimise them then I can
Thanks Damien - not sure if I messed it up? It would be great if your optimise for 8 colours then it should slot in easy enough as I load palette from background. Thanks.

Nearly there...
Havie is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 17:34   #52
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
Thanks Damien - not sure if I messed it up? It would be great if your optimise for 8 colours then it should slot in easy enough as I load palette from background. Thanks.

Nearly there...
The below first example is 8 colours

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...and here's one that's "320x200" pixels:
I can play around with:
  • The opacity of the sky.
  • The opacity of the moon.
  • The sky positioning i.e. higher or lower.
  • The moon positioning i.e. higher or lower.
...and when you're happy, create 8 and 16 colour .IFF files

Examples:
8 colour .IFF:



16 colour .IFF:

I can put the .IFF in The Zone! for you?

But do you want anyt optimisations i.e:
  • The opacity of the sky.
  • The opacity of the moon.
  • The sky positioning i.e. higher or lower.
  • The moon positioning i.e. higher or lower.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 21:34   #53
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Now I remember why I fiddled with the 8 colour version - I wasn't keen on the blue craters on the moon.

Hang on a mo...
Havie is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 23:18   #54
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Right so when I use you 8 colour background it looks wrong and now I remember fiddling with it to make it look better. Also, I reduced the brightness to make the invaders and player standout more clearly.

So my version looks like this with the wrong colours?



Your 8 colour version comes out like this:




I must be doing something wrong? I even made a 16 colour palette with the correct colours but they still end up wrong and I get a black as colour 8. Must be something to do with the dual playfield? Or may be it's something to do wiht the copper commands on the front screen?

Help!

Last edited by Havie; 26 January 2021 at 23:39.
Havie is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 23:43   #55
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,096
you could inspect your copperlist with winuae to debug (this is looking promising anyway)
jotd is online now  
Old 27 January 2021, 00:16   #56
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
I am now wondering if it is to do with the rgb values?

If I am targeting an OCS/ECS Amiga then the each colour component is in teh range 0-15 but if I am using an AGA Amiga then the ranges is 0-255. I think I am setting the paletter under AGA in PPaint rather than OCS/ECS? Does this make sense?

Or am I confusing myself?

If I do:

PalRGB 0,8,30,103,204 (set palette 0, colour 8, red,green,blue) I get an RGB out of range error.
Havie is offline  
Old 27 January 2021, 00:36   #57
Havie
Registered User
Havie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,044
Just tried using DPaint instead of PPaint and guess what - colours now display correctly? Have no idea what is going on...
Havie is offline  
Old 27 January 2021, 01:05   #58
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,529
Hmmm, I have many iterations of this on my computer...

So you want it a little darker then?

I'll quickly save at 8 colours and as an .IFF file; then upload to The Zone!

Edit: ok, "Invaders_Backgrounds.zip" now in The Zone! that contains both these 8 colour .IFFs:
As mentioned though, tell me if you want any adjustments

Last edited by DamienD; 27 January 2021 at 01:10.
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 January 2021, 01:16   #59
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
Now I remember why I fiddled with the 8 colour version - I wasn't keen on the blue craters on the moon.
Ah, gotcha.

The craters were black but when reducing to 8 colours in "XNView NP" it changes them to blue for some reason

Let me see if I can work around this
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 January 2021, 01:33   #60
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,529
Hmmm, not sure why... but when I cut out a perfectly black moon:
Then paste onto any of the above images, it then gets slightly degraded
Too tired now, will do more investigation after work tomorrow evening...
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Space Invaders Code Toki Coders. Blitz Basic 51 24 December 2020 22:54
A500 Space Invaders MB revision rossb support.Hardware 20 22 October 2019 21:45
SPACE INVADERS samples? volvo_0ne request.Modules 5 28 February 2018 23:16
[Found: Mr Wobbly Leg Versus The Invaders From Space] Space-Invaders game? Dindel Looking for a game name ? 5 06 March 2008 11:05
Super Space Invaders (WHDLOAD) Retro1234 request.Old Rare Games 3 30 October 2006 21:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09162 seconds with 14 queries