English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 July 2009, 09:07   #1
skforty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redmond, WA. USA
Age: 41
Posts: 26
Send a message via MSN to skforty
xetec CDFS doesnt work

So this program seems to know exactly whats going on and id like to use it, but the version i have (V2) says, "you are using an illegal copy of this disk" and then it fails to install. http://www.l8r.net/install/hard_drive_cont/Xeteccdx.dms

I've searched the forums and found a few posts where people say, http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=163936 "you click what it wants and it proceeds with the install"... but the only option i have after the message is, "OK" then the install closes.

Does anyone have a working image of this disk? Am i doing something wrong?

I also saw a post about installing 1.55 http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=42767

http://www.l8r.net/install/hard_driv.../xetec1.55.DMS

but it just seems to be the fasttrak controller disk.

Thanks!
skforty is offline  
Old 31 July 2009, 11:40   #2
Josh
Lord of Amiga-Manuals
Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kassel / Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by skforty View Post
Does anyone have a working image of this disk?
Yes, anyone does...

I will made an image of my original disk and put it in the zone.


Cheers Josh

EDIT: Done

Last edited by Josh; 31 July 2009 at 12:09.
Josh is offline  
Old 31 July 2009, 20:18   #3
skforty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redmond, WA. USA
Age: 41
Posts: 26
Send a message via MSN to skforty
Awesome, thanks josh! I just tried it - in winuae i get DF0:NDOS, and i get the same results when i make a real floppy out of it. Is there something special i am missing about this disk?

Thanks!
skforty is offline  
Old 31 July 2009, 21:36   #4
Josh
Lord of Amiga-Manuals
Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kassel / Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 552
Hmm... guess I have to check the disk. It's not a NDOS-disk.

EDIT: I am sorry, something goes wrong. I will made now a new and tested image again.

EDIT 2: I found out that dms don't make a correct image from this disk. So I made an image in adf-format. It's tested and working fine. I placed a scan of the floppy in the zone too. Maybe it's worthful for you too...

Last edited by Josh; 31 July 2009 at 22:22.
Josh is offline  
Old 01 August 2009, 02:00   #5
skforty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redmond, WA. USA
Age: 41
Posts: 26
Send a message via MSN to skforty
THANKS JOSH!!! It worked like a charm!! Nice scan of the disk too!! I really appreciate the help, I'm all set now!
skforty is offline  
Old 01 August 2009, 02:20   #6
Josh
Lord of Amiga-Manuals
Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kassel / Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 552
No problemo. Everytime again.


Cheers Josh
Josh is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 01:50   #7
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 61
Question

I can't find it in the "zone?", can you please upload a working ADF again ?
(I have an A2000/1.3 with a GVP 8+ with an external Apple CD300)

Thx!

Last edited by dr.zeissler; 25 August 2015 at 20:29.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 16:40   #8
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 61
Can't find a working disk of Xetec CDx Drivers.
All versions I got do not boot under OS 1.3 (not OFS Filesystem),
or thy can be read, but installing gives an error: not original disk.

Can it be bought till today, I can't find it.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 00:15   #9
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 61
As you mentioned, the DMS-Version produces an unsuable "Non-Dos-Disk"
the ADF Version is a copy and not an original and cannot be installed.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 01:27   #10
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
i'm not sure if you tested this version already, but i zoned: SCX-CDX.DMS
it is CDX 2.0 Install, disk/dms seems ok ( tested in winuae and adf-workshop).
emufan is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 08:01   #11
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 61
Thx, I will test this shortly. thx!!
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 18:49   #12
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 61
No, requires DMS greater 1.11, I only have DMS 1.11 and my machine is a 68K Standard Amiga Kick 1.3/WB 1.3
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 19:40   #13
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.zeissler View Post
No, requires DMS greater 1.11, I only have DMS 1.11 and my machine is a 68K Standard Amiga Kick 1.3/WB 1.3
If you have a Windows PC-I can give you a small utility named "xdms" and a bat file that allows you to unpack all the files DMS of any version with just one clic.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 19:53   #14
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 61
Thx, seems to be MSDOS kompatible, so I will use my bridgeboard...
http://aminet.net/package/util/arc/xDMS
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 20:03   #15
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,310
It is an MS-DOS command, but also works with XP and Win7, xdms.exe .dms and put all files in a folder, and creates a file .bat.The program also allows you to delete .dms file after conversion.

