English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2008, 16:12   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,921
WinUAE 1.6.0 beta series (was 1.5.4)

(could be 1.6 or something but that will be decided much later..)

REALLY READ THIS BEFORE POSTING!: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=26715

Beta 1:

- DXSDK updated, D3D filters again require updated DX runtime
- some CD32 pad reading routines returned phantom buttons in JIT modes if pad was not "connected"
- another partial sprite rendering update, fixes sprite size problems in screen modes that have multiple resolutions in single horizontal line (for example Innovation Part 2 by Axis is 100% correct now)
- also fixes wrong sized sprites in some lores resolution modes
- superhires in lores mode supported (show only every 4th pixel)
- superhires in filtered lores supported (visible pixel is average color of 4 internal shres pixels. This may be slow..)
- ECS SHRES in lores supported (both non-filtered and filtered)
- 10 sectors per track PC floppy images (800k) supported

This is sprite/display partial rewrite emulation test beta only. Complain if something broke (which is 100% guaranteed) or became slow

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 17 February 2009 at 19:58.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 November 2008, 19:11   #2
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
Great to see a new beta already.

I noticed a slowdown with the demo coppermaster. The 1 pixel plasma effect makes the sound stuttering and the dislay slowdow.
Was working fine with WinUAE 1.5.3

I have a macbook pro dual core 2.33 GHz running XP sp3 with an ATI Radeon X1600 with updated display drivers and DirectX nov 08.
I use direct 3D filter bilinear 16bit and display in fullwindow.


Hope it helps
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 16 November 2008, 20:05   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Landais View Post
Great to see a new beta already.

I noticed a slowdown with the demo coppermaster. The 1 pixel plasma effect makes the sound stuttering and the dislay slowdow.
Was working fine with WinUAE 1.5.3

I have a macbook pro dual core 2.33 GHz running XP sp3 with an ATI Radeon X1600 with updated display drivers and DirectX nov 08.
I use direct 3D filter bilinear 16bit and display in fullwindow.
Too many variables. Better run without any filters in windowed mode and check CPU% difference between 1.5.3 and beta.

EDIT: confirmed. new sprite drawing mode needs optimizing (left and right borders are sprites which forces new sprite-mode for whole scanline)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 16 November 2008 at 20:21.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 November 2008, 20:35   #4
a4k-oerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: EU
Posts: 111
Smile Solved: Strange effect in Resolution: Lores, Line-Mode: Normal

This thread appears to be solved with 154b1.
Strange effect in Resolution: Lores, Line-Mode: Normal
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=40587
a4k-oerx is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 19:53   #5
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
I am having a problem with Lionheart this time.
Same configuration as before with and without Direct3D.
Was working fine on 1.5.3.
This time the whole screen goes up during the game.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lionheart (1993)(Thalion)(Disk 1 of 4)[h Ministry]_001.png
Views:	743
Size:	16.5 KB
ID:	18867  
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 20:03   #6
a4k-oerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: EU
Posts: 111
Question Solved

Is vertical centering checked? I had a similar issue with pinball fantasies menu with first run of 1.5.4b1 but could not reproduce.

Edit: Solved with beta2

Last edited by a4k-oerx; 02 December 2008 at 20:07. Reason: Solved with beta2
a4k-oerx is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 20:06   #7
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
It s checked and the bug is happening each time.
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 22:13   #8
a4k-oerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: EU
Posts: 111
Solved

I unchecked it and bug went away.

Can you try that?

Edit: Solved with beta2

Last edited by a4k-oerx; 02 December 2008 at 20:08. Reason: Solved with beta2
a4k-oerx is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 22:34   #9
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
it works fine starting without vertical centering. you can put it back after the game started.
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 17 November 2008, 22:46   #10
a4k-oerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: EU
Posts: 111
Hooooo Solved

Can reproduce it now.

Used CD32 Quickstart settings, Log enabled, vertical centering checked, Start.

Edit: For a short moment the positon is correct but then jumps "up". Left image is a booting CD, right image without booting CD.

Can be "corrected" as written above with F12, vertical centering off, OK, F12 again, vertical centering on again, all fine.

Edit: Solved with beta2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	009.png
Views:	386
Size:	3.6 KB
ID:	18870   Click image for larger version

Name:	010.png
Views:	526
Size:	20.5 KB
ID:	18871  

Last edited by a4k-oerx; 02 December 2008 at 20:06. Reason: Solved with beta2
a4k-oerx is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 16:50   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,921
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1540b2.zip

Beta 2:

- fixed b1 slowdown when lots of sprites are visible
- CD32 mode CD32.TM detection added (log only)
- RTG vblank interrupt changes, use INTB_VERTB if RTG vblank is set to "Chipset". (very compatible, no extra interrups happening) Uses INTB_PORTS if different than Chipset. (Previously used INTB_EXTER but some games didn't like it, Ports seems to be more compatible) Added "Disabled" option which disables RTG vblank support.
- fixed possible crash when closing fullscreen mode
- uaeserial.device unit 10+ open failure fix
- hardfile os-specific and common stuff separated more logically, more portable (and easier to add new image types, see below)

- VHD (VirtualPC) fixed and dynamic harddrive images supported. Reading and writing supported, image creation supported. HDF->VHD conversion is not built-in but you can use for example VHDTool or any other tool that supports raw to vhd conversion (hdf is a basic raw harddrive image type) "Differencing" image type may be supported in future (differencing = all written data goes to another image, like adf "saveimages")

WARNING: vhd support may not be bug free yet. Remember backups!

