English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2013, 15:40   #1
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 462
Trying to install JST games doesn't work

Hi there

I'm trying to install Chip's Challenge and Flood, both patches from http://www.kaervek.de/amiga/Patches/Kaervek/F/f.html

What I'm doing is using FS-UAE to insert the IPF of the games when prompted for the disk during the installation process. These installs use disk2file and similar tools wich I also have in the path.

Everything during the install process seems to go perfectly (reading track 0 to 159, etc, it says it's completed), but I always get an unusable image and running JST <slave name> results in errors and me back to AmigaDOS.
Errors are:

EXCEPTION: LINE-F EMULATION

I've tried every IPF for each game, with the same results. I also tried different CPUs and memory configurations on FS-UAE when installing and running the games, with the same results.
IPF files boot perfectly on the same FS-USE, of course, so it can read them it seems (yes, I have the IPF library installed in the Linux side).

I'm using the IPF images in the latest CAPSDI, too.

Any help is appreciated!
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 04 March 2013, 16:23   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,283
Most probably the patches are for a different version of the game and thus don't work with the IPF's.
StingRay is offline  
Old 04 March 2013, 20:07   #3
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,162
More likely the problem is with JST itself. The program was continually adjusted to make certain games work, but in the process, it ended up breaking a lot of other installs.

There will be specific versions of JST that will work flawlessly with the patches, but trying to match up the version will be a nightmare. The very old versions are the most stable.

Jeff got so fed up with it he eventually ditched it and started developing for WHDLoad instead.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 05 March 2013, 02:41   #4
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 462
I got to install Chip's Challenge!
However, I won't use this version as music seems to be slowed-down. I believe this patch is supposed to be compatible with NTSC version of the game, thus running on on PAL causes music to play slower.

I'll wait for Codetapper WHDLoad version with optional blitterwaits disabling

Thanks guys!
Gaula92 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
0-9 filter doesn't work well Another World HOL data problems 14 01 December 2008 16:48
Entity doesn't work Another World support.Games 10 14 May 2007 12:49
Mouse doesn't work MainVoid support.WinFellow 10 22 April 2005 20:26
My keyboard doesn't work!!!! Unregistered support.WinUAE 3 08 January 2005 11:07
A500 doesn't work Jan support.Hardware 6 07 May 2003 16:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06227 seconds with 13 queries