Unpacks.bat
attrib -r -s -h *.* /s
XDMS U *.DMS

UnpacksCancel DMS.bat
attrib -r -s -h *.* /s
XDMS U *.DMS
del *.dms
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 20:05   #16
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
i zoned: SCX-CDX-Xetec_2.0.Install.CD.Filesystem.zip
which now has the original dms and an adf made with ADF-Workshop.
i tested the installer and it does install the cdx filesystem.

thanks for help, AMIGASYSTEM

Last edited by emufan; 12 September 2016 at 20:13.
emufan is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 20:36   #17
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 61
No, both do NOT work because they are NOT for 1.3!!!
All they do is creating a NON-DOS-DISK

I unpacked the DMS Version that is not unpackable by DMS111 on my PC, my BB has only a 286 and cwsdmpi requires 386+.
The ADF created by this and transfered over the BB and written by TSGUI does create a unsable NON-Dos-Disk.
The ADF in the Archive is the same file, so it also produces a NON-Dos-Disk.

I only have Kick 1.3 so this does not work at all. Thx for your help.
dr.zeissler is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 20:45   #18
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
the SCX-CDX.adf / SCX-CDX dms uses the FastFileSystem - kickstart 1.3 does not know
about that - or somehow it can be added, dunno atm.
I will make a floppy with Old FileSystem and attach it here, just a sec.
i've zoned: SCX-CDX-OFS.KS1.3.zip which is the adf using OldFileSystem.
_but_ since the original is FFS, it may only work at all with a never Kickstart version, just try.

Last edited by emufan; 12 September 2016 at 20:51.
emufan is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 20:55   #19
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
btw. here is xdms 1.3.2 compiled under cygwin using ming64 gcc cross-compiler.
it should work without installing cygwin on the windows (msdos/win32) command line.
it does work here, but please someone test it.

#1) just in case someone ask how, or wnat to do on it's own:
you just have to replace within the Makefile the "CC = gcc" with "CC = i686-w64-mingw32-gcc.exe"
the ming64 thing is a crosscompiler, so you can compile stuff for win32 without dependencies to cygwin.
this is not so bad.

#2) re-download, if you did already, just "striped" the binary so it is even smaller and still works

#3) there is already a xdms 1.3.3 by poohbear
Attached Files
File Type: zip xdms-1.3.2-win32.zip (16.6 KB, 31 views)

Last edited by emufan; 12 September 2016 at 21:33.
emufan is offline  
Old 12 September 2016, 22:10   #20
dr.zeissler
Registered User

dr.zeissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Berlin / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
the SCX-CDX.adf / SCX-CDX dms uses the FastFileSystem - kickstart 1.3 does not know
about that - or somehow it can be added, dunno atm.
I will make a floppy with Old FileSystem and attach it here, just a sec.
i've zoned: SCX-CDX-OFS.KS1.3.zip which is the adf using OldFileSystem.
_but_ since the original is FFS, it may only work at all with a never Kickstart version, just try.
I think I need an older Version that really comes as OFS, but I will test the Version you created. Thx!
dr.zeissler is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commodore CDTV Keyboard doesnt work Help Billy Miles Amiga scene 8 14 April 2013 09:29
Populous 2 full screen doesnt work ferk support.Games 4 05 October 2007 14:03
Arctic Fox ADF doesnt work Calo Nord support.WinUAE 44 25 September 2007 10:30
Sent A500 to Denmark - it doesnt work now? chaoticjelly support.Hardware 4 09 August 2006 00:50
MagicCopper doesnt work SebastianG support.WinUAE 1 03 June 2002 19:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13574 seconds with 14 queries