English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 September 2016, 21:38   #1
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,437
Power supply giving electric shock

Hey.

I was organizing some of my console/computers.. my A600 is always connected, so I unplugged all of it , then when I went to plug all again, when I touched the metallic part of the power supply connector (the one that goes in the back of the A600) I got an electrical shock (and it wasn't a very light one) - and yeah, the other side was plugged at the wall socket.

I didn't connect it to the A600 and I am now leaving it off. Any suggestions of what I should do?
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 21:47   #2
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 713
Stop touching it!

;P
spiff is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 22:31   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
Hey.

I was organizing some of my console/computers.. my A600 is always connected, so I unplugged all of it , then when I went to plug all again, when I touched the metallic part of the power supply connector (the one that goes in the back of the A600) I got an electrical shock (and it wasn't a very light one) - and yeah, the other side was plugged at the wall socket.

I didn't connect it to the A600 and I am now leaving it off. Any suggestions of what I should do?
Completely normal, if your PSU was on at the time. I get this when I build up lots of static electricity while working around.
FOL is offline  
Old 09 September 2016, 22:41   #4
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,437
I never had a shock before handling an Amiga PSU .

Ok then thank you for the info guys
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 10 September 2016, 01:13   #5
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 561
Instant zzzap! or it zapped you until you let go?

If the latter -> the power supply should be checked out by someone competent with electronics.
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 10 September 2016, 06:18   #6
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 278
I would be careful because there could be a real danger. I kindly suggest checking the for correct wiring in all of your wall outlets. There could be a polarity and or ground problem in one or more of them. A simple inexpensive plug in device that will test outlets is available.
Magic is offline  
Old 10 September 2016, 06:23   #7
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowfire View Post
Instant zzzap! or it zapped you until you let go?

If the latter -> the power supply should be checked out by someone competent with electronics.

I don't know, I instatly dropped it with an "OUCH" and didn't touch it again

I just touched it now, no shock.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 10 September 2016, 09:31   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Shatterhand

If you touched the exposed metal (current carrying pins) then getting a shock, even shortly after being unplugged from the wall is normal. However if you are getting a shock through the plastic casing then you have a very serious (exceptionally so) leakage fault with the device!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 10 September 2016, 16:10   #9
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
Is your PSU plugged into an earthed mains outlet?
idrougge is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block Shock/Shock Wave - The Last Chance Retro-Nerd Games images which need to be WHDified 11 05 May 2012 00:31
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 16:10
A1200 Power tower case with Power supply Floppy drives and cables. paul773car MarketPlace 0 31 May 2009 16:55
can i use a 1200 power supply to power a 500? boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 16 August 2006 03:34
Power Supply? Mick_AKA support.Hardware 2 19 July 2003 20:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09601 seconds with 13 queries