English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 April 2019, 17:10   #101
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
I'm surprised you don't have Bio Menace in your list.

[ Show youtube player ]
Bio Menace... so good and yet so ridiculously hard.

[ Show youtube player ]
gimbal is offline  
Old 09 April 2019, 19:51   #102
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 69
Posts: 170
Interesting video.
BullyDog is online now  
Old 09 April 2019, 21:57   #103
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
Bio Menace... so good and yet so ridiculously hard.

[ Show youtube player ]
Played it a bit year or so ago... I agree, very hard for casual gamer...
Anubis is offline  
Old 09 April 2019, 22:53   #104
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 338
Now get a MIDI device or two to get the correct sound out of the old DOS games.
I recently attempted to get a Roloand MT-32 for this purpose, but I did end up ordering (now waiting) on a Roland SC88 Pro. Gonna hook it up to my Amiga for it's games, and probably eventually use it with dosbox as well.
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 10 April 2019, 00:20   #105
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 69
Posts: 170
One thing I learned on Bio Menace is patience. You can't be headstrong in it because you'll die. I can't remember how far I got in it but It was a blast.
BullyDog is online now  
Old 10 April 2019, 13:59   #106
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
Now get a MIDI device or two to get the correct sound out of the old DOS games.
I recently attempted to get a Roloand MT-32 for this purpose, but I did end up ordering (now waiting) on a Roland SC88 Pro. Gonna hook it up to my Amiga for it's games, and probably eventually use it with dosbox as well.
Today you can emulate Roland MT-32 on some old computer without issue. Just check previous posts in this thread.
Anubis is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 19:38   #107
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Sorry I have been without internet for the past few weeks have just seen the Attention this Post has been getting
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 19:44   #108
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by davide78 View Post
Can't you use a modern ATX PSU? It's not clear to me what are the "old type auxhiliary" connectors you are missing: the 4-pin HD and floppy ?
A modern PSU should have all connectors you need, plus some extra (sata, cpu and gpu power) that you can left unused.

It's Standard 4 Pin and 20 Pin but also has a Funny Type Auxiliary Lead that I don't know the name of so have Added Pictures

Can't Find a Newer Supply with that Specific Lead on it

Last edited by nathanm1991; 04 December 2019 at 17:00.
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 20:06   #109
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,092
Maybe get something like this to make the connectors you need from your psu.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F192869821840
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 20:15   #110
davide78
Registered User

davide78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Padova / Italy
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanm1991 View Post
It's Standard 4 Pin and 20 Pin but also has a Funny Type Auxiliary Lead that I don't know the name of so have Added Pictures
I am seeing it for the first time . What is connected to it?
davide78 is offline  
Old 18 April 2019, 23:06   #111
DofD
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Victoria, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 134
The auxiliary connector there looks like an AT P8 power connector. They haven't really been around since the standard ATX 20 and 24 pin connectors became the standard. The wiring is nothing special on them to add to a new ATX PSU. I had to do something similar when I had to replace the PSU on my A3000 as my Mediator board uses a P9 connector.
DofD is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 00:14   #112
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by DofD View Post
The auxiliary connector there looks like an AT P8 power connector. They haven't really been around since the standard ATX 20 and 24 pin connectors became the standard. The wiring is nothing special on them to add to a new ATX PSU. I had to do something similar when I had to replace the PSU on my A3000 as my Mediator board uses a P9 connector.
Thank you for a Name to the Actual Connector :-) I found Bulging and Leaking Capacitors around the Socket of the Motherboard so jumped on eBay and Got a Replica Replacement ( Never Opened, Still Sealed in Box) Jetway P4XFA. I Also Tested the PSU with the Multimeter and all is well with the Supply so I will know by Saturday if a New Motherboard Stops the Crashing and Reboots I have been Getting. I also Found a Adapter for a New Psu so all is Well :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 00:15   #113
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by davide78 View Post
I am seeing it for the first time . What is connected to it?
I have just Been informed a P8 Connector. It Plugs in just above the AGP Slot next to the CPU Socket
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 00:16   #114
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Maybe get something like this to make the connectors you need from your psu.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F192869821840
Thank you Man I Ordered a Similar Adapter :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 00:18   #115
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Are Brand new IDE Hard Drives a Thing or is CF to IDE the way to go These Days?
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 00:29   #116
DofD
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Victoria, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanm1991 View Post
Are Brand new IDE Hard Drives a Thing or is CF to IDE the way to go These Days?
I'd go CF, but you can get IDE to SATA adapters and IDE drives are still available.

I went CF on my 1200 and am happy with it.
DofD is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 03:43   #117
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanm1991 View Post
Are Brand new IDE Hard Drives a Thing or is CF to IDE the way to go These Days?
For Amiga or PC?

On PC always go for IDE/ SATA. The amount of read/write needed on PC will quickly end the life cycle of a CF.

On Amiga you have option of any flash medium whether it is CF or SD.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 03:51   #118
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 569
its for the Pc so ide or ide to sata is the way to go thanks for that :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 03:52   #119
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathanm1991 View Post
Are Brand new IDE Hard Drives a Thing or is CF to IDE the way to go These Days?

As far as I know there aren't brand new IDE hard drives manufactured. The largest readily available IDE drives I've found are 250gb. Beyond that, I've used sata drives with the startech sata ide bridge and they work fine.
I believe it is not recommended to use cf or ssd with windows xp because it will shorten their lifespan with too many writes.
If you have a pentium 4 motherboard I would double check there's not a sata connector tucked away in there. My pentium 4 pc has one
rare_j is offline  
Old 19 April 2019, 03:55   #120
nathanm1991
Self Diagnosed Noob!

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Malvern, Worcestershire
Age: 28
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
As far as I know there aren't brand new IDE hard drives manufactured. The largest readily available IDE drives I've found are 250gb. Beyond that, I've used sata drives with the startech sata ide bridge and they work fine.
I believe it is not recommended to use cf or ssd with windows xp because it will shorten their lifespan with too many writes.
If you have a pentium 4 motherboard I would double check there's not a sata connector tucked away in there. My pentium 4 pc has one
The jetway I have only Supports IDE Natively :-) No Sata. Although in the Past I have had Socket 478 with Sata Ports so I knew it was a thing I just was Curious as to wether Cf Was a Viable Option :-)
nathanm1991 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x86 VS 64-bit? jb2815 support.WinUAE 1 11 July 2016 15:12
DO OR DIE,x86 or ARM? hydragon Amiga scene 19 21 March 2014 13:05
What could have happened if AmigaOS went x86? ancalimon Amiga scene 4 08 January 2010 22:47
The Amiga x86 lelezetec Amiga scene 5 27 September 2009 20:59
Amiga x86 Cerberus73 project.EAB 27 10 August 2009 21:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09630 seconds with 14 queries