English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2020, 15:48   #41
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Purely for technical purposes, does anyone have a working download link for Flink for the CD32.

I want to check what screen mode / fetch mode the game is running in and what it does with the sprites.

Alternatively, if someone know a good webpage with the information I would be most grateful.

Geezer
G, it's in my collection that you have
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 15:50   #42
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
G, it's in my collection that you have
First place i looked and its not there for some bizarre reason.

I’ll have another look when i get home.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 15:52   #43
skan
Dream Merchant

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utinum
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Or to give another example, I understand why there are only three dual playfield levels in Lionheart.

Off course those levels look amazing when you first see them, but if every level had only those shades of brown and grey in the foreground it would start to look boring after a few levels.
Plus, on Agony where they do this, you could barely make out the enemies in front of the same coloured background.
...But those are OCS games.
skan is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 15:54   #44
aros-sg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Flink for the CD32.

I was curious too some time ago and in first level at least it seems normal 64 color screen and hw sprites for parallax layer. And only 25 FPS.


64 color because Genesis/Mega Drive has 4x16 color palettes so with normal dual playfield speed may have been better (50 FPS) but not enough colors to match nice gfx of game on Sega's hardware.
aros-sg is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 15:56   #45
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by aros-sg View Post
I was curious too some time ago and in first level at least it seems normal 64 color screen and hw sprites for parallax layer. And only 25 FPS.


64 color because Genesis/Mega Drive has 4x16 color palettes so with normal dual playfield speed may have been better (50 FPS) but not enough colors to match nice gfx of game on Sega's hardware.
Can u remember how wide the playfield is?
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 16:40   #46
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
First place i looked and its not there for some bizarre reason.

I’ll have another look when i get home.
It was included ages ago, in Update Pack #23
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 17:18   #47
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 50
Posts: 3,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Can u remember how wide the playfield is?
px=288, py=176

FMODE = x2 bitplanes, x4 sprites, DDFSTRT = $30, 6 BPLs
11 DMA fetches for BPLs = 352 - (2x32) for x-scroll, DIWx = $91 to $1b1, DIWy = $38 to $E8

no SSCAN2 trick for sprites, 'normal' x copper multiplex
ross is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 18:47   #48
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
It was included ages ago, in Update Pack #23
Spot on, will take a look shortly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
px=288, py=176

FMODE = x2 bitplanes, x4 sprites, DDFSTRT = $30, 6 BPLs
11 DMA fetches for BPLs = 352 - (2x32) for x-scroll, DIWx = $91 to $1b1, DIWy = $38 to $E8

no SSCAN2 trick for sprites, 'normal' x copper multiplex
I’ll have to take another look, the sprites must be only 4 colours then for background.

Edit- they actually look like 2x16 colour sprites, 128px wide repeated - risky woods style.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 18:54   #49
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 50
Posts: 3,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
I’ll have to take another look, the sprites must be only 4 colours then for background.
No, only 4 are used for the background at 64x2x16colours.

With a 3x multiplexing you can cover 128*3=384 that is more than enough for a full scrolling 288 px screen.



EDIT: missed your edit
ross is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 18:59   #50
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
No, only 4 are used for the background at 64x2x16colours.

With a 3x multiplexing you can cover 128*3=384 that is more than enough for a full scrolling 288 px screen.

Thanks Ross.

Off topic and i might start another thread, also not at a kryboard.