Why YetAnotherImageFormat? Main point is dynamic images. New empty dynamic image is always very small (even if virtual size is multiple gigabytes) and image grows automatically when needed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 November 2008, 16:59   #12
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- VHD (VirtualPC) fixed and dynamic harddrive images supported. Reading and writing supported, image creation supported. HDF->VHD conversion is not built-in but you can use for example VHDTool or any other tool that supports raw to vhd conversion (hdf is a basic raw harddrive image type) "Differencing" image type may be supported in future (differencing = all written data goes to another image, like adf "saveimages")

WARNING: vhd support may not be bug free yet. Remember backups!

Why YetAnotherImageFormat? Main point is dynamic images. New empty dynamic image is always very small (even if virtual size is multiple gigabytes) and image grows automatically when needed.
Great feature Toni Thanks a lot for adding it
TCD is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 22:47   #13
Ed Cruse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Cruces, USA
Age: 65
Posts: 351
uaeserial.device Thank you.
Ed Cruse is offline  
Old 22 November 2008, 23:27   #14
a4k-oerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: EU
Posts: 111
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Beta 2:
..
- CD32 mode CD32.TM detection added (log only)
Toni: Is it necessary to enable that detection to log somehow?
a4k-oerx is offline  
Old 24 November 2008, 02:15   #15
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 636
1.5.4b fixes Simon the Sorcerer AGA

Since sprites seem to be the focus:
Set for quickstart unexpanded A1200, load this savestate, and see how the mouse cursor is now bereft of the vertical bars in 1.5.3 and prior. The mouse needs to be moved rapidly horizontally to demonstrate.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SS-A1200_2MB.zip (210.2 KB, 306 views)
clenched is offline  
Old 24 November 2008, 21:48   #16
Thom87
LameUser
Thom87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aylesbury/UK
Age: 43
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Beta 2:
- RTG vblank interrupt changes, use INTB_VERTB if RTG vblank is set to "Chipset". (very compatible, no extra interrups happening) Uses INTB_PORTS if different than Chipset. (Previously used INTB_EXTER but some games didn't like it, Ports seems to be more compatible) Added "Disabled" option which disables RTG vblank support.
Seems to be everything fine with whdload games so far. I've not much time for precise testing but short test gives good results. Thanks for Yours hard work Toni.
Thom87 is offline  
Old 29 November 2008, 19:03   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,921
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1540b3.zip

Beta 3:

- HAM errors if left border was not fully visible (it seems this bug has been there since the beginning of UAE, code that was supposed to handle this case has never worked correctly..)
- mid horizontal line HAM/EHB/DPF change fixed (Cover Girl Strip Poker) broke in 1.5.3
- added win32.guikey to configuration file, keycode that opens GUI (raw directinput keycode, for example F10 = 0x44) -1 = default.
- game & io-ports <none>-setting works properly
- vhd creator didn't create fully compatible images (larger images were incompatible with official vhd tools, did not cause data corruption)
- 1st Anniversary by Lazy Bones OCS/ECS "7-planes" trick emulated (missing black vertical lines)
- Disposable Hero title screen is now perfect. Take screenshots before it gets broken again
- added some more sanity tests to DirectDraw surface handling
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 29 November 2008, 20:12   #18
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 44
Posts: 3,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- Disposable Hero title screen is now perfect. Take screenshots before it gets broken again


Looking great.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 29 November 2008, 21:43   #19
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 42
Posts: 5,227
everything tested worked good (OS3.1, 3.9, normal gaming, whdload, full screen/windowed, filters and RTG)
Marcuz is offline  
Old 01 December 2008, 19:49   #20
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 791
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
WinUAE crashes on loading if I have my PICKIT 2 PIC programmer plugged in. Crash dump attached. Older versions also crashed but i've never reported it.
Attached Files
File Type: dmp winuae_1549030812_20081201_184832.dmp (30.5 KB, 292 views)
tonyyeb is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 10:22
WinUAE 2.3.3 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 124 17 September 2011 15:48
WinUAE 2.3.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 79 31 May 2011 19:39
WinUAE 2.3.0 beta series (was 2.2.1) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 229 22 September 2010 19:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10442 seconds with 14 queries