I’m thinking of the best screen mode for a game like impossible mission, but possibly hi-res with x-axis scrolling. My thoughts are around somehow using the sprites to expand the size of the dual playfield so that the 32 pixels either side are not lost on scrolling.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 19:33   #51
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 50
Posts: 3,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
I’m thinking of the best screen mode for a game like impossible mission, but possibly hi-res with x-axis scrolling. My thoughts are around somehow using the sprites to expand the size of the dual playfield so that the 32 pixels either side are not lost on scrolling.
[OFFTOPIC, but not much]
No need for it in hi-res: if you go for FMODE=BPLs x2 and use DDFSTRT=$30 then the shifter draw the first pixel at $71 and if you scroll you can use $81 as DIWx start value (old DIW registers are in low-res pixel metric so a gap of 16 is 32 hi-res pixels).
Problem here is that for a dual playfield 4+4bpls in hi-res you fill in DMA fetches..
[/OFFTOPIC]
ross is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 19:44   #52
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
[OFFTOPIC, but not much]
No need for it in hi-res: if you go for FMODE=BPLs x2 and use DDFSTRT=$30 then the shifter draw the first pixel at $71 and if you scroll you can use $81 as DIWx start value (old DIW registers are in low-res pixel metric so a gap of 16 is 32 hi-res pixels).
Problem here is that for a dual playfield 4+4bpls in hi-res you fill in DMA fetches..
[/OFFTOPIC]
I think i’ll do some experimentation with this.
I was recently reading some of the overscan techniques used on the Atari ST and so i’m going to see if i can get full overscan in hi-res with dual playfield.(or 32x8 split). The hardware sprites are expendable.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 21:01   #53
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
...But those are OCS games.
I know, but I was answering to this statement of yours...
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
Is there such thing as a "generic engine" on Amiga really...or need of one?!?
Steril707 is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 21:19   #54
skan
Dream Merchant

skan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utinum
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
I know, but I was answering to this statement of yours...
Ok.
skan is offline  
Old 27 December 2020, 21:44   #55
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
I'd love to see a 64 color game, for instance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by skan View Post
Completely agree on the 64 color game!
Just for reference, both Aladdin and The Lion King run in 64 colour mode and seem to use the Blitter to create the background layer.
roondar is online now  
Old 27 December 2020, 23:01   #56
Gilbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Flink starts with a NTSC screenmode:
You press the Green button to switch to PAL:

I didn't know that - that's a lot better but it's still bordered on the width, which is a shame. If you comapre to the Mega CD I think the Mega CD has a bigger view window (can't remember exactly now) but I'm sure the Amiga could have done this too
Gilbert is offline  
Old 28 December 2020, 10:05   #57
aros-sg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by aros-sg View Post
And only 25 FPS.

Btw, I think there may be a chance to hack games like this to run in 50 FPS for emulators (where blitter has no speed limit) because I find it unlikely that the game logic was modified to run on 25 FPS. Instead it likely is just called twice per 25 Hz or even same as on Sega HW = 1 per 50 Hz and it's just the display that is split over two frames.
aros-sg is offline  
Old 28 December 2020, 10:39   #58
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilbert View Post
I didn't know that - that's a lot better but it's still bordered on the width, which is a shame. If you comapre to the Mega CD I think the Mega CD has a bigger view window (can't remember exactly now) but I'm sure the Amiga could have done this too
Going overscan takes away some other stuff as far as I know.
Steril707 is offline  
Old 28 December 2020, 12:03   #59
kremiso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
...I’m thinking of the best screen mode for a game like impossible mission...
oh man, i would like to see a new approach also for that one
...at least to reach to remove that bad '2025' echoes sound in my ears
kremiso is offline  
Old 28 December 2020, 13:28   #60
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by aros-sg View Post
Btw, I think there may be a chance to hack games like this to run in 50 FPS for emulators (where blitter has no speed limit) because I find it unlikely that the game logic was modified to run on 25 FPS. Instead it likely is just called twice per 25 Hz or even same as on Sega HW = 1 per 50 Hz and it's just the display that is split over two frames.
The point of emulation is that it emulates the real hardware, so bending the rules as you suggest means that such a "hacked" game would not run on a real A500 or whatever. If we start heading in this direction we may as well separate WinUAE from a real Amiga and call it its own incompatible thing.
Foebane is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bordersprites restrictions (AGA chipset) dissident Coders. Asm / Hardware 22 02 February 2019 00:37
Money Matters 4 (AGA chipset issue) Zarnal support.WinUAE 2 31 May 2018 20:10
How to detect AGA chipset installed from C? earok Coders. C/C++ 3 04 June 2016 03:31
Best way of detecting the AGA chipset? Steve Coders. Asm / Hardware 13 25 January 2014 23:08
EHB sprites with AGA chipset ? FrenchShark Coders. General 4 17 September 2009 07:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.25477 seconds with 14 